Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful and caring organization. Not only do they care for and rehabilitate abused and neglected equine, they also go the extra step and have education classes for their volunteers so that we can go out and assist our own communities, so we can all identify and report abuse and better care for our own animals in our own neighborhoods. A pay it forward for our animal friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Duplicate it and expand into more parts of Tennessee and the whole US.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I just WISH there where more Safe Havens, like Horse Haven of Tennessee, they work tirelessly trying to safe neglected abused horses,, the powers of healing with love, patient's and commitment.... Thank You Horse Haven for all you do day in and day out!!!! Bless You
October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

I've loved horses my whole life, but growing up in a city limited my exposure to them. Volunteering at Horse Haven has given me the privlege of caring for them, loving them 1 on 1. This organization... more

October 15, 2013

Horse Haven of Tennessee has the horses as their absolute top priority. The volunteers rescue abused and neglected horses that would otherwise die a long and horrible death. And they don't stop there. They rehab them, get their weight up, check their behavior and then seek seek seek out the most suitable, loving homes for them. One horse adopted means one more can be rescued. And so it goes horse by horse by horse.
a former volunteer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more acerage, money and barns.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've loved horses my whole life, but growing up in a city limited my exposure to them. Volunteering at Horse Haven has given me the privlege of caring for them, loving them 1 on 1. This organization is so well run by just a few individuals and a ton of volunteers. The rescued horses (mules, minis etc) never go hungry at Horse Haven, someone is pounding the pavement and phones always procuring food and hay for these grateful and deserving animals. They stretch a donated buck further than anyone can. Horse Haven is the best example of how volunteerism should work !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

This charity is so important. The Tennessee Walking Horses have trainers and owners that burn chemicals into the horses legs. Where would we be if we did not have this rescue to save them from this abuse and help them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Horse Haven of Tennessee is an amazing place that provides a safe place for abused or neglected horses throughout the state. Through proper feeding programs, exercise, turn out and gentle hands giving loving attention, the horses are taught to live and to love again. There is nothing more satisfying than seeing a once starved horse become fat and healthy and find their forever home! I love working here as a volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Horse Haven is an incredible organization dedicated to rescuing abused and neglected equine in the state of Tennessee. That being said, their efforts go far beyond what one might expect from a horse rescue. Not only do they work tirelessly to save and care for these animals, they are on the ground day after day working with lawmakers and investigative agencies to ensure that these animals have rights and that the penalties for the abuse and neglect are enforced. Where the penalties aren't strong enough - these wonderful souls are pushing for harsher penalties.

While not every rescue has a happy ending and being a volunteer can be heartbreaking at times, the rewards that come from working with Horse Haven far exceed any sadness. There is nothing like watching a scared, emaciated horse come into the care of this organization and with love, care and patience thrive and find a loving forever home. The daily positive changes in these animals give us all hope and I'm so thankful for Horse Haven!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Horse Haven is an invaluable advocate for horses in Tennessee. They not only save horses that would otherwise go to slaughter or die horrible deaths, they match them up to the perfect new owner. I'm proud to support them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

For years I was donating to a wide variety of animal rescue groups and found myself wondering if my funds were actually doing anything. Since I found Horse Haven of Tennessee, I am confident they are the organization that utilizes every penny to the fullest. The team at HHT rates an A+ in always communicating to their members. We are always updated on projects, rescues, education and everything else they do 24/7.

This group deserves recognition for their dedication to our equines friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I see no need to change what they are doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Horse Haven of Tennessee is an amazing non-profit organization that has helped countless horses in East Tennessee. Many people think only of dogs and cats need rescuing, but horses need help, too. There are not a lot of rescues that are able to help these big, beautiful animals. Very happy we have such a wonderful group of people saving these horses here in East Tennessee!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I joined this organization to help abused and starved horses in the state of Tennessee. What I found by being around these wonderful horses of all shapes and breeds is that the look in their eyes change almost from the minute they are rescued. They seem to know that help is on the way. We have had horses almost drag themselves into the trailer as well as those that had to be led in by the smell of grain, most of which had not had anything to eat in months. The work we do is not only good for our horse population but heals the human soul. I have helped in all kinds of ways from actual rescue in the field and barn to mucking stalls, I have had my heart broken and cried over those who put forth such a nobel effort but just could not overcome the starvation that they endured but rest assured they lived their last days knowing love and attention from the wonderful staff and volunteers at this organization. I have given alot to Horse Haven of Tennessee but its only a drop in the bucket of what Horse Haven has given me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help on a morning or evening shift caring for our horses. Volunteer