Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.976745
Write A Review
November 6, 2014

more

November 6, 2014

We were volunteers for almost 4 years at Horse Haven. And if we hadn't moved we would have been there forever, or as long as we physically could be. The organization is top-notch from the leaders down through the volunteers. Horse Haven has been the voice and conscience of the horse rescue community in Tennessee for over 15 years and it shows in the many ways they deal with abused and neglected horses. Almost any rescue organization can care for these beautiful creatures medically and physically but it's the human touch that sets Horse Haven apart from other rescues. We learned so much at Horse Haven and would never have been able to own horses without all that we were taught by amazing staff and more knowledgeable volunteers. We now volunteer at another horse rescue but it's just not the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 5, 2013

I joined this organization to help abused and starved horses in the state of Tennessee. What I found by being around these wonderful horses of all shapes and breeds is that the look in their eyes cha... more

October 24, 2014

I have been a volunteer with this wonderful organization since 2008 and I can say it has done way more for my soul than I have been able to give back. The people from the top to the new volunteers are warm, loving and caring. People who don't know about rescue always ask me " How do you manage to see all the horrible things that people do to these animals, and most of our cases are starvation. My answer is I don't really see them as they come in, in my mind I see them as I know they will become in several months with the love, care and attention each one gets, then on to their forever home. We educate the public, have programs that help with population control and the humane ending of a loved horses life. Programs that help feed those who are having trouble buying hay and feed. We are a family. A family that cares deeply about each other and the horses and donkeys that come into our barn to get healthy and learn to trust again.
September 5, 2013

I joined this organization to help abused and starved horses in the state of Tennessee. What I found by being around these wonderful horses of all shapes and breeds is that the look in their eyes change almost from the minute they are rescued. They seem to know that help is on the way. We have had horses almost drag themselves into the trailer as well as those that had to be led in by the smell of grain, most of which had not had anything to eat in months. The work we do is not only good for our horse population but heals the human soul. I have helped in all kinds of ways from actual rescue in the field and barn to mucking stalls, I have had my heart broken and cried over those who put forth such a nobel effort but just could not overcome the starvation that they endured but rest assured they lived their last days knowing love and attention from the wonderful staff and volunteers at this organization. I have given alot to Horse Haven of Tennessee but its only a drop in the bucket of what Horse Haven has given me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I've happily been with Horse Haven of Tennessee since 2007 as a volunteer. It truly makes a difference in the lives of all equine who come through our barn doors. The HHT horses have also made an impact in my life, and I truly believe that they have all made me a better human being. One thing I love the most about HHT is that we provide a safe place for our horses to be rehabilitated and nourished back to health. Even better than that is finding each and every one of them a forever home. Therein lies the true joy, matching horses, ponies, and donkeys with their loving human families. HHT is a wonderfully run organization with goals to not just rehabilitate equine but to also educate the community about equine issues through a variety of programs and outreach initiatives. It is a worthwhile organization to donate to, whether it is your time and labor or your money.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

We have donated money to Horse Haven (HHT) for several years and they are named as a beneficiary in our wills. I never worry about our money being put to good use when it goes to HHT because I know it will be. The people associated with HHT work tirelessly to rescue and take care of horses that would otherwise die horrific deaths. Once the rescued horses are released to their custody they spend countless hours rehabbing and training them so they can be adopted and have a forever (we hope) home. There are not enough superlatives to describe the work done by HHT and the folks associated with it.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

Horse Haven of Tennessee is a wonderful organization that works tirelessly with local law enforcement in the rescue of abused and/or neglected horses. They work diligently to give each and every equine that comes through their gate the food and medical treatment that is needed. Beyond the "necessities" provided to our equine friends, the organization as a whole has the number one priority of loving all of the equine that we come across. As a volunteer, is it very rewarding to the sickest equine come in, but be brought back to health and adopted out to their forever homes. Thank you Horse Haven for having the drive and determination to carry out this much needed service!
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I have been with Horse Haven for over five years. Horse Haven is one of the hardest working groups I can say I have ever had the honor of being with. They care not only for the horses that we bring in that need that extra love and care to bring back to health but they care about the volunteers as well. Horse Haven takes that extra step to make sure we are there for the right reasons. It's all about the horses at our barn and what we do for them.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Horse Haven of Tennessee has stepped up & taken on some of the most horrific cases of equine abuse in the East TN area. What this non-profit has accomplished in its 15 years of service is truly commendable. Horses that otherwise would have died agonizing deaths because of neglect and starvation are now in wonderful, loving homes due to the efforts of HHT. Every equine taken in is given hope.
And, with proper food, water, and care, these abused animals turn from sadness and become the glorious, full-of-life creatures they were made to be!
Their transformations are, without a doubt, the most wonderful events for the dedicated Horse Haven of Tennessee volunteers & staff.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

Horse Haven of TN is an awesome organization! They go above and beyond to help horses in need. They have to put up with a lot of flack and go into all kinds of situations to do what must be done for those that cannot do for themselves.
They helped me get an unexpected stud colt gelded when
I needed help. I donate when I can mostly items to the Tack Shack. I will continue to do what I can for HHT because they were there for me.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

Horse Haven takes in horses that were seized by law enforcement due to neglect and abuse. They are rehabilitated and placed into pre-screened adoptive homes. Horse Haven takes great care of the horses while in their care and follows up with adopters. Great organization!
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

One of the most worthwhile things I've done in my life is volunteer at Horse Haven of TN. The care, rehabilitation & welfare of horses is their greatest priority. Horses that come in starved & abused are transformed into healthy, trusting, usable animals in the course of 6 months or so. Their eyes reveal their gratefulness for food, water, vet care & love. And Horse Haven is an excellent steward of donors' money with just 3 modestly paid employees & some 70 volunteers taking barn duty shifts. Everyone's care of the horses is a labor of love. A truly altruistic nonprofit that I'm honored to be a donor for.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help on a morning or evening shift caring for our horses. Volunteer