Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I volunteer once a week with Horse Hugs. It is what I look forward to the most each week. I love how people's faces light up when they see these beautiful horses being brought in to see them. The way Sandy interacts with the horses and others is a delight to watch. I am proud to be part of such an amazing and rewarding opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been volunteering for the last year and I really enjoy the experience. Horse Hugs is a great organization and brings joy to many people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I volunteer with Horse Hugs once a week and absolutely love it! It is a delight to volunteer with Sandy and the other volunteers. The mini's are super sweet and great around the residents. The joy the mini's bring to the resident's faces is simply amazing. I enjoy being a volunteer with Horse Hugs because a visit brightens the resident's day and puts smiles on their faces!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

We love helping Sandy with the mini horses! What a treat for us. My 8 year old loved helping wash and exercise the horses after school. It's been a pleasure getting to know Sandy and this amazing outreach to the elderly population.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Horse Hugs has been coming to Glenaire, a continuing care retiremenent community, for several years. The owner and her volunteers always go out of their way to dress the horses up in cotume, take pictures and visit as many residents as possible. The horses are always exceptionally groomed and clean. They are also well behaved and patient with the residents. They always bring lots of smiles and joy to the residents. We are so grateful for Horse Hugs and all that they bring to Glenaire.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I really have enjoyed Horse Hugs because you get to give joy to some of the people that really need it. You also get to have fun by bringing around the miniature horses to the nursing homes. One time we even had people come to the house and look at the horses, miniature train village and some even went to the garden next door.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

I am proud that I was able to be a part of Horse Hugs. I really enjoyed bringing the minis to the nursing homes and seeing the smiles it brought to all the patient's faces. Horse Hugs has been a great experience that has turned into my favorite memories. Unfortunately they moved out of California or I would still be volunteering there today. I recommend it to anyone who wants to get involved in their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

My name is Kinzi and I am a high school student. I was looking for a fun way to help the community. I found Horse Hugs online and decide to volunteer. When I walked in to Mrs. Sandy's backyard for the first time it was like walking into a fairy-tale. There was a cute little barn and an amazing train layout. The miniature horses were just walking around the yard eating this lushes green grass and I knew this is were I would be volunteering from now on. Mrs. Sandy and the other volunteers were so sweet and kind. I felt right at home. Unfortunately I'm moving. I will miss volunteering so much! If you ever get the chance I would chose Horse Hugs! It's absolutely amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I am an activities director for HeartFields at Cary which is an assisted living and memory care community. I am always looking for unique and fun ideas for my residents to experience. Sandy, with Horse Hugs, contacted me to see if she, her volunteers and 2 mini horses could come and visit our residents. It has been over a year now and Horse Hugs is one of our most popular activities. The horses are so sweet, well mannered and help bring a sense of peace to our residents. Their outfits make us smile and we always look forward to seeing the latest holiday fashion. Sandy, Cindy and all the volunteers bring such kindness, love and happiness to our residents. They are extremely professional and patient with our residents allowing the residents as much time as they want to tell a story or ask questions about the horses. One of the residents' other favorite thing about Horse Hugs is the pictures that Sandy and Cindy take of the resident and horse. It's a great reminder of what they get to experience. HeartFields can't express how much Horse Hugs means to us! Even our staff love the horses and volunteers. They always brigthen our day!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

My name is Ireland and I am 9 years old. I've been volunteering with Horse Hugs for 2 years. I am going to walk you through the process.

When we go in the horses will be wearing a costume matching each season or special holiday. Every volunteer will be wearing a Horse Hugs tshirt
which will be provided every time you volunteer.

I personally like it because when you walk the horse to the people you get to see their eyes light up and see their warm smile. It makes you feel happy that you are doing something with your free time instead of sitting at home watching TV. Volunteering will also give you a good job and college scholarships.

We normally go to nursing homes but sometimes we go to day camps. Sometimes if we go a little early we walk them in the park before we go to the nursing home. We get their their giggles out because we have to be slow and quiet. That way we don't get the horses riled up. We talk a lot to the seniors. Some of them tell us stories of their life.

I love volunteering because it is a nice thing to do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Could help with a visit to a nursing home