Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.882355
Write A Review
October 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I saw a newspaper article about HPS. Having previously owned a horse, I attended a fund raiser at HPS in October, 2010. I have been a member of HPS since that visit. I usually visit the sanctuary once a week to help wherever I can. Having witnessed the arrival of some of the rescued horses and the horrible condition they were in and see the results of excellent care, meds, proper nutrition, and loving concern some 8-12 months later is nothing short of remarkable. Each horse is fed in their stall, then checked out and given any medical attention necessary and then turned out to freely roam the sanctuary. There is more to owning a horse than putting on a saddle and riding. If you want to really learn about horses from the hoof up, visit HPS, become a volunteer and help these magnificent animals. They will love you!
October 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The people and volunteers that are at the HPS work hard and love what they do. Several years ago I was unable to keep my best friend for the last 15 years due to my divorce. I called and talked to Joanie and explained my situation. They took Warrior in and cared for him until he crossed the Rainbow bridge. I have supported this organization for the last ten years. I plan to continue to do so. Wonderful job they do!
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Have ridden since 4 years old. HPS is top notch. Visited without calling first on purpose. Everything calm, and in order. Volunteers are well trained, and horses are well cared for without a doubt. Thank God for HPS NC.
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is such an extraordinary organization! To see these rescue horses makes me grateful there are people out there to take on such a huge commitment...and be successful.
September 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been supporting Horse Protection Society of NC for early 2 years. I wanted to help an organization that rescues horses - and I was initially drawn to HPS by their website: it had a lot of information about themselves (both who they were and what they did and how things worked at their Sanctuary) - a lot of information about the horses they had in their care - and the fact that the website was up-to-date and that they had monthly newsletters. That told me that not only do they do wonderful work for the horses, but they know what they are doing and that the organization had great management and structure. It was clear they communicated well and often to their Board, their donors, volunteers and visitors. Every visit to their website is informative; their newsletters are well put together -- I always learn something. I still visit their site often! I look forward to the next newsletter. They also have a great and active presence on Facebook.

When I went to visit them, I was struck by the positive, caring attitudes from everyone I met: the President, the Executive Director, Board members and volunteers. The real proof was with the horses. When one considers the suffering, abuse and neglect the horses endure before coming to HPS, it is such a blessing to see healthy, recovering and well-adjusted horses at the Sanctuary. HPS has regular weekly visiting hours for people like me (who wish they lived closer by, but can still help with donations) to come and be with the horses from time to time. The barns and stalls are clean, the horses are properly fed and well-looked-after and (most of all) loved. The love is infectious. The volunteers tell me stories about the horses - who did what or how their progress is coming along. I know every dollar, every hour, every aluminum can that is donated to HPS is put to the best use. If you want to make a difference, this is the organization to support. The remarks you will read from other reviews are true - this is a wonderful, loving caring place -- it practically levitates.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Simply put, HPS is first-rate. I first became of aware of it from a 2002 article in the Charlotte Observer but it wasn't until 2006 that I first set foot on the ranch. I was impressed then by the knowledge and dedication of its members and my respect for HPS continues to grow with each visit. As a former rider and long-ago horse owner, I appreciate the breadth & depth of the knowledge of HPS's founder Joanie Benson regarding horses in general and even more so for her guiding knowledge on how to bring abused horses back from the brink. I continue to learn something new every time I go out there.
As an 8-year member and most-often "donor" rather than "volunteer," I have been so moved by the HPS's monthly newsletter updates on rescues and successes - as well as the occasional necessary loss - that I have continued to increase my contribution each year while still feeling I need to do more. This non-profit operates on very careful, well-prioritized use of its funds, more so than I think should be necessary for such an excellent organization. But the horses' welfare and comfort, whether they can be saved, rehabilitated or not, are always the top priorities. This was especially evident when Joanie gave me and another volunteer a refresher lesson on grooming these recovering horses. For every question I asked, the answer's consideration was for the horses first, the expense second and there was no third.
I just spent 5 days last week alongside other regular and new volunteers, helping groom the horses (15 of the nearly 50) for their 2015 Calendar photo shoot, one of numerous HPS fund-raisers. I haven't done anything that satisfying in many years. The photo shoot itself was positively thrilling, to see these beautiful, saved horses play in the ranch's lake, walk with their equine "best friend" and gallop out of the shaded woods around the large main pasture.
I'm now trying to contribute, within my personal limitations, to some of the vast amount of physical labor required to care for nearly 50 horses because the level of effort I see by the regular volunteers is truly inspiring. Every single person I have met at the ranch has been welcoming, helpful, gracious and grateful regardless of their level of expertise, work duties, length of membership or preferred involvement. Those who can lift and bend, do. Those who can't, help in other ways. Questions are welcome and answers carefully given. No interest or effort is wasted by this amazing group.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help feed, or groom horses, clean barns, mow pastures, join the fundraising committee. Volunteer