Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 14, 2014

more

September 14, 2014

I have been volunteering at Horse Feathers, it is a great place. The love, dedication and care shown to the horses by Cherie and Viet is tremendous. Whether the horses have been abused, starved, burned etc. the care and recovery they have all made by this rescue's hard work is wonderful. I am so happy to support this rescue.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Cheri is so passionate about taking in abused, starved and injured members of the equine family. She has helped numerous horses heal and find forever homes.. She is committed to the health and welfare of the animals that she has rescued. I wish I lived closer so I could help her with the awesome care she gives horses, mules and donkeys.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I first became aware of Horse Feathers in Nov 2013 when my veterinarian suggested I contact Cheri . At the time I was 2 weeks out of the hospital from a spinal fusion surgery, my horse had injured his eye, it became infected & he needed surgery to remove the eye. I was still taking pain killers, knew very little about horses, blamed myself for his situation, had extremely limited financial resources and was generally overwhelmed. (for anyone wondering WHY I had a horse - he had been abandoned on our property about a yr earlier - skinny & untrained - so we decided to try to care for him) I called Cheri (crying) begging her to please take my horse. She ask "If you could keep him would you?" Absolutely I would...she then proceeded to provide information & emotional support necessary to get me & my horse through a very difficult time. I began volunteering there in early Jan 2014 - for 4 months I was there 4 to 5 times a week to help with the evening feed - Cheri was also recovering from a major surgery - we limped, & froze but got everyone fed! I continue to volunteer there. I have witnessed the effort & time Cheri puts in to the operation, management, promotion and fund raising necessary to assure that Horse Feathers serves the interest of equines and the community without taking anything for herself. It is wonderful what she does for the horses - they are not put in a pasture and forgotten - she knows them all and they know her. Her adoption process is painstaking but worth it because "our" horses go to committed, loving homes.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

My daughter and I have been volunteering at Horse Feathers for two years now. I have seen animals come to the rescue in dire condition, some with wounds or burns and others who have been neglected or otherwise mistreated. Cheri knows how to nurse creatures back from the brink, how to heal with constant love, encouragement and proper treatment. This summer, she took in a starved an abandoned horse, a walking skeleton whose eyes were dull and lifeless, and we watched as she slowly brought him back from the brink. It is astounding the things she can do with animals.

Beyond that, Horse Feathers puts its money directly into food and shelter for their animals. The organization is lean and makes good use of its volunteers. If you love horses, you should stop by or find out how you can support this organization.
September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The pictures alone of the great work that Cheri does with her equine rescues just take your breath away. She has taken in horses so weak and meager they could not even stand on their own. After her loving care and attention, these horses can not only stand but stand with pride and strength. She does so much for children and vets and anyone willing to learn. This is where she truly helps equines worldwide because she educates future potential owners of what is necessary with equine care so that others don't end up in similar situations as those brought to her rescue. She is truly an angel here on earth not only to equines but to all!
September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place Horse Feathers is! When my horse passed in January of this year I knew I wanted to adopt again. I was looking for a local rescue to adopt from and found Horse Feathers through a friend who had adopted a horse. In February I adopted a beautiful pony. The work they do is an asset to our communities here in Oklahoma. Adoption, what an option!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I came across Horse Feathers early last year. The care RT gives not only to these horses, but anyone that comes out is amazing. After getting out of the military and transitioning not only to a new state, but to a life of being a stay at home mom, was difficult for me. Finding Horse Feathers and working with RT has been the best experience I could have ever asked for. She has a keen ability with pairing me up with a chore or horse that best suits me for the day, as well as being someone to talk with. Her dedication to not only the horses but the volunteers is beyond words. The fact that she also works to educate as well as the programs she has to help horse owners who've fallen on hard times shows just how much she cares about animals and people. Watching my children go out there and bond and work hard with her guidance makes my heart swell. If anyone is looking for a way to give back, do something as a family, or just need that something in their life, I suggest checking this facility out.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 22, 2009

more

August 22, 2009

I first learned of Horse Feathers on a blog I was watching quite a few years a ago. The first thing that impressed me about Cheri(RT) was her committment to the horses under her care. There is no one that works harder for these souls than RT. There are many stories of how she has saved horses from near death and with love and care made them whole again. Her biggest struggle is keeping her organization solvent. She probably could take in more unwanted horses, but it takes a lot of money to take care of them. So she gives the one's in her care the best she can and relies on volunteers and donors to help. Those of us involved with her want her to succeed with her organization and will remain committed to her and the horses at Horse Feathers.

Photos

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

that I have may have made a small difference by helping with brochures and posters to communicate Cheri's efforts with the horses.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 22, 2009

more

August 22, 2009

I have known Cheri White Owl for over two years now and her hard work and determination are amazing. She has a children's program and a program for our American veterans. She not only helps and heals horses, but she helps and heals children and veterans. Amazing place!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the friendship I have with Cheri and the same love of horses.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing the effects of the horses on those who visit.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

I've not been there in person but those who are associated with Horse Feathers are just as committed as Cheri.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Build a new barn, get a golf cart to help the veterans get out to see the horses easier and continue in the positive movement of sharing the experience of horses with those in need.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers