Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

The staff I have worked with are very kind and friendly people who, like myself, have a soft spot for the animals; want the best for them, to be healthy and happy despite their handicap. To give them just as much hope and peace and a place to feel safe same as any human longs for in their day to day life. Working there brings a sense of peace to myself, knowing what I am doing (as well as the others) is going to make this world a better place. The immediate impact is in the direction of the animals, however, it benefits society because for those that volunteer, it has a positive impact, which then comes out in their interaction with other people. I love the fact there are others who are trying to fill this scary world with love and compassion.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Horses soothe the soul, makes me feel like I'm flying in the sky to be around them. I knew that Save The Horses was the place for me when I found that they rescue horses from bad situations! As soon as I step foot onto the property everyone is always very helpful, super friendly and so genuine. Each person I speak to always makes me feel at home and so welcomed. Not to mention the horses are friendly, diverse and gorgeous! Every time I get to groom or lead a horse (or donkey!) my heart pumps happier! It truly is life changing and really does heal your heart to be a part of it.

Cheryl told me a beautiful thing today. She said that those who have one brown eye and one blue eye can see Heaven and Earth at the same time. I was grooming Jackson whom has one blue eye. Everyone here is in it for the LOVE! I am so greatful for Cheryl and this organization.

I haven't been volunteering long, but now they've got me forever!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Thus rescue puts the equine first. It takes on hard cases, the ones people are ready to give up on. Cheryl Flanagan doesn't hesitate to do what is right for the horse. The rescue has all types of equines from dwarves to off the track thoroughbreds saved from slaughter.
There are programs for
foster children plus many opportunities for people to help heal horses who help heal people.
Everyone does a wonderful job.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I started volunteering at Save the Horses a few months ago and each time I go am overwhelmed by the goodness and joy at this wonderful farm. No horse's need is too big or too small; no cause is too lost. the dedication and commitment is unfathomable and the horses are just wonderful. The farm is, of course, lifesaving for the horses -- but it is good for the soul.
October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Save the Horses has been a regular part of my life since August, 2011. I drive 80 miles, one way, usually once a week, to escape from the day to day worries that plague most of us. I'm continually amazed at how many hours will pass before I even wonder how much time I've spent at the rescue. Like many of the volunteers, I've adopted one of the horses and am thrilled to say that Esther is my light! Working with her and seeing her open to human companionship is supremely satisfying. All of the animals at the rescue have a story, some are horrific and others just happily ended up in a good situation without suffering abuse or neglect. The work done here to restore and rehabilitate these animals is wonderful. Many, many lives are positively impacted by the partnerships that are formed. The end results are not just about the animals, but about the people who come to help and end up getting the help they may not have even known they needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have 3 rescue horses from Horse Rescue and Relief. These people do the most wonderful job with all of the horses. They don't turn away the tough cases and pour their hearts into every horse. As far as I am concerned these are the most dedicted rescue people I know. I wish I could win the lottery and give it to them !!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a million dollars and let them keep doing exactly what they are doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

My granddaughter, who is 9, and I have been volunteering once a week for about 6 months. She had no experience with horses before that but jumped in right away to help. Now she is very confident around them and takes on the "dirty" jobs as readily as everyone else. The horses are all so good with the kids that volunteer that it makes you wonder if they know they are lucky to have been rescued. During our 6 months, we have seen some horses that have been terribly abused, both physically and mentally, but with the help of Save the Horses, they have blossomed and returned to their former glory. I can't say enough about the organization and how hard they work to save every horse, or donkey, or goat, pig or e even cow that comes to them. Of course, not every animal can be saved but it is a true lesson in compassion to witness the decisions that have to be made for the sake of the animal. On a more personal side, it has also given my granddaughter and I a bond that can never be broken and I am so thankful to Save the Horses for that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I started regularly volunteering at STH after I was released from the hospital - I viewed it as my therapy. This place is listed as a sanctuary for animals, but it works that way for people to. You visit, you help, you heal with the animals. Cheryl is a wonderful human being and willing to do whatever it takes to help all animals. She has a heart of gold! We have a great group of volunteers, but can always use more and would love to see more happy faces coming to help and be helped!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More land, money, and a larger barn would allow us to reach even more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Cheryl and the volunteers of Save the Horses have built a place of incredible compassion. The lucky animals that find their way here receive such love and care. Sometimes the rescue is a place to rehabilitate or learn before finding a new home. Sometimes it's a happy and social forever home. Other times, it is a safe and peaceful place to end their days, comfortable and loved.

Every resource is put to good use, and the work and dedication are tremendous. A more deserving organization would be hard to find.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

This organization is one that truly works from the heart and soul of like minded people that are led by Cheryl Flanagan. Cheryl is one of the most amazing and giving people I have ever met. She is totally committed to helping the animals and people in need and works endless hours making sure that happens. I have worked firsthand with some of the volunteers and they are quick to respond to help animals in need. They are frugal with their money and any donations are used very wisely by this group. When my older horse became sick and frail they came and helped me with him the minute I called. Cheryl knew it was time for him to go to greener pastures, and I had selfishly kept him alive longer than I should have. It was so hard for me to put him down but it was time. He was 28 and had been my wonderful companion for years. It was a tremendous loss. Cheryl's kindness and understanding helped me through one of the most difficult times of my life.
Belinda Groner

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work harder to help them provide a better education for the overall care and natural training of all horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers