Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My 13 year old, horse-crazy daughter found Horse Feathers on-line. We filled out our paperwork, did a little e-mailing to establish a schedule, and began volunteering. Horse Feathers is a place where horses truly come first. The gentle, loving care provided by the staff shines through everything that is done, from the regularity of meal time to the high quality medical care provided to those horses in need. Horse Feathers is a quality facility, with a quality staff and wonderful volunteers!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Horse Feathers is an awesome place for horses and volunteers. I have seen many horses come in that were abused, neglected, or abandoned that they have not only been brought back to health but turned into sweet, loving animals!
When I was in need after my horse was burned in a fire; They not
only took her in while we rebuilt, helped her heal, and made her healthier and better behaved than she was when I bought her.
Cheri and Viet are amazing with these wonderful creatures. They understand the horses' language and heal, teach, and love them in a way the horses understand.
September 14, 2014

more

September 14, 2014

I have been volunteering at Horse Feathers, it is a great place. The love, dedication and care shown to the horses by Cherie and Viet is tremendous. Whether the horses have been abused, starved, burned etc. the care and recovery they have all made by this rescue's hard work is wonderful. I am so happy to support this rescue.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I first became aware of Horse Feathers in Nov 2013 when my veterinarian suggested I contact Cheri . At the time I was 2 weeks out of the hospital from a spinal fusion surgery, my horse had injured his eye, it became infected & he needed surgery to remove the eye. I was still taking pain killers, knew very little about horses, blamed myself for his situation, had extremely limited financial resources and was generally overwhelmed. (for anyone wondering WHY I had a horse - he had been abandoned on our property about a yr earlier - skinny & untrained - so we decided to try to care for him) I called Cheri (crying) begging her to please take my horse. She ask "If you could keep him would you?" Absolutely I would...she then proceeded to provide information & emotional support necessary to get me & my horse through a very difficult time. I began volunteering there in early Jan 2014 - for 4 months I was there 4 to 5 times a week to help with the evening feed - Cheri was also recovering from a major surgery - we limped, & froze but got everyone fed! I continue to volunteer there. I have witnessed the effort & time Cheri puts in to the operation, management, promotion and fund raising necessary to assure that Horse Feathers serves the interest of equines and the community without taking anything for herself. It is wonderful what she does for the horses - they are not put in a pasture and forgotten - she knows them all and they know her. Her adoption process is painstaking but worth it because "our" horses go to committed, loving homes.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

My daughter and I have been volunteering at Horse Feathers for two years now. I have seen animals come to the rescue in dire condition, some with wounds or burns and others who have been neglected or otherwise mistreated. Cheri knows how to nurse creatures back from the brink, how to heal with constant love, encouragement and proper treatment. This summer, she took in a starved an abandoned horse, a walking skeleton whose eyes were dull and lifeless, and we watched as she slowly brought him back from the brink. It is astounding the things she can do with animals.

Beyond that, Horse Feathers puts its money directly into food and shelter for their animals. The organization is lean and makes good use of its volunteers. If you love horses, you should stop by or find out how you can support this organization.
September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The pictures alone of the great work that Cheri does with her equine rescues just take your breath away. She has taken in horses so weak and meager they could not even stand on their own. After her loving care and attention, these horses can not only stand but stand with pride and strength. She does so much for children and vets and anyone willing to learn. This is where she truly helps equines worldwide because she educates future potential owners of what is necessary with equine care so that others don't end up in similar situations as those brought to her rescue. She is truly an angel here on earth not only to equines but to all!
September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I came across Horse Feathers early last year. The care RT gives not only to these horses, but anyone that comes out is amazing. After getting out of the military and transitioning not only to a new state, but to a life of being a stay at home mom, was difficult for me. Finding Horse Feathers and working with RT has been the best experience I could have ever asked for. She has a keen ability with pairing me up with a chore or horse that best suits me for the day, as well as being someone to talk with. Her dedication to not only the horses but the volunteers is beyond words. The fact that she also works to educate as well as the programs she has to help horse owners who've fallen on hard times shows just how much she cares about animals and people. Watching my children go out there and bond and work hard with her guidance makes my heart swell. If anyone is looking for a way to give back, do something as a family, or just need that something in their life, I suggest checking this facility out.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers