Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Save the Horses has been a regular part of my life since August, 2011. I drive 80 miles, one way, usually once a week, to escape from the day to day worries that plague most of us. I'm continually amazed at how many hours will pass before I even wonder how much time I've spent at the rescue. Like many of the volunteers, I've adopted one of the horses and am thrilled to say that Esther is my light! Working with her and seeing her open to human companionship is supremely satisfying. All of the animals at the rescue have a story, some are horrific and others just happily ended up in a good situation without suffering abuse or neglect. The work done here to restore and rehabilitate these animals is wonderful. Many, many lives are positively impacted by the partnerships that are formed. The end results are not just about the animals, but about the people who come to help and end up getting the help they may not have even known they needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have 3 rescue horses from Horse Rescue and Relief. These people do the most wonderful job with all of the horses. They don't turn away the tough cases and pour their hearts into every horse. As far as I am concerned these are the most dedicted rescue people I know. I wish I could win the lottery and give it to them !!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a million dollars and let them keep doing exactly what they are doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

My granddaughter, who is 9, and I have been volunteering once a week for about 6 months. She had no experience with horses before that but jumped in right away to help. Now she is very confident around them and takes on the "dirty" jobs as readily as everyone else. The horses are all so good with the kids that volunteer that it makes you wonder if they know they are lucky to have been rescued. During our 6 months, we have seen some horses that have been terribly abused, both physically and mentally, but with the help of Save the Horses, they have blossomed and returned to their former glory. I can't say enough about the organization and how hard they work to save every horse, or donkey, or goat, pig or e even cow that comes to them. Of course, not every animal can be saved but it is a true lesson in compassion to witness the decisions that have to be made for the sake of the animal. On a more personal side, it has also given my granddaughter and I a bond that can never be broken and I am so thankful to Save the Horses for that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I started regularly volunteering at STH after I was released from the hospital - I viewed it as my therapy. This place is listed as a sanctuary for animals, but it works that way for people to. You visit, you help, you heal with the animals. Cheryl is a wonderful human being and willing to do whatever it takes to help all animals. She has a heart of gold! We have a great group of volunteers, but can always use more and would love to see more happy faces coming to help and be helped!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More land, money, and a larger barn would allow us to reach even more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Cheryl and the volunteers of Save the Horses have built a place of incredible compassion. The lucky animals that find their way here receive such love and care. Sometimes the rescue is a place to rehabilitate or learn before finding a new home. Sometimes it's a happy and social forever home. Other times, it is a safe and peaceful place to end their days, comfortable and loved.

Every resource is put to good use, and the work and dedication are tremendous. A more deserving organization would be hard to find.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

This organization is one that truly works from the heart and soul of like minded people that are led by Cheryl Flanagan. Cheryl is one of the most amazing and giving people I have ever met. She is totally committed to helping the animals and people in need and works endless hours making sure that happens. I have worked firsthand with some of the volunteers and they are quick to respond to help animals in need. They are frugal with their money and any donations are used very wisely by this group. When my older horse became sick and frail they came and helped me with him the minute I called. Cheryl knew it was time for him to go to greener pastures, and I had selfishly kept him alive longer than I should have. It was so hard for me to put him down but it was time. He was 28 and had been my wonderful companion for years. It was a tremendous loss. Cheryl's kindness and understanding helped me through one of the most difficult times of my life.
Belinda Groner

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work harder to help them provide a better education for the overall care and natural training of all horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Has always put the horses first, which is most important ... will bend over back wards to save a horse, donkey, pig. Oh shoot ...any animal in need. Great person to work with ..excellent Communication skills and loved by all. God bless them for what they do and how they do it !! Love them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give her more help to meet their needs

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Save the Horses is a utopia for animals and people alike. My daughter and I went to help the horses but found a purpose for helping all the animals that exist together at the farm with very few conflicts. They seem to know that by whatever means they ended up here, they were lucky to do so and are generally on their best behavior. They have the peace of knowing they are loved and safe.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

You quickly learn that there's nothing glamorous about volunteering at Save the Horses. Along with the care and rehabilitation of the horses, there are necessary mundane chores to be done daily, and everyone must be willing to pitch in where and however they are needed at the time.
There's no
hierarchy, and if you can't check your ego at the barn door, you're in the wrong place.
The volunteer who shovels manure and scrubs water buckets is every bit as necessary and as valued as the one who bandages wounds and administers medications.

The welfare of the horses is what it's all about.

Along with learning all that's involved with caring for horses you also learn of the horrors some of these animals suffer. You meet horses that have been starved, horses that have been physically abused, horses with terrible injuries that have gone untreated, and the horses who have simply grown old and were considered of no further value.

These are the horses that find their last best hope at Save the Horses.

Cheryl will tell you that all of her volunteers are unpaid, and it‘s true that there is no paycheck for these dedicated men and women. But working tirelessly to help bring a horse back from the brink of death and watching as your efforts slowly transform that horse into a magnificent healthy animal is a satisfaction that money just can’t buy. The volunteers heal the horses and the horses return the favor.

I no longer volunteer at Save the Horses because of Toka King, an injured OTTB I fell in love with there 6 years ago. In order to adopt Toka King and a beautiful one eyed quarter horse named Sunny, we put our home in a Cumming, Ga. subdivision up for sale and went looking for a suitable home for them. There were no properties in our area that we could afford, but we managed to find the perfect little spot for them here in Alabama.

I still miss volunteering at Save the Horses, but in exchange for that privilege I'm doing my part as an adoptive parent by providing a forever home and creating a spot at SavetheHorses for another needy horse.

I am indebted to Cheryl and Save the Horses for the opportunity to be a part of this wonderful organization and for the many ways this experience continues to enrich my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

We have been a part of Save The Horses for 2 years. We came to make a difference with animals in need, never knowing how much the rescue would do for us. Two of my children have greater needs than most. One was adopted from a Siberian orphanage and struggles with the effects of neglect as a baby. Another one of my children was born with Neurofibromatosis, a random genetic disorder that causes tumors to grow on his nerve endings. Both of them have been positively effected by the horses and the people of Save the Horses. The horses create a calm environment full of tremendous love and peace which has blessed us all. I am grateful for the opportunity to weekly serve this nonprofit!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more land so that more horses could be rescued from the terrors of slaughter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers