Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 16, 2014

more

May 16, 2014

This was my second trip, march 2014, with Restore Haiti. We were a part of a team that included 6 children and 9 adults. It was a great and life changing trip. Having children as part of the team was great. The interactions they had with the Haitian kids was priceless. Our team was involved in a home construction project, daily visits to a school, serving with the daily feeding program, and just loving on the people. I was also able to see my sponsored child and give her a gift and spend some time. I saw many of the same kids from the first trip in 2013 and it was great to see progress and how they are cared for. Our team was well taken care of from the time we got picked up from the airport, to where we stayed, and to the food we ate. Coming from America, food and weather can be big roadblocks, but we were well prepared beforehand with the information that we needed and we were always looked after during the week. Seeing first hand and being part of the work they do, I highly endorse Restore Haiti, from their sponsorship program to their short term trips.
April 5, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 5, 2014

I went on my first trip with Restore Haiti in March and the impact has been life changing. When we first got there, traveling through Port-Au-Prince I was shocked at the conditions of the city - I've never seen anything like it. Traveling through the mountains to Jacmel - I kept thinking, "There are good things in Haiti, Lord show me the good things here." I have to admit I struggled with the disparity of Haiti- things were either very beautiful or very horrible. Sitting in the small cinder block church on simple wooden benches with a community of believers worshiping our Lord, I saw the beautiful things in Haiti. Meeting my sponsor kids for the first time, hugging the preschoolers everyday at playtime, greeting the kids in the feeding program with a smile and eye contact everyday~ I saw the good things in Haiti. Having kids come up and just want to touch me or hold my hand~ there are so many good things in Haiti and Restore Haiti is making it possible for anyone to be a part of all the good things the Lord is doing there~we had 6 children under the age of 12 on our team and the impact on them will last throughout their lives...and mine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 26, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2013

If you sponsor a child, most organizations send you a picture, here you can hug your child and they hug you back. This is my 6th Haiti trip and every trip I see improvement in conditions, education and attitudes. These children are precious. I am 72 years old and can still hug a child.
I have
3 in Haiti and can't wait to go back. Remember children are 25% of the worlds population and 100% of the future. God bless Restore Haiti.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

pray harder for them

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I recently participated in my first trip with Restore Haiti (Hope Restored) to Jacmel in my capacity as director of missions for our church New River Fellowship. Our church has financially supported RH for several years and in the interest of full disclosure both the founder of RH and the executive director are personal friends and members of our church. With that background I can say I was extremely impressed with the work taking place in Haiti. The school, feeding program and the home building programs are meeting tremendous needs in this community. The poverty is beyond description yet the children are being well cared for and are learning not only book knowledge but tangible life skills that will serve them for ever. Most importantly they are meeting and building relationships with people that are demonstrating the love of the Father. I know RH to be fiscally responsible and they really care for their volunteers. It is easy to see why volunteers fall in love with the people of Haiti and return time after time!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 25, 2013

I honestly had to wait until I had decompressed and processed my most recent trip to Jacmel, Haiti through Restore Haiti. This was the 3rd trip I've been on with this organization, and I am pleased to say that I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The lives of the people in the community are changing. The children are healthy, and happy. They are fed, and schooled. They are learning english. Every dollar coming into the organization is going to directly serve those who need it most. This trip impacted me so deeply. I am thankful, and grateful for organizations like Restore Haiti who do, what they say, they will do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 25, 2013

I've just returned from my third trip to Haiti .As with my other trips,I was deeply honored once again to be a part of this amazing organization and to be so warmly welcomed by the people.We alwaus accomplish so much and there is a job for everyone,regardless of your age or physical ability.And unlike some organizations,every dollar donated to Restore Haiti goes straight to helping the people in the area,whether to feed and educate the children ,build a house or a number of other thongs done to help the community.The pastors there are amazingly loving and selfless ,as are their families and staff.And ,last,bit certainly not least,are the choldren.Ive never seen such loving ,happy kids anywhere else.Grateful for the smallest things in life they cant seem to get enough hugs from us.The whole experience is so immensely gratifying and I cant encourage you enough to try a trip for uouself and to take it wigh the wonderful people of Restore Haiti.Bon jour!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would stress to the volunteers the importance of not giving gifts to the kids such as ipods,phones,etc because of the effect it has on an old culture such as theirs.The pastors know what they are doing and id stress ghe importance to each group coming,how important it is to seek counsel with Pastor LeFleur before giving anything to a child.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I have personally experienced how Hope Restored (aka Restore Haiti) is changing the lives of an entire community outside of Jacmel, Haiti. I first travelled with Restore Haiti to Jacmel in July of 2012. I have witnessed how this organization is providing sponsorship for approximately 500 children in and around Jacmel. Because of Restore Haiti, these children have an opportunity to go to school, receive hot meals and have access to basic medical care. The gratitude and love of the residents in the area is apparent everywhere. Everyone that I spoke to told me their story and how Restore Haiti was changing the future for this community.

I had the privilege of returning to Haiti with Restore Haiti again this September to assist in delivering school supplies to the children of the community. It was amazing to see the changes that had taken place in the past year. Restore Haiti had built several new homes for people previously living in substandard conditions and a new kitchen for the children in the feeding program had been completed. Their hard work and dedication to the community continues to amaze me. I look forward to continuing to support this amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a larger budget with which to work! :) There is so much work to be done in Haiti and Restore Haiti does a truly wonderful job with the resources available to them but could do so much more if they had the means.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

My first trip to Jacmel, Haiti was June 2012. This organiziation is making a difference in the lives of not only the children, but the people in Jacmel as a whole. While there I helped in the Feeding program, working with the most incredible kitchen ladies who so willingly gave their entire day to providing a meal to over 400 children. It was hard, hot work in a very small kitchen with primative tools and they did it with a smile on their faces. I also helped finish painting a house that had been built by a previous team. Getting to meet the family that would move into that house was incredible. My team and I also participated in what we called the 'One More Brick' project, where we carried concrete blocks down a very long, steep hill to a work site where a house was being built. By carrying these bricks down, we saved a great deal of money on the cost of this house. But the greatest thing I did was just love these people. They are so open in how they worship and show their love and gratitude to Jesus for all that He has provided to them- to be in their presence while they are worshiping, is to be in the presence of God. These people have very few material possessions, but the one thing they have is joy. Restore Haiti is providing much needed food, housing, medical care, schooling , clothing and the love of Jesus. This organization is run like a well oiled ship: the trip was well planned, all travel arrangements were taken care of, all housing and meals were taken care of and the day to day activites were well planned. This is a life changing experience and if you are considering an organization to sponsor, I can't think of a better one. I am definitely going back next summer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

For first timers, be a little more up front about the accomodations- they weren't exactly what I had been told. :)

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned how to carry a brick on my head (just like the Haitian women carry everything on their heads). I met many new Haitianfriends that I still keep up with.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It humbled me in a mighty way. It made me realize that gadgets and 'stuff' are not important. What is important are relationships and I came back a changed person and I have implemented many new things in my life since the trip.

September 7, 2012

more

September 7, 2012

Hope Restored (AKA Restore Haiti) provided me an opportunity to serve people living in oppressive poverty and seeing the direct, positive impact on their lives and the community they live in. Restore Haiti is an organization that has passionate and caring individuals providing the utmost level of care and prudent management of the organization. I have served on the board for two years and until I went on a trip, I could not imagin the effect this organization has on the community. I returned from a one week trip to Jacmel, Haiti on September 7, 2012 and have seen and touched the projects they said they would pursue and have successfully completed. I cannot describe with words the experience, the love or kindness that the people of Haiti showed us. This has been a blessing that can only be known by going and serving. Financial support is greatly needed, but if you are able, I emplore you...GO.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The feeding program, the life of the three siblings that I sponsor to go to school and participate in the feeding program, the homes that were built for deserving families (19 have been built as of August 2012), orphans that are parented and housed in the Restore House, the HOPE that has been restored to the many friends I have made while on my trip to Haiti. Too many to describe here...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

The founder and I became friends early in the organization's formation and I have been serving ever since.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Complete the kitchen for the feeding program. The AMAZING women that feed 475 kids daily are cooking inan 8x10 shack that I could not believe was the kitchen. The project is almost complete as I have seen it in my recent trip. Along with the kitchen is maintaining the progress and programs in place while pursuing their longer-term goals of helping families and community development.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Providing education, health and hope for the children going to school through the sponsorship program. It will take a new mindset and a new generation of bright, talented and motivated Hatians to help build on the success of Restore Haiti. I have not seen people with a more resilient and lumious spirit as those of the children in Haiti. They have all of the capabilities in the world and simply need an opportunity to pursue them. A new school, feeding facility, family style homes for orphans and parents to live in are targeted as long-range plans as well as a local bakery to provide jobs, additional nutrition and a sense of pride in the community.

September 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with this organization since 2011. In my two trips to the community they serve in Haiti I can see that a difference is being made. Because of this organization, the number of volunteers from my church who are willing to serve has grown exponentially from 4 in 2011 to 21 in 2012 and we hope to bring 30 in 2013. The resources donated are hand delivered to the community by the volunteers who travel there, so nothing is lost in administration and red tape. This is a very transparent group that I plan to support for many years.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my willingness to donate personal frequent flyer miles to assist the Haitian pastor in his fund raising travels.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I am so grateful for my own blessings and motivated to continue trying to improve the life experiences of the people of Jacmel.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers