Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.882355
Write A Review
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 17, 2013

I have been volunteering with the Horse Protection Society of NC for 5 years now and plan to continue indefinitely. Joanie Benson who started this organization is extremely knowledgeable about horses... more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There is no other place for rescue horses like the Horse Protection Society of NC (HPS)! They get some severely emaciated horses that any other organization would euthanize, but HPS is able to turn them into the wonderful & beautiful animal that they once were. Each of the 47 horses gets their own special diet, vet, farrier, & dental care along with much TLC from the many volunteers. As a volunteer, I love going to HPS to be able to add to the quality of life that each horse experiences there.
November 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with the Horse Protection Society of NC for 5 years now and plan to continue indefinitely. Joanie Benson who started this organization is extremely knowledgeable about horses and over the years has managed to pour every donated penny into the care of the horses. She is notified by local Animal Control, Humane Society, and individuals about starved, abused horses. Her initial visit to see the horse is to do an assessment. Then she attempts to educate the owner concerning the care needed. If the owner is receptive she will return to perform another assessment in about 2 weeks or so. If the horse does not show any improvement she offers to take the horse to her facility with the owners permission. Once the horse is under her care it is placed on a special diet according to the needs, dewormed, and checked by a Vet. Routine care is lots of TLC, hoof trimming, Vet & Dental checks & care, as well as exercising as tolerated. The entire organization is staffed by volunteers only which allows all monies to go to the care of the horses. Though donations and grants she has been able to build barns to house 50 horses and also has built an indoor riding arena so the exercising can continue year 'round. Tremendous improvement in the horse's health & demeanor is evident in a short week or two once the horse arrives at her facility. They seem to thrive under her care and she has educated each volunteer so their effectiveness is maximized. Placement of recovered horses to a good home is always a goal. If placed, Joanie keeps in touch to ensure the ongoing good health of the horse. If deterioration is found she then returns the horse to her sanctuary. The Horse Protection Society of NC is an excellent charity which survives totally on donations and some grants.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes I would make.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Horse Protection Society of China Grove, NC is a wonderful and very unique organization. It was started by one person who has a special love of horses. She recognized the need to save starved & abused horses in the area and immediately began her endeavor to provide a rehabilitating home for them. At present the society which is staffed totally by volunteers takes care of 47 horses. Each has their own special diet and medications (if necessary) and are monitored daily. Running the Sanctuary for the horses is an incredible feat and depends solely on donations and grants in order to procure feed, meds, hoof care and veterinary care as well as building large barns (each horse has its own stall), and the recent addition of an indoor arena. Volunteers also help with training and riding to hopefully find new homes for these wonderful horses. The acreage with a pond is a beautiful serene area for the horses and the volunteers! Without this organization we would not have these beautiful horses in our care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 12, 2013

I have been a volunteer at HPS for 3 years now, and it's a wonderful place for recovering horses! They are very carefully cared for and evaluated closely for any injuries or sickness. I find it to b... more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love all the horses at HPS! HPS works very hard to take in any horse in trouble and works on a total volunteer basis. They have so many horses (50), and it takes so much money to run the ranch, that they struggle month to month to find the funds to provide food, supplements, and medical supplies to these beautiful creatures! They need all the help they can get. Please consider being a sponsor or volunteer!
September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at HPS for 3 years now, and it's a wonderful place for recovering horses! They are very carefully cared for and evaluated closely for any injuries or sickness. I find it to be a very fulfilling opportunity and encourage anybody with a bit of spare time to volunteer at this wonderful safe haven for horses!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love HPS working with the horses they make me a better and happier person.
All of the people and animals are a joy to be around.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Oh my, I have so much to share but I will try to keep this brief. I saw an article in the Charlotte Observer about the Horse Protection Society in early 2004, despite the fear of my heart & mind handling the pain of Equine abuse and neglect I stopped in, met Joanie Benson and have not looked back. I served as a contributor, volunteer, AM feeder and Medical Needs Director for several years. Joanie Benson taught me invaluable knowledge of horses including their nature, needs, habits, conformation and the patience to learn to listen to my horse, for my horse will teach me what I need to know. I sadly had to forfeit my HPS commitment due to my mothers health, but have since become the rider of a wonderful Quarter Horse owned by another HPS Board Member, taking with me 6 years of natural horsemanship, the healing power of a holistic regime which HPS is a firm believer and a heart full of amazing animals present and past .....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I saw a newspaper article about HPS. Having previously owned a horse, I attended a fund raiser at HPS in October, 2010. I have been a member of HPS since that visit. I usually visit the sanctuary once a week to help wherever I can. Having witnessed the arrival of some of the rescued horses and the horrible condition they were in and see the results of excellent care, meds, proper nutrition, and loving concern some 8-12 months later is nothing short of remarkable. Each horse is fed in their stall, then checked out and given any medical attention necessary and then turned out to freely roam the sanctuary. There is more to owning a horse than putting on a saddle and riding. If you want to really learn about horses from the hoof up, visit HPS, become a volunteer and help these magnificent animals. They will love you!
October 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have many family members and friends that volunteer their time and energy every week to HPS. The difference they are making for these horses is amazing. Seeing the before and after stories of a rescue effort is so touching. I have visited the horse farm and saw the many horses, but also the many faces of volunteers working to give each horse a better tomorrow. Thank you to each volunteer and donor for your time and effort for this mission.
October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at the Horse Protection Society since June 21, 2014 and I must say that I have never worked with a more dedicated and loyal group of people, in my life. Not only are the volunteers loving, caring, and dependable, but they are each determined to make a difference in the lives of others. One simply cannot fathom just how much light that the volunteers at HPS bring into this world. Those who believe that they are coming to spend time and energy with the horses who are in dire need of attention and care, quickly learn that they are not alone. As volunteers, we quickly find peace, joy, and laughter in each of the personalities of the horses. Just when we think to ourselves that this world is a dark place, the world who let these poor souls be neglected and abused before making it to this refuge, we begin to look around at all the beautiful souls who bring these horses back from near death and it is only then that we realize that we actually live in a beautiful world. Accompanied by the beautiful souls of Turk, Pumpkin, Zucchini, Penny, Harrah, and the many chickens, this place is truly filled with love and a little hard, but very rewarding, work.
October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen many aspects of the Horse Protection Society and there is always a spirit of Let's Get It Done for the horses. Questions are asked and ANSWERED! What is best for each horse and their environment? How do we make it happen? With time and through the hard work and love of many diligent volunteers I have seen rescued horses heal and thrive. Whether it's managing the large organization's daily needs, doing the physical labor, or fund raising every volunteer's contribution is valued and appreciated. Please consider donating time or money to this wonderful horse rescue.
October 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with HPS since 2005 both as a donor and assisting with the website and monthly newsletter. What I have witnessed is an ongoing, tireless effort by Joanie Benson and the volunteers to rescue, nurture and provide an improved quality of life for so many horses. The care taken in making an individual decision about each new resident of the sanctuary in terms of what they will need to flourish is never compromised. Every single horse is treated with concern and dignity and Joanie and the volunteers are fully committed to following whatever plan is put in place. It is a labor of love that has never faltered.
October 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was a Volunteer feeder at HPS for almost four years and it was one of the hardest jobs I have ever had. Feeding forty horses plus caring for their individual medical needs is no easy job. But the reward of seeing them recover and the angels that volunteer there kept me coming back each weekend until work took me away. HPS is truly a Spiritual Santuary for horses and the humans that love them.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help feed, or groom horses, clean barns, mow pastures, join the fundraising committee. Volunteer