Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
132 Reviews
1234.946975
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

I became an intern at Hope Stone right after I graduated from college and moved to Houston 2 years ago. At this time I did not have a job yet in the Houston area, but I knew Hope offered a welcoming start to jump into the Houston arts community. It is a place I can go to take class; to continue growing as an artist, to come back to my center, and to be with others who share my love for learning about movement. Jane has had a huge impact on my dance education since college. She and the entire Hope Stone staff have such a generous, genuine, and positive energy. One of the most positive programs that this organization has in effect is HopeWerks; a residency program that allows young and growing artists the opportunity to use the space for artistic creation and production. I have been a part of 2 HopeWerks so far and have applied for the opportunity to have my own residency. Hope Stone is definitely an asset to the Houston arts community. It is one of the few organizations in Houston in which I have felt at home.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

Hopestone is not just a dance studio but a center for the arts. I came back to Houston after Graduating from college and was looking for a place to continue my dance education. I went to many differen... more

April 15, 2013

I moved back to Houston with the intention of moving to New York City after I saved up some money. On my journey I needed to keep my dancing skills intact and found Hopestone. I started by taking class, then I started to volunteer, then I was asked to help with the childerns programs, then I was asked to be a company member and teach technique class.

Not only do I have the opportunity to change lives through dance in Houston but I have found a place that has allowed me to do so with such ease.

I currently have no intention on moving and look forward to growing with and in this community called Hopestone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

Hopestone is not just a dance studio but a center for the arts. I came back to Houston after Graduating from college and was looking for a place to continue my dance education. I went to many different places around Houston and I felt like Hopestone had the types and level of classes that would help me in continuing to grow as an artist. I eventually became a volunteer, a outreach/Hopestone Kids assistant teacher, a modern teacher, and a dance company member of Hopestone. Besides the high caliber of programs and classes at Hopestone, I call it my Arts home because of the caring, passionate, talented people I have connected with there. -Jackie

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I started going to Hope Stone about a year ago right after graduating from college and joined the company. The classes offered are great and I always fall in love with all the instructors. Not only the classes and instructors are great, the staff at Hope Stone are very nice and friendly as well. Overall, this place is full of love and warm people. Going to the Hope studio is now a part of my daily routine. I can't start a day without taking a class there.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I first started taking class at HopeStone a few years ago participating in the adult dance program, I was immediately impress by the level of their instructors and the welcoming atmosphere. A year ago... more

April 9, 2013

Hope Stone not only fills our lives with art through wonderful performances and classes for both children and adults, but provides a to go place for the former dancer who enjoys working out in a caring, loving, easy going, welcoming, always improving environment like their's.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I first started taking class at HopeStone a few years ago participating in the adult dance program, I was immediately impress by the level of their instructors and the welcoming atmosphere. A year ago I had to go through foot surgery and was unable to dance for a while, Jane suggested a few classes a could participate on with a cast on my foot that would help me stay in shape and aid my recovery, I loved the classes and I have kept coming back to them in addition to ballet now. The diversity and quality of the classes offered is again impressive. On the other hand the wonderful job they do with the children and with their performing company is what every city needs to keep the arts alive and thriving.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

It is hard to find only a few words to describe the awesome force that is Hope Stone, Inc. From the moment I stepped into the studio with the Hope Stone Family, I knew that I too had come home. From the smell of freshly made coffee to the laughter of children ages 2-92, there is never an uninspired moment in this amazing space.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I was welcomed into the Hopestone fold with loving, open arms and made to feel at home right away. I am a musical accompanist for modern and improv dance classes at Hopestone for both children and adults, and have recently joined the teaching staff. Jane Weiner sets an incredible tone of inclusiveness and participation in what goes on at Hopestone, whether it be novice adult dancers, or children learning drums, theatre, or dance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 1, 2010

I serve as a teacher, student, stage manager and superfan of Hope Stone. Everyone is accepted there. The kids are learning peace and humanity through arts discipline. It's beautiful to watch. The... more

April 7, 2013

This organization's ability to create community through the arts is amazing! Hope Stone Kids nourishes the needs of children through arts education. Cultivating Creative Thinkers in all parts of our city. I know young adults who took class throughout their childhood and continue to take class and volunteer at Hope Center. This is a very special organization this is changing the way we value arts education.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2010

I serve as a teacher, student, stage manager and superfan of Hope Stone. Everyone is accepted there. The kids are learning peace and humanity through arts discipline. It's beautiful to watch. The Company of dancers are amazing people and artists. Jane Weiner is a powerful force of GOOD. The board of directors have a vision that serves our community through enriching us with new performances and growing new artists that will be balanced and peaceful people.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The peaceful community feeling that is there. Watching the kids grow into their power.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 22, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 26, 2010

It is impossible not to believe in arts education when you are involved with Hope Stone. We see everyday how dance, music and theater make a difference in a child's life. This is a great organization ... more

November 22, 2012

As a professional dancer I first met Jane, Hope Stone's CEO, on a master class while attending Houston Community College. Since then I became a regular client, taking modern classes from her and getting to know more about the organization. One thing led to another and I found myself teaching at her children's program and as part of her staff at the Hope Stone Kids program, a program designed to make arts education as a priority in kids of all ages lives. 7 years later and I can proudly say that I am a part of Hope Stone's vision to educate our young citizens to problem solve, to have compassion, to learn to socialize, to accept one another, to listen, to trust, to respect and be respected and to share. All that through music, dance, theater, writing, photography, art. As a professional artist and a teacher, I hope to see many more programs like this in schools and community centers all over the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2010

It is impossible not to believe in arts education when you are involved with Hope Stone. We see everyday how dance, music and theater make a difference in a child's life. This is a great organization that educates and empowers children and teenagers through art. The whole staff is very commited to every child and very competent and entusiastic! In order to reach more children with this program funding is extremely important and necessary.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

reach more children and teenagers in educating and empowering through the arts.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

The variety and number of classes offered at Hope Stone makes it a little unusual for an organization of its size. While a dance studio and dance company, dance is not the sole focus of classes for people of all ages. If I had children, I'd send them here---and I've recommended people with children to check it out. The dance company is among the best performances companies in Houston, offering thoughtful and often quirky work to entertain and provoke thought. Much of what they do is done with an eye toward humanitarian concerns. Browse their website and checkout anything they offer that catches your eye. Children to adults can find something at Hope Stone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I moved back to Houston 2 years ago and found my home at Hope Stone. It is not often that I can recommend both beginners and professionals to the same studio but this is the case with Hope Stone as they have an incredible teaching staff tha is able to teach all levels. Their resident professional dance company Hope Stone Dance presents work of the highest caliber every season and their children's and Teen Programs are constantly producing great young talent! Do yourself a huge favor and find out more about Hope Stone, you'll be glad you did!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers