Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Has always put the horses first, which is most important ... will bend over back wards to save a horse, donkey, pig. Oh shoot ...any animal in need. Great person to work with ..excellent Communication skills and loved by all. God bless them for what they do and how they do it !! Love them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give her more help to meet their needs

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Save the Horses is a utopia for animals and people alike. My daughter and I went to help the horses but found a purpose for helping all the animals that exist together at the farm with very few conflicts. They seem to know that by whatever means they ended up here, they were lucky to do so and are generally on their best behavior. They have the peace of knowing they are loved and safe.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

You quickly learn that there's nothing glamorous about volunteering at Save the Horses. Along with the care and rehabilitation of the horses, there are necessary mundane chores to be done daily, and everyone must be willing to pitch in where and however they are needed at the time.
There's no
hierarchy, and if you can't check your ego at the barn door, you're in the wrong place.
The volunteer who shovels manure and scrubs water buckets is every bit as necessary and as valued as the one who bandages wounds and administers medications.

The welfare of the horses is what it's all about.

Along with learning all that's involved with caring for horses you also learn of the horrors some of these animals suffer. You meet horses that have been starved, horses that have been physically abused, horses with terrible injuries that have gone untreated, and the horses who have simply grown old and were considered of no further value.

These are the horses that find their last best hope at Save the Horses.

Cheryl will tell you that all of her volunteers are unpaid, and it‘s true that there is no paycheck for these dedicated men and women. But working tirelessly to help bring a horse back from the brink of death and watching as your efforts slowly transform that horse into a magnificent healthy animal is a satisfaction that money just can’t buy. The volunteers heal the horses and the horses return the favor.

I no longer volunteer at Save the Horses because of Toka King, an injured OTTB I fell in love with there 6 years ago. In order to adopt Toka King and a beautiful one eyed quarter horse named Sunny, we put our home in a Cumming, Ga. subdivision up for sale and went looking for a suitable home for them. There were no properties in our area that we could afford, but we managed to find the perfect little spot for them here in Alabama.

I still miss volunteering at Save the Horses, but in exchange for that privilege I'm doing my part as an adoptive parent by providing a forever home and creating a spot at SavetheHorses for another needy horse.

I am indebted to Cheryl and Save the Horses for the opportunity to be a part of this wonderful organization and for the many ways this experience continues to enrich my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

We have been a part of Save The Horses for 2 years. We came to make a difference with animals in need, never knowing how much the rescue would do for us. Two of my children have greater needs than most. One was adopted from a Siberian orphanage and struggles with the effects of neglect as a baby. Another one of my children was born with Neurofibromatosis, a random genetic disorder that causes tumors to grow on his nerve endings. Both of them have been positively effected by the horses and the people of Save the Horses. The horses create a calm environment full of tremendous love and peace which has blessed us all. I am grateful for the opportunity to weekly serve this nonprofit!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more land so that more horses could be rescued from the terrors of slaughter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I have only volunteered sporadically the past few years, but I am always amazed at the level of caring and generosity throughout this organization. The director's, Cheryl, compassion and empathy are immeasurable. It seems, through the email updates and newsletters, that if there is no way they can take an animal a very aggressive campaign is started to find a place or funds for injured, sick or discarded animals. Having worked as a victim advocate for over 17 years, I can attest to nature's healing powers and the volunteers are being helped emotionally as well as saving the animals! I have recommended this group to many people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More volunteers and donations!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

This is a wonderful organization with a strong dedicated volunteer base. I've volunteered here for several years and I only wish I had more time to devote. If you love horses, this is a great place to spend time with them and work with other animal lovers. Cheryl and her volunteers really do make a difference in the lives of these animals that have so often been abused and discarded by their former owners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I came to Save The Horses in January of 2012. I was retired and helping as a volunteer for Save The Horses allowed me to work with horses (animals for which I always had a deep affection and respect). Volunteering at Save The Horses is not always easy. You must be willing to be there 100+ temperatures as well as below freezing. The horses need to be cared for in rain and shine and hot or cold. Cheryl Flanagan began Save The Horses in 1998. I cannot say enough about the good heart she possesses and how she strives to care for abused animals, the old and the blind, race horses who can no longer run or have never run. We have animals who will never be adopted but they have a forever home with Save The Horses. I treasure the 21 months I have volunteered at Save The Horse. I have learned so much from both the humans and from the horses. We rescue these animals but they give the volunteers so much back that it is hard to tell who has rescued whom.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish I could give the rescue a million dollars. There are so many things they need - a new roof on the barn and the feed room, an infirmary, lots of fencing, etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

I began volunteering at Save the Horses in March 2013, I had just lost my job and wanted to spend my time off doing something positive. I had no idea what an impact it would have on me and I can't thank Cheryl enough for giving us all a chance to make a difference in these animals lives. Save the Horses is an environment for types of animal lovers, if you're not ready for large animals, we have lots of small ones and feathered friends that all need our love and care. It's a great place for kids to learn about the responsibility of caring for animals, we see a lot of parents and kids spending fun quality time together. I encourage you to come out and experience the sights and sounds that make Save the Horses so much fun for all of us, I guarantee it will change your life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage more donations and volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My kids and I have been volunteering at Save the Horses for just over a year now. Our work with these precious animals has been amazing! Every weekend, we look forward to our time at "The Barn". It has been so therapeutic to help innocent creatures as we work through our own difficulties in life. Not only does this facility strive to save horses - it also helps to save people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 8, 2011

What a wonderful group of people running this compassionate rescue! Cheryl and her great volunteers work tirelessly to assist horses who arrive at their shelter. Some of these horses have serious iss... more

September 20, 2013

I've worked with Save the Horses since 2008 and I love it! This organization has an amazing group of volunteers who are extremely dedicated to caring for the horses and animals at the rescue. Cheryl Flanagan is a wonderful woman who has spent her life helping injured, unwanted, neglected, and abused animals. I am proud to work with her to save more lives. I look forward to my Saturday morning volunteer work. It's sometimes hard and heavy work, but it is one of the most rewarding jobs I've ever done. The people who volunteer at Save the Horses are full of positive energy and joy while helping the horses. It's beautiful to watch so many kind and generous people giving of their time to work with an injured horse or to provide a gentle hand to a scared or abused horse. I have the greatest respect for Cheryl and her willingness to work with any horse, no matter how problematic. I have seen horses arrive with terrible issues from abuse and neglect, but with Cheryl's guidance and the kindness of our volunteers, even the most emotionally affected horses eventually turn around. Save the Horses is a fabulous place to volunteer, both physically and emotionally satisfying!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like many non-profits, we suffer from too much need and too little money and volunteers. I don't know how to change that, but more volunteers and donations are always welcome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful group of people running this compassionate rescue! Cheryl and her great volunteers work tirelessly to assist horses who arrive at their shelter. Some of these horses have serious issues with their health or have been abused or neglected. Some of them were destined for slaughter. All of them find a place of love and kindness. All of the many volunteers take pride and pleasure in catering to these horses' needs, some of them spending many hours grooming, cleaning, feeding, and just handling the horses, encouraging a horse's trust that may have been lost in the past. I love them all for their generosity of time, money, and spirit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen horses, like Muffin Man, a young Mustang, start learning to trust humankind. Where their eyes were large and frightened upon arrival, they become soft and curious as they begin to feel safe and secure. I love seeing older horses like Sweetie and Roy who roam freely through the rescue. We've had several births at the rescue as well and some of our volunteers spent night and day tending to the moms during the births. Our volunteers are truly amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a better handle on our mailing lists

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Not much. My experience has been wonderful, but each person must take responsibility for making their experience work for him or her. I love volunteering with this group.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I'm definitely learning new skills and I've met many wonderful people. I expect that some of them will remain friends for the rest of my life.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It makes me feel that the world is a better place. My own compassion and empathy have been restored in a world that sometimes seems rather apathetic and angry.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers