Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

The only thing wrong with my volunteer experience at Hope Springs, is it was too short! Jeanie, Natalie, Dallas and the rest of the staff are excellent instructors and wonderful people. Their dedication to what they do is truly inspiring. One of the best parts of my day was showing up for my shifts at the barn. It's incredible to witness the progress students make, even in a short amount of time. I highly recommend this organization and wish you all continued success!
July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

Hope Springs is an amazing place that provides therapy for disabled people of all ages by helping them connect with horses. Every week, I go to Hope Springs to help a young disabled boy learn to ride and care for his horse. The second any student walks into the barn , you can clearly see how much they love coming to Hope Springs, and how excited they are to be there every week. Through working with the students, I have personally seen amazing improvements in speech, motor skills, and overall attitude, and it's really amazing to watch! The therapy is extremely effective, and the students obviously love being around the horses, and love the instructors!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

Hope Springs Equestrian Therapy is an amazing place! Each week that I show up to help, everything is ready to roll- the instructors have the same enthusiasm for each lesson. Lessons go very smoothly, even if the student isn't having the best day. HSET really does make a difference in these students lives, and you can see it on their faces as they work through their lessons.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A little bit better volunteer organization, but no major changes-they do a great job coordinating what must be a tricky thing to coordinate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I started volunteering at Hope Springs three years ago when my sister graduated high school- she did a weekly lesson with a student, and would no longer be there every week after she was away at college. I had always been interested in what she did there, so I asked if I could be trained and take over my sister's position, and I am so glad that I did. Not only do I get to help out with one of the coolest, sweetest girl's lesson each and every week, but also take part in the amazing summer camp at Hope Springs and with other students' lessons. The staff at HSET, both instructors and volunteers alike, are so good at what they do and such wonderful people that it is impossible not to feel at home when you're there. The experience and skill of the instructors is unparalleled, and the dedication, care, and compassion of everyone involved is unsurpassed and truly awe inspiring. I have seen kids come come to Hope Springs like the grumpiest dude in the world, and leave their first lesson with a huge grin on their face, excited for next time. Students find real therapy at HSET, and I love seeing the way the horses and staff truly help our students. Hope Springs does not just teach riding, we teach responsibility, kindness, respect, and fun! Our staff and students are extraordinary, and the quality of the Hope Springs experience is just amazing. I can only hope more people will take notice of the incredible work being done by this spectacular organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more people involved with the great work they do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I began volunteering at Hope Springs about 10 years ago, and have assisted many of the instructors and students since then. I have seen so many students grow and gain confidence through the program and I always am inspired by their courage and enthusiasm. Volunteering at Hope Springs has been a special family pasttime. For many years I teamed up with either my teenaged son or my husband, working with students who needed both leaders and side-aids. In addition to working directly with the riders, we have also enjoyed helping out at the special events and shows that were sponsored by Hope Springs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization and the people are fabulous. It would be wonderful if they had access to an indoor riding ring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I am a high school senior, and I regularly volunteered here since the beginning of this year for half a year. Volunteering at Hope Springs definitely taught me how to be more mature and caring and also non-prejudiced, given the experiences with a large community of different people. The instructors are wonderful (I've worked primarily with Ms. Jeannie, Ms. Helen, and Ms. Natalie) and honestly, so are the students. Despite their physical conditions, they still have very normal, healthy, and vibrant personalities and it is wonderful watching them enjoy the lessons. It surprised me every time seeing how much effect this equestrian therapy has on the students, although I know I shouldn't be. I remember a girl of only 3 or 4 years old who came for her first lesson one day, screaming initially, but eventually calming and enjoying the ride within half an hour. Hope Springs does a fantastic job of making a healthy difference in everyone's lives. I recommend coming to volunteer (as long as you don't mind the smell, although you will eventually get used to it) or coming here for lessons.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a long-time volunteer at Hope Springs, I have seen first hand how children and adults with a wide array of disabilities can be fundamentally changed for the better through one-on-one equestrian therapy, delivered in this intimate setting by knowledgeable, caring instructors. The close bonds forged between students and staff, horses, and volunteers at this facility are truly inspiring; they compel me to contribute more and more time to this worthy endeavor where everyone pitches in to make a difference in each rider's life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching riders grow up, changing both over the years and during individual lessons. I've seen children with autism and intellectual delays interact in new ways while on horseback. I've seen teens who couldn't walk unassisted sit tall and grin from ear to ear while riding. I've seen parents watch their child's accomplishments with unmatched pride. You have to see these changes to fully appreciate their impact.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand marketing reach to help more people find out about Hope Springs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Indoor ring for winter lessons

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Personal satisfaction, new friends, learned about disabilities and horses and the impact of equine-facilitated therapy, and motivated to leave my desk chair, get outside and exercise all year long

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like just a little bit of help from me could make a real difference for someone else in need of help

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help a child or adult with disabilities benefit physically and mentally from therapeutic riding lessons Volunteer