Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I know firsthand that the work of Hope Through Health saves lives everyday through its delivery of comprehensive care and treatment to people living with HIV in Togo. Its so simple, yet so powerful - $20/month can provide comprehensive care to 1 individual living with HIV for a year. In addition, HTH is drastically reducing the transmission of HIV from mother to child where 99% of mothers living with HIV are able to give birth to HIV free babies. It's this impact which drew me to the organization and the commitment of the people which have inspired me to serve as Board President. With over 2,700 beneficiaries, many of who are proactively addressing the needs of their communities by serving as health workers, this model is both effective and sustainable. I know of no other organization doing as much for as little money as HTH is doing in Togo.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Although, compared with other organizations working within the same field, quite small in size, Hope Through Health is one of the most efficient and effective non-profits I have seen. Thru an incredibly dedicated staff and network of volunteers, many of which have a personal relationship with those benefiting, HTH provides essential services to people affected by HIV and AIDS in a country, Togo, which is often overlooked. When I donate, or ask others to donate, to HTH I can rest assured that the money will be efficiently spend and go to those who most need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Hope Through Health is a beautiful organization run by genuine and committed people. When I donate to Hope Through Health, I know my money will go directly to the people that need it most, and it will make an impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

In a cruel, crazy, beautiful world, nothing inspires me more than the acts of charity and compassion of ordinary individuals in some of the most remote and underserved regions of the world. Few Americans have visited places like Kara, Togo, and the dirt-poor towns and villages that benefit directly from Hope Through Health's support. Yet the organizers of HTH have chosen to dedicate a significant portion of their lives supporting people living with a dreaded disease - HIV/AIDS - who refused to die quietly, and decided instead to organize their own health care. Just seven years later, more than 1,200 individuals benefit directly from that determination and the partnership it inspired. I joined the board of Hope through Health in 2009 and recently signed up for a second three-year term. This is an amazing group that is making a difference in the most modest surroundings... it's an example of what can happen when good people refuse to ignore the problems of the world around them and extend a helping hand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I am currently volunteering for Hope Through Health. I sincerely hope I can offer something of use...The reality is, HTH is doing phenomenal work, and they have a great staff (albeit minimal!). AED, the partner organization is also phenomenal, and they're working under tight constraints of resources. It's not an easy job, to say the least, but they are creating a community of assistance. They're providing something truly necessary to people here, and helping people live longer, more productive, and ultimately happier lives in my view. I would absolutely recommend that people come to volunteer here if there is a need. Kara is a lovely town, although to volunteer you need not come all the way to Togo! I would highly recommend that you do, though. I understand volunteering can actually be a drain on a nonprofit. Someone needs to assist the volunteer to understand the organization to begin with, so it can be a challenge. HTH has done very well in accommodating me and giving me the things I need to do some work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I am fortunate that Hope through Health was my first experience working in the field of international health 5 years ago. I remain a strong advocate. The mission and values of HTH, and their respect for the communities they work with is something that has shaped my career path and has given me faith that external aid can be helpful. My experience in Togo allowed me to experience first hand an extraordinary community empowerment model that is sadly missing from traditional development approaches. By forming a true and authentic partnership with people living with HIV/AIDS, this organization respects the autonomy and culture of the communities with which they work while offering their own strength of technical and financial support. Hope Through Health gives community members access to much needed holistic health care, and fosters social support and unity among people with a highly stigmatized health condition. This is sustainable, respectful of human dignity, and represents true empowerment. An example of an effective and holistic bottom up approach that gives many individuals the human right to health.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

HTH is a powerful and impactful organization which is doing great work in a country that is often overlooked by the international aid community. I first became involved with HTH as a way to support people in Togo after my time there as a Peace Corps Volunteer. I continue to be involved with HTH since I have seen the direct impact its had on the lives of over 2500 people living in Togo, and its potential to grow and help even more of the population. I trust HTH and our partners AED completely and know that every dollar I donate is helping people and saving lives. I encourage anyone reading this review to go to HTH's website and read about some outstanding people who we support including Stark -a 15 year old boy who has overcome severe illness to become valedictorian of his class, or Elese - a founding member who has become the organization's treasurer. If you are looking for more goodness check out the story of Sadate who overcame severe malnourishment with the heart of a lion.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I learned about the organization firsthand while visiting Togo, Africa and have been involved ever since. Getting to witness the direct impact a dollar makes to underserved individuals living with HIV/AIDS in this country was life-changing and I'll forever be a strong supporter of Hope Through Health.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I learned about the organization through some college friends. The depth of their dedication is phenomenal, and I always feel that my time and/or money is going directly to benefit others. I am a very happy monthly contributor, and would recommend this charity to everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I learned about the organization while teaching monitoring and evaluation and one of the founders asked for some assistance to ensure that they were doing good program planning and evaluation. This striving for excellence and transparency has persisted and they have thrived as a small but effective NGO working in Togo. The focus has always been how to better meet the needs of the community and how to do more with less

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers