Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.815795
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 30, 2012

Dear Readers, I have been a client with Hopscotch Adoptions twice and now a volunteer. I have nothing but the highest praise for Robin and her team at Hopscotch. International adoptions are difficult ... more

October 29, 2013

I highly recommend Robin and her team at Hopscotch. They will hold your hand if you want or allow you to navigate through the process. Day, night and across time zones Hopscotch will answer your questions (even during the times I thought my questions were silly or small). They are always open to suggestions and recommendations.
We have used Hopscotch twice for our miracles and when we are ready for a third we will certainly be calling Robin! -Erin

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

Dear Readers, I have been a client with Hopscotch Adoptions twice and now a volunteer. I have nothing but the highest praise for Robin and her team at Hopscotch. International adoptions are difficult to navigate and without their services and in-country representatives we would have been lost. We are eternally grateful from our two greatest gifts from God! Without being led to Robin they would not be here with us now. As far as statements made by the last person to post here; APeach, from Georgia I am assuming, I have never met you and don't know your experience. We are from Richmond, Virginia and have found this NC agency to be following all requirements set forth by a non-profit agency without any corrupt practices. Working for a non-profit as a teacher I am very well versed in the laws of what is required of the US government for both children and 501c3's. "If you want a love message to be heard, it has got to be sent out. To keep a lamp burning, we have to keep putting oil in it." -Mother Teresa Be blessed in finding your love and in helping others. -Yours with warmest regards, Erin

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Well of course I'm a bit biased, being a co-founder and board member, but I can't say enough great things about Hopscotch Adoptions. I adopted my daughter 9 years ago as a client of Robin Sizemore's at another agency, so understand what counts most when going through the process: excellent communications, integrity and wise counsel. The team at Hopscotch gives clients all that and more. I couldn't be prouder of the agency, the services it offers and the amazing work they do, every day.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We used Hopscotch and brought our child home in 2011. All along I did not feel the communications were what they should be. There would be gaps between that I would have liked a "we are still thinking of you as we await your referral". As time went on, we would often question things and receive answers that were not comfortable (very defensive, telling us we should not be inquiring as it will hurt future adoptions, etc). It seemed if you question things, instead of finding out the real answers, they don't want to step on toes of the in country contact. They would change the subject, not answer, or give you an answer you knew might not be exactly truthful. OR, just basically tell you to stop questioning. With all the internet communication these days, it's not hard to find people outside of the agency within country to help you figure things out. I understand they want a smooth uneventful process and you have to be careful with who you contact, etc., but when we talked with other Hopscotch families, we found we all had similar dealings. Many that had already adopted were trusted resources and so when the company gets defensive, it's really sad. We just wanted a completely ethical adoption and so when things come up we wanted them to feel the same way and question in country so the answers could be as honest as possible. Even in country we had to figure some things out ourselves, and we were left to get a cab everywhere even though we paid for a daily driver. More questions than answers as we talked with people.
Don't get me wrong, they are nice people working there, but I just think they are afraid to really find out the truth on some things and are scared at loosing a connection within country. To us, it was more about the money--staying in business and not threatening their contact/contacts than about the child. We did have a "successful" adoption (if you count paperwork) but there are lots of questions left behind. I think people like to get their child and look the other way. I certainly can't explain all the positive stars other than yes, you can adopt a child through them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow free questioning. Of course you have to be careful with other countries but when someone finds out things that the agency should know, they should follow up on it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

The first time I talked to Robin was a 2 hour phone conversation. I was alternately thrilled and terrified about the prospect of international adoption, and she was above all else, honest. She is an e... more

October 4, 2013

I love recommending Hopscotch. Committed, warm, ethical and bright describe the Hopscotch staff. To decide which program to pursue, we spend months researching and interviewing people. Hopscotch and Armenia were at the top. We had the kind of experience every family should have: full and proper education, complete support through the process, a willingness and ability to answer tough questions and in-country resources. We adopted our daughter and she is a treasure, a dream come true in every sense. There are so many kids waiting with minor SN and so many U.S. parents to love them-- Hopscotch is a program where children come first, families become friends and the team is amazing. Choose them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

The first time I talked to Robin was a 2 hour phone conversation. I was alternately thrilled and terrified about the prospect of international adoption, and she was above all else, honest. She is an educator, a sounding board, a resource and a friend... she does what she does for the children, and it shows. To call Hopscotch a breed apart doesn't begin to cover it. Our hearts opened to the prospect of a special needs adoption through Hopscotch's advocacy for children who have no prospects in their country of origin. Today, with our child home, we can't bear to look back and think of what would have happened had we taken a different road. Our daughter is the sun and the moon and the stars (just ask her brother) and testimony to the power of all that is possible with love, patience and the help of an amazing adoption agency. Hopscotch? You've found your great nonprofit winner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2013

more

June 15, 2013

It has been almost 6 years since we brought our precious son home from Armenia. Since other family members had also adopted with the assistance of Robin and her team, we knew from the moment we made the decision to adopt that Hopscotch was our agency. From start to finish, Robin and her team were professional, realistic and honest about what we were to expect along the way. The team in Armenia was amazing and the end result is that our son came home to his forever family. It is clear that Hopscotch's only priority is the children and you can feel their love and encouragement every step of the way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

I had the privilege of utilizing Hopscotch Adoptions for the adoption of my sweet daughter! To say that they were helpful or supportive or caring is an understatement! They walked with me thru the ent... more

June 9, 2013

I adopted my daughter in 2011 from Armenia. Hopscotch walked with me through the entire process!! I am so grateful to them for their concern & care of each detail. I would highly recommend them to anyone desiring to any of the countries they represent! You will not be disappointed:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

I had the privilege of utilizing Hopscotch Adoptions for the adoption of my sweet daughter! To say that they were helpful or supportive or caring is an understatement! They walked with me thru the entire process with a gentle understanding of just how difficult it is to wait for one's dream to be fulfilled. Each person I spoke with at Hopscotch was compassionate and understanding as I waited for my referral and elated for me when I received the referral! They all view the children as being precious and treasured...they are very protective of the children and ensure that each child is matched perfectly to their forever family. It is not a thoughtless process of taking papers and just putting them together. I would highly recommend Hopscotch to anyone interested in adopting a precious child!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

My husband and I adopted our two children in 2009, with the guidance of Robin and her staff. We had been through so much -- my breast cancer, infertility workups, miscarriages -- that we wondered if we were capable of more stress. And adopting internationally is not without stress! But Robin listened to our fears. She was completely direct. She didn't sugarcoat our challenges. So when Robin took us on as clients, we knew that we were in capable hands.
After we brought home our babies, I became a volunteer helping other families to adopt. Most adoptive parents love their agency, but I'm struck by the loyalty that Robin and her staff inspire. We are blessed to have stumbled upon her, but most prospective parents carefully research agencies before beginning the process. That research, plus an incredibly effective, loving staff, combine to create adopting families that recommend Hopscotch with zeal.
That said, not everyone can adopt internationally. And no one agency is appropriate for everyone's circumstances. I feel confident that Robin will tell you if Hopscotch is not a good match for you. Her goal is to create "forever families" -- seriously! If she accepts you as a client, you will bring home the child who is destined to be yours.
About a year ago, my son asked me if we still would have adopted him, if we had had a biological child. That's the million-dollar question, isn't it? I said that I'm sure that, regardless of the details, God would have found a way to bring us together. After all, he IS our son!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone the staff. It can't be easy to find employees who genuinely care so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

We adopted our son from Armenia 5 years ago. Robin's team has been amazing, far exceeded my expectations. Our son is joy of our lives and we owe this to God and Hopscotch.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

We are currently in the process of two international adoptions, both through Hopscotch Adoptions. I have to admit I was nervous and skeptical about choosing an adoption agency after reading review after review about agencies that don't respond and fail to get things taken care of for their clients. While both of our adoptions are still in progress, I can happily inform other prospective families that Hopscotch has been WoNdErFuL to work with. They ALWAYS respond to my emails (usually the same day), they ALWAYS meet our needs, they have truly gone above and beyond to insure that our adoption journey goes as smoothly as possible. We recently traveled to Bulgaria to meet one of our daughters and we had major flight delays and cancellations - we had cell phone numbers/home numbers and emails to contact people at Hopscotch when necessary (the in-country agency they work with also took good care of us while we were there). The wonderful women at Hopscotch have been with us every step of the way and I am fully confident with their abilities to complete our adoptions. If we adopt again in the future, we will definitely use Hopscotch.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

The road to adopt our 3 year old son from Ghana, West Africa was one wrought with a roller coaster of emotions. As in any international adoption, there are road blocks that come up along the way. There is not another organization that Rob and I would rather have been with through all of the hurdles than Robin Sizemore and Michelle Moreau at Hopscotch Adoptions, Inc. We love their passion and compassion for the children they are desperately trying to help find forever families. Our family is blessed beyond measure to have these two women be a part of our adoption story. They are caring, understanding, empathetic and genuinely love the families they work with and the children they are representing. We couldn't have and wouldn't have made it through without having them by our side each step of the way! Emmanuel has now been home for 4 1/2 months and we look forward to taking a trip to North Carolina soon so that he/we can thank these two wonderful ladies and the rest of the Hopscotch staff for the love and encouragement they've shown our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers