Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.79315
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

HPS is a wonderful place. I volunteer there on a weekly basis and I am so thrilled to be a part of something so great. This a place of hope, love and second chances for the poor mistreated horses that find their way there. Most often starved and sick, we all do everything we can to show these horses the love and kindness that they've never had before. We make sure they have full bellies, clean stalls and plenty of attention. It's not an easy job nor is it a glamorous one ( yes, we shovel alot of poop) but we each willingly go back time after time, hot or cold,rain or shine to make sure that the horses we love have everything they need. What do we get in return? We get to see these sad and neglected horses returned to health and happiness and know that we had a hand in making that happen. We still get to believe in magic.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This shows what one determined and talented person can do to help improve our world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing, the best example of a well-managed nonprofit organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
September 16, 2013

The Horse Protection Society of China Grove, NC is a wonderful and very unique organization. It was started by one person who has a special love of horses. She recognized the need to save starved & ... more

November 17, 2013

I have been volunteering with the Horse Protection Society of NC for 5 years now and plan to continue indefinitely. Joanie Benson who started this organization is extremely knowledgeable about horses and over the years has managed to pour every donated penny into the care of the horses. She is notified by local Animal Control, Humane Society, and individuals about starved, abused horses. Her initial visit to see the horse is to do an assessment. Then she attempts to educate the owner concerning the care needed. If the owner is receptive she will return to perform another assessment in about 2 weeks or so. If the horse does not show any improvement she offers to take the horse to her facility with the owners permission. Once the horse is under her care it is placed on a special diet according to the needs, dewormed, and checked by a Vet. Routine care is lots of TLC, hoof trimming, Vet & Dental checks & care, as well as exercising as tolerated. The entire organization is staffed by volunteers only which allows all monies to go to the care of the horses. Though donations and grants she has been able to build barns to house 50 horses and also has built an indoor riding arena so the exercising can continue year 'round. Tremendous improvement in the horse's health & demeanor is evident in a short week or two once the horse arrives at her facility. They seem to thrive under her care and she has educated each volunteer so their effectiveness is maximized. Placement of recovered horses to a good home is always a goal. If placed, Joanie keeps in touch to ensure the ongoing good health of the horse. If deterioration is found she then returns the horse to her sanctuary. The Horse Protection Society of NC is an excellent charity which survives totally on donations and some grants.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes I would make.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Horse Protection Society of China Grove, NC is a wonderful and very unique organization. It was started by one person who has a special love of horses. She recognized the need to save starved & abused horses in the area and immediately began her endeavor to provide a rehabilitating home for them. At present the society which is staffed totally by volunteers takes care of 47 horses. Each has their own special diet and medications (if necessary) and are monitored daily. Running the Sanctuary for the horses is an incredible feat and depends solely on donations and grants in order to procure feed, meds, hoof care and veterinary care as well as building large barns (each horse has its own stall), and the recent addition of an indoor arena. Volunteers also help with training and riding to hopefully find new homes for these wonderful horses. The acreage with a pond is a beautiful serene area for the horses and the volunteers! Without this organization we would not have these beautiful horses in our care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering weekly at HPS for over 6 years. It is an amazing place. Horses come in starved and neglected and abused but within weeks they have gained weight and confidence and trust. All the horses receive the best food, vitamins and nutrients. If a vet is needed they are called immediately. Every effort is made to make each horse comfortable and happy. And that goes as well for all the other rescues ; dogs, cats, chickens and turkeys. This is very special place and I am blessed every time I go there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we could have a paid barn manager.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Elyse, Alexa and I had a really nice time visiting today I am looking forward to coming next Saturday with Alayna, my other daughter as well. All of the animals are so happy there and sooooo friendly!! I wish more people would know of you and be able to do whatever they can to support these beautiful horses... My daughters and I look forward to being an Angel to the newest horse (one without a name yet)... She was amazing today how she communicated with you and loved on me too. Aurora definitely made an unforgettable impression on me and I read her story, she is such a sweet horse, and how she was following me just warmed my heart so much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more publicity...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Horse Protection Society is very special place for me. I've been here 2 Summers and coming on 3 Winters now, when I first came here I was extremely anxious. I imagine myself a lot like the horses that are rescued and come here, abused and being rehabilitated into their best self. My favourite example is Turq. When Turq arrived as a rescue dog at the Horse Protection Society, he kept his tail down, pied everywhere, and kept his head lowered, as if he had done something bad. I remember Deborah lifting up his chin and tail into a position of confidence to remind him that he can feel safe and secure both here and in his own body. I was like Turq upon arrival, no self-esteem, no confidence, fearful of talking to people, and extremely anxious all the time. 2.5 years later both me and Turq are more confident animals. And while I still have a long ways to go (we never stop learning or growing), I genuinely see the Horse Protection as a pivotal moment in my life, that helped to build up my character.

I am forever grateful to all the lessons my mentor Deborah has taught me, all the insights and great stories of the animals over the years from Joanie, and the people I've met there and worked with like Pam, and others who come together when a volunteer suffers a loss, even if they don't know you that well. They are an amazing group of people, and we need more volunteers and individuals like them.

Volunteers who are dedicated, aren't afraid of hard work, who care for each other and the animals, and a dose of commitment is a plus too. I dream of the day when more people stop in not to just visit to look at a horse they can adopt, or look at a shovel and turn their nose up, but to actually help and be a part of the HPS family.

I feel so grateful for the opportunities I've been given in life which allow me to be here. The Horse Protection Society changed my life, taught me a lot about connecting with horses and people, and helped me look at horses and the way we treat animals. I think we need more people in this world like them. Love this place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bestow it with more volunteers who put the care and well-being of the animals first and more money so that it can hire a few people to help (like the Red Cross).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Horse Protection Society lives up to it's name every day. We are thee to save and protect horses that were starved and/or abused by their former owners. There are many volunteers who give many, many hours every day of every week of every month to be there to care for the horses. They receive, dental, medical, farrier, chiropractor care. Probably more care and attention than most people. Horses are carefully brought back to the healthiest they can be. Believe me even the horses know how fortunate they are to be at HPS.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My volunteering started in July. HPS welcomed me with open arms and great enthusiasm, this in and of itself made me smile. HPS cares for 48+ horses and each volunteer does this without complaint. They all including myself find great personal reward in tending to the recovery of these abused, starved and neglected equines. What's even more gratifying is to have one of the rescues lay their head on your shoulder while you are grooming as if to say thank you, they have been hurt so badly yet they are so forgiving. Volunteering is to say the least hard work, 48 horses that need to be fed, watered, medicated, 2 barns and 4 condos that get cleaned twice a day, not to mention the repairs, fencing, fund raising, abuse calls and behind the scenes day to day operations - These people are amazing and better yet LOVE what they are doing, we all should be so fortunate. The knowledge that I am gaining as to horse health and well being is without doubt the best I have ever had access to. HPS takes pride in answering my questions so that I have a clear understanding why each horse is cared for the way they are, they put the horse first and foremost above all else, even themselves at times. I am so very happy that I called, that they welcomed me and that I have a place where I can go and give back. The horses, their whinnies, the smell of the barn, the sore muscles and the people and what they stand for and the work we all do has given me a peace and serenity that I have not had for quite sometime. HPS is a wonderful rescue, still struggling, ever learning and always showing love and compassion for the horses they take in. I am proud to be a part of it all, wish I had more time to give and hope that I can continue to be a volunteer for many years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is not really a change - It is awareness, I wish that more people knew of HPS and what they do

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at HPS for 3 years now, and it's a wonderful place for recovering horses! They are very carefully cared for and evaluated closely for any injuries or sickness. I find it to be a very fulfilling opportunity and encourage anybody with a bit of spare time to volunteer at this wonderful safe haven for horses!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a new volunteer with this organization. It has been truly rewarding and great therapy knowing that the little bit of time I am able to contribute working with the horses and showing them love will help them heal. It is great that horses in need have HPS to call home until they find a loving/caring forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help feed, or groom horses, clean barns, mow pastures, join the fundraising committee. Volunteer