Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

There isn't much I can say, that hasn't already been said before my post. I can say first hand all are true. The farm as I refer to it is my sanctuary as much as it is the horses. I tell everyone about it and wonder how I could have missed out on this before in my life. Truly wonderful place and people.

I found this place in April 2014. Being new to GA and alone(all my family and friends are out west) it has given me great new friends and a place that feels like home. I am as happy as I ever have been, from the first day I stepped on the property, I have felt peace. You have to drop your stress before you walk onto the property because the horses sense it. Nothing is more special than getting a shy horse to take a treat from you. I even got to to hold a horse during an eye procedure. She just laid her head on my chest and that was it for me. Felt like nothing I have ever experienced. This place heals 2- leg people and the ones with 4 legs. Come by and you will see what I mean.

October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 26, 2013

This is a wonderful organization with a strong dedicated volunteer base. I've volunteered here for several years and I only wish I had more time to devote. If you love horses, this is a great place ... more

October 28, 2014

This is one of the best organizations that I've ever worked with in over 20 years of animal rescue volunteering. Its very well run and all of the volunteers deeply care about the animals. Cheryl also does a great job of inspiring us and leading by example. I recommend Save the Horses to anyone that wants to get involved in helping horses and other farm animals.
September 26, 2013

This is a wonderful organization with a strong dedicated volunteer base. I've volunteered here for several years and I only wish I had more time to devote. If you love horses, this is a great place to spend time with them and work with other animal lovers. Cheryl and her volunteers really do make a difference in the lives of these animals that have so often been abused and discarded by their former owners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

As a volunteer and a recent adopter, this is the place to be. The rescue is a sincere rescue with the welfare of everyone and everything as the first priority. I thank Cheryl for letting us take the time to be certain our adoption was a good fit for us. For teaching all the value of each of these rescued animals are immense. As a volunteer you get to work and you get to play. It is the best combination and you know deep in yourself you have done good. You will see me in the bad weather and many of the holidays when it is more difficult for many to volunteer.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

If you need a purpose in your life and want to feel better about yourself, join the volunteer team at the rescue. It is an atmosphere like no other, and you will come away a better person for the experience.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Brooke and I have been volunteering at the rescue for approximately 7 years and we truly love coming here to help out and visit all of the animals. Brooke and I have sponsored two different horses over the past several years which really made us bond with them and the farm. I have helped with fundraising over the past several years and it is always great to see the turn out. I have talked about the rescue to friends and two of them started volunteering a couple of years ago. I have brought several Girl Scout troops here over the years and they have fallen in love with the farm too. A great place to visit and have fun!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I first went to the rescue the weekend of my birthday 9 years ago. I knew this was a place I wanted to volunteer at and become a part of. I have found a family of friends, and animals who have forever changed my life. My dream came true 3 years ago when I adopted my first horse who is the love of my life. To sit and talk with the other volunteers after the work is done is priceless. They are honest, hard working friends who all you have to do is ask and they are ready to help no matter what the time of day or weather. I Thank God for this place as I am sure so do the animals who are lucky to find their way home to the rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

This rescue has changed my daughter's life. I'd go into detail, but then my review would be too long. :) In short, she's been battling with mental and physical issues and STH has helped and blessed us SO MUCH. I can't even describe it. We've been volunteers for 3 years and have absolutely fallen in love with Save The Horses! Everyone there is so nice and Cheryl Flanagan just has the kindest heart.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

This is an incredible place to volunteer - I never regret any time I spend with both the horses and the people here. Everyone is so kind and helpful, and working with the horses and spending time with them really helps your state both mentally and physically.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I started volunteering here and am really impressed with the passion, dedication and work the volunteers put into this organization. Their commitment to abused, neglected and unwanted animals is unsurpassed. Although there are a lot of small animal rescue organizations and volunteers, there are very few for large animals and they need help just like the little ones and HRRR does a much needed job!
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

The staff I have worked with are very kind and friendly people who, like myself, have a soft spot for the animals; want the best for them, to be healthy and happy despite their handicap. To give them just as much hope and peace and a place to feel safe same as any human longs for in their day to day life. Working there brings a sense of peace to myself, knowing what I am doing (as well as the others) is going to make this world a better place. The immediate impact is in the direction of the animals, however, it benefits society because for those that volunteer, it has a positive impact, which then comes out in their interaction with other people. I love the fact there are others who are trying to fill this scary world with love and compassion.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers