Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.901965
Write A Review
April 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Hope of Survivors was a supportive and insightful ministry that reached out to me in a time of shock and huge life changes post abuse. I was thankful for their support, the kindness they gave, the educational seminar that was presented, and the prayerful interest in my journey of healing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 15, 2011

I was personally helped by The Hope of Survivors after being a victim of abuse in my teens. After their loving guidance and counsel, I have now served as executive assistant for over a year. The w... more

April 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is one of the best nonprofit organizations in the world. The cause they are combatting is so prevelent but is so hidden and disguised that it makes their job that much more difficult. There should be an award given for the kindness and acceptance that is shown to each victim by each and every volunteer. I was given the pleasure of meeting them and counseling with them in 2010 and my life will forever be changed and blessed by the healing that came from their counsel.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2011

I was personally helped by The Hope of Survivors after being a victim of abuse in my teens. After their loving guidance and counsel, I have now served as executive assistant for over a year.

The work that this organization is extremely critical and important. The victims that they
counsel on a daily basis have been through hardships and trials that no one else understands. THOS offers free counseling for anyone who needs it. No one is ever turned away. Their expertise in the field is backed by years of experience, with many volunteers being victims themselves.

It has been an extreme privelege to work with The Hope of Survivors on a personal and volunteer level.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own personal counseling which helped me heal from my own abuse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more volunteers to help lighten the workload.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Excited, like I was making a difference in the world

April 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I had previous knowledge of Hope of Survivors through a Pastor's Convention we had gone through. Few months later I was having a lot of family troubles with my abusive Dad, a previously fired minister. I decided to contact Hope of Survivors. I emailed and explained that my case involved no sexual abuse, however I was being emotionally abused and stalked along with my husband by my Dad.
Shortly after a volunteer attorney contacted me and helped represent me in court with restraining orders against my Dad. That was early last year. Our attorney was so attentive, he sounded more like a counselor, psychologist to me, and helped me deal and process with those issues almost better than any counselor had done for me before, in the sense of helping me put boundaries once and for all. Ever since, my Dad has left us alone, finally! Even my husband's boss is not getting harassed by Dad anymore! Yes I had to grieve the loss of relationship which was extremely hard, but I finally have peace and am not suffering from constant depression anymore. I am actually a much happier person around my husband and children.
I want to thank Hope of Survivors for coming immediately to my aid.

I have since recommended other cases, that I have come in contact with, to them, and in a short period of time, I will get a confirmation email that they have contacted the referrals and that they are currently hands-on the situation. That is always a great relief!

They are supporting and helping so many people heal from abuse and torment. They need all our help and support so that they can continue with this magnificent ministry!

Thank you Hope of Survivors!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hope of Survivors delivered me out of pastoral sexual abuse last year. They provided my family, friends, and myself with invaluable counseling and helpful materials. I was being abused for over 10 years by my pastor of a small independent church that had all power and no accountability over our little flock. Hope of Survivors helped me to see the truth, expose the truth of what was going on, and set me free from this horrible abuse. My husband and I went to a wonderful seminar last August that was so informative - giving us even legal counsel for the harassment we were receiving also.
I will always be so thankful for the courage, wisdom, and support that they have given to my life even to this day. This ministry has truly been life-changing for me and my family. All abuse is terrible but when a trusted pastor abuses a little sheep he is supposed to protect - it is so wicked. I do not know where I would be without Hope of Survivors. I have been set free due to their ministry!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Hope of Survivors has helped my tremendously through their articles, testimonials and most of all through Samantha's prompt attention to my initial letter and her counseling. I am so glad I found THOS as I am a survivor of abuse at the hands of clergy. THOS has been life changing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

The Hope of Survivors educated me and others I knew about clergy sexual abuse. As a young woman, this has made me much more careful in my interactions with men in authority over me. I am not paranoid,... more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Samantha is very prompt when responding to contact. They are genuine, warm, hospitable, and ever dedicated to this ministry. I appreciate how very knowledgeable they are in the subject of clergy sexual abuse and committed to providing quality reference material both in print and online, through social media, and in conferences they present. They increased my awareness; I now know that this does not only happen in my church, but in every church, not to mention the secular realm. It is a human problem; and they are advocating to rectify the situation. My experience with them has been only positive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Hope of Survivors educated me and others I knew about clergy sexual abuse. As a young woman, this has made me much more careful in my interactions with men in authority over me. I am not paranoid, but more aware of the dynamics which can come into play. They taught me that this kind of abuse of power and social standing does not only happen in my church, as I might first have thought, but in every church, not to mention other social settings, such as in businesses and schools. This knowledge helped preserve my faith in my church and our beliefs.

Steve and Samantha, the founders, are personal, caring, and wise in their care of victims and others affected. It always amazes me how quickly Samantha responds to email requests, and I have heard others report the same. I first came into contact with them after sexual abuse incidents left a spiritual leader disfellowshipped from our church, displaced in his career, and in legal trouble. They supported everyone involved, encouraging our church to respond Biblically to the crisis, and seeing us through the entire trying process to the end. Thank you to all the volunteers at The Hope of Survivors! We remain grateful for your invaluable support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

THOS has helped me and my husband beyond our expectations. Samantha's and Martin's compassion and dedication surpassed our immediate months of crisis. Throughout our time of crisis which was over two years ago, they were available and responsive to us, and they have remained with us as loving and ready sources of support and friends since. They are truly sincere in their efforts to provide healing and education to both survivors and perpetrators and incredibly skilled in their spiritual and counseling roles. We were fortunate in meeting Steve (co-founder) this past summer and were impressed with his noble character as well. Everyone who we have met and/or dealt with at THOS have shown utmost integrity, sincerity, professionalism, respect, consistency, and complete commitment to our well-being. I am certain that they extend these same virtues to anyone who has the fortune of coming into contact with them. There are some people of rare beauty and courage behind the name THOS, including, I am certain, their volunteers and other associates who we have not yet met. THOS deserves recognition and support for their continued efforts in confronting clergy sexual misconduct, a devastating and heinous act.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Well what can I say. Hope of Survivors has helped me and my family so much. We would be a broken family if it wasn't for Hope of Survivors. Even though I am a man was so affected by what had happened to my family. They educated me to what was real and where to put my hope. I am so greatfull for them. Hope of Survivors was the only ministry that is activly working hard to support and help those affected. from the victims to the churches to find hope and healing thank God for them kepp up the great work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 18, 2012

I felt isolated and trapped in my situation of abuse. I googled and found "The Hope of Survivors" - and became a survivor of Pastoral abuse... I have found the encouragement and support I have recei... more

November 7, 2012

THOS were there to give me moral and spiritual support when no one else understood my circumstances.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I felt isolated and trapped in my situation of abuse. I googled and found "The Hope of Survivors" - and became a survivor of Pastoral abuse... I have found the encouragement and support I have received from the Nelsons has allowed me to grow to be a happier, healthier and stronger person, and only this week I have commenced proceedings to make an official complaint about my abuser. I cannot imagine where I would be without their support and counsel over the past 18 months or so. I had no support structure here in Australia and I am very grateful to have "someone" who understands and accepts me unconditionally.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hope of Survivors was a life line to me at a time when I needed help the most. Samantha was a listening ear on so many occasions. They walked me through challenges, understood my situation, and encouraged me that things would get better. When I experienced Clergy Sexual Abuse I thought my world would end and I would not be able to function again. I knew that the one place that would always listen was only an email away. Samantha and Steve have watched me heal and grow. They wept with me and they now rejoice with me as they see God restore every bit that was stolen. Hope of the Survivors has been a light in the darkness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers