Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
135 Reviews
1234.948155
Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
February 26, 2010

All three of my kids have enjoyed Hopestone's Kid's Play for several years now! My older teen loves the teens group of dance, yoga, drama, and drumming! His teachers are talented and good role models!... more

August 11, 2014

My three children attended " Kid's Play " a performance program at Hope Stone for about 4 years. The level of commitment and talent Hope Stone's staff brought to my children and their peers was a important support the children needed. It was difficult to say goodbye when we moved out of Houston!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more Kid's Play programs!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 26, 2010

All three of my kids have enjoyed Hopestone's Kid's Play for several years now! My older teen loves the teens group of dance, yoga, drama, and drumming! His teachers are talented and good role models! My younger teen has found his nitch with the photography class, his teacher is fantastic!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

My children's joy and delight in their classes!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
2 previous reviews - show all
April 15, 2013

I moved back to Houston with the intention of moving to New York City after I saved up some money. On my journey I needed to keep my dancing skills intact and found Hopestone. I started by taking clas... more

August 11, 2014

Hopestone is a organization that believes in art for all.

I am a strong believer that all should have the opportunity to heal, learn and grow through art. Hopestone is an organization that has allowed me to share and teach dance to others. In the process I have found that when people
are finished with the dance class they are excited that they have the opportunity to dance, express themselves and learn. Usually they express to me that they are glad that dance classes exist and that they try to go to gyms and work out but it doesn't feel as good for the body.

Children in my experience have the same experience., minus the gym part They enjoy the creative choices in a structured environment. I have seen growth and joy from big to smalll!

Everyone progresses at their own rate and all victories are celebrated and acknowledged in this art and dance organization. This I find is different from any other of its kind in Houston.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more funders

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2013

I moved back to Houston with the intention of moving to New York City after I saved up some money. On my journey I needed to keep my dancing skills intact and found Hopestone. I started by taking class, then I started to volunteer, then I was asked to help with the childerns programs, then I was asked to be a company member and teach technique class.

Not only do I have the opportunity to change lives through dance in Houston but I have found a place that has allowed me to do so with such ease.

I currently have no intention on moving and look forward to growing with and in this community called Hopestone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

Hopestone is not just a dance studio but a center for the arts. I came back to Houston after Graduating from college and was looking for a place to continue my dance education. I went to many different places around Houston and I felt like Hopestone had the types and level of classes that would help me in continuing to grow as an artist. I eventually became a volunteer, a outreach/Hopestone Kids assistant teacher, a modern teacher, and a dance company member of Hopestone. Besides the high caliber of programs and classes at Hopestone, I call it my Arts home because of the caring, passionate, talented people I have connected with there. -Jackie

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 11, 2014

Hope Stone has a true passion for the arts in the community. It has given the gift and opportunity to children and adults to experience dance and creativity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all. This organization was perfect! The only thing I would add is to have a bigger space for the dance classes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Hope Stone Inc is such a wonderful non-profit organization. The kids program is just one of the many ways they teach humans about art and how art is beneficial for the soul. Hope stone has taught me to be a better dancer and learn how to love the art in our everyday existence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 23, 2010

Hope Stone is an amazing organization, bringing the arts to at-risk youth through a dynamic program called Kids Play. A year-long drumming, theater and creative movement class, kids explore, grow, ga... more

May 1, 2013

A dynamic organization that continues to push art to the forefront. Inspiring, creative and a community gem.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2010

Hope Stone is an amazing organization, bringing the arts to at-risk youth through a dynamic program called Kids Play. A year-long drumming, theater and creative movement class, kids explore, grow, gain confidence, learn to work together and ooze creativity. In addition, scholarships are given to many kids in town to take various arts classes. Finally, Hope Stone Dance Company is the toast of Houston's modern dance scene and opens up hundreds of seats to at-risk kids for their performances. Jane Weiner is a phenomenal visionary, promoting that art not only heals, but is necessary for a healthy and vibrant life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the confidence of my own child and working closely with Jane Weiner, Executive Director.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the amazing people I've met, having my eyes opened to alternate kinds of art, and watching kids enter the program one way and exit with a special experience that changed their lives.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

dedicated, art-makers, creative and kind.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Give many at-risk kids a new outlook full of opportunities and confidence. Hope Stone would have the ability to offer more scholarships, work with new child-groups in Houston and take the Kids Play program to new places - new cities!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

I became an intern at Hope Stone right after I graduated from college and moved to Houston 2 years ago. At this time I did not have a job yet in the Houston area, but I knew Hope offered a welcoming start to jump into the Houston arts community. It is a place I can go to take class; to continue growing as an artist, to come back to my center, and to be with others who share my love for learning about movement. Jane has had a huge impact on my dance education since college. She and the entire Hope Stone staff have such a generous, genuine, and positive energy. One of the most positive programs that this organization has in effect is HopeWerks; a residency program that allows young and growing artists the opportunity to use the space for artistic creation and production. I have been a part of 2 HopeWerks so far and have applied for the opportunity to have my own residency. Hope Stone is definitely an asset to the Houston arts community. It is one of the few organizations in Houston in which I have felt at home.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

I have watched this wonderful non profit Hope Stone Inc. from its birth and Jane Weiner make it happen with all of her heart and soul. It's been a journey and hard hard hard work on her part and all who are involved. I love the company and what it stands for and the things that it does for this community. It's just what it says it is. HOPE for the community and all who enter it's doors. The best of the Best.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I started going to Hope Stone about a year ago right after graduating from college and joined the company. The classes offered are great and I always fall in love with all the instructors. Not only the classes and instructors are great, the staff at Hope Stone are very nice and friendly as well. Overall, this place is full of love and warm people. Going to the Hope studio is now a part of my daily routine. I can't start a day without taking a class there.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

My six-year-old son started taking kids yoga and creative movement last fall and he absolutely loves it. The teachers are top notch. They are kind and friendly and respectful of the children. They also are constantly encouraging the kids in fun ways to reach beyond what they thought they could do physically and artistically. We are so happy at Hope Stone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I have been a believer and supporter in Hope Stone for many years. My children and I have all enjoyed classes at Hope Stone. Jane Wiener's internal sunlight and incredible enthusiasm for bringing the arts back into childrens' and adults' lives is unmatched. As well as the classes, Hope Stone takes classes to schools that do not provide art in any way. Hope Stone also has an amazing dance company which performs throughout the year. My kids and I LOVE going to their shows because they all have a "Jane flair" that is sure to fill you with joy. Helping Hope Stone in anyway is an honor and gives me pure joy! I will always support Hope Stone.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers