Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.901965
Write A Review
April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is utterly unique in its purpose and so responsive to the people it serves. They do everything possible both to help survivors and to create systematic change. If you email them, even with a rambling email about what you've been through, a real person responds within 12 hours. They make you feel like a person. Even when I donate, I get a personalized email from the founder asking about my family and how I'm doing. They are ambitious in their dreams, creating a new recovery center that I wish had been there when I was suffering. Every year they help anonymous thousands. I cannot recommend them enough.
March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

FEW HAVE ANY UNDERSTANDING the magnitude of SPIRITUAL SEXUAL ABUSE !
The devastation that follows having not only threatened neurological / physiological impact of a human body, but the mind and spirit after years of RELIGIOUS grooming, bonding, and associations of GOD and a charismatic man who
many refuse to believe that not only did he "groom" one but MANY [who often fear to come forward due to the repercussions and implications for that person/ 60% of sexual assaults are not reported to the police; 97% of rapists will never spend a day in jail.] This man's child found videos of multiple victims and still people wanted to excuse "affairs".

I could not have recovered (and am still in the process years after....medically, emotionally, socially, and SPIRITUALLY) but HOPE OF SURVIVORS
-educated me.
-held my hand.
-visited me.
-attended confrontations with staffs.
-provided support GROUPS and online services (24/7)
and honestly was my ONLY HOPE!
I'm so thrilled for their
I am a survivor TODAY because of Samantha and her team

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

- it breaks my heart that there is even a need for this... can we make it go away? IN LIEU OF AN EVIL THAT IS STILL PRESENT.... I would make it 5x the size and serve more. Provide victims/ survivors with financial support (no cost to clients) and expand it World Wide! EVIL ABOUNDS! we need strength to counter their impact!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 25, 2013

Because I filed a complaint against a pastor who crossed sexual boundaries, I experienced not only the trauma of abuse, but the trauma of isolation and loss of community when my church community shut ... more

March 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Early in my journey as a survivor I went to the Hope and Healing workshop in Indianapolis and Omaha. Those were life-changing experiences. It was a blessing just to be in a room with other survivors of clergy sexual misconduct. Now, with significant healing, I still stay in touch with THOS. I appreciate the helpful articles on the THOS website and facebook page. I'm very excited that they now offer retreats at a beautiful, safe location -- I know that will make a life-changing difference to many survivors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Because I filed a complaint against a pastor who crossed sexual boundaries, I experienced not only the trauma of abuse, but the trauma of isolation and loss of community when my church community shut me out. Like most survivors, I felt completely alone and utterly helpless. When I went to the Hope of Survivors' 2011 "Hope & Healing" conference, I found myself in a room full of people who understood my experience. I heard over and over, from every speaker, "This was NOT YOUR FAULT." I can't begin to describe how helpful this was! Over the next year, as that truth sank in, genuine healing happened -- and when I went to the 2012 conference, I could feel how much stronger I was.
I hope I never have to recommend The Hope of Survivors to a friend -- I hope no friend of mine ever goes through what I went through. But I would recommend it to any victim or survivor of clergy sexual abuse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Clergy sexual misconduct isolates its victims. We are misunderstood and blamed by the church, and sometimes even by our own families. Thank God for The Hope of Survivors! Because of Samantha and Steve Nelson, I know I am not alone. I have found great healing through the work of THOS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is very hard to write a review but I would be deeply negligent not to write a review! I will just say I was frantic for help and information when I sent them an email. They responded immediately with acurate helpful compassionate information which made a huge difference in my life. I will be eternally grateful for this ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

adquately fund all of their projects!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a survivor of pastoral sexual abuse and a supporter of The Hope of Survivors. No such program existed when I was a young married woman who needed counseling for marital difficulties. I told my fatherly Godly pastor that I wanted to talk to a psychologist but he insisted that I talk only with him. I had no understanding of the grooming and manipulation and sexual abuse that I experienced from my God-representative pastor. I blamed myself and lived with a lifetime of emotional and relationship scars. When I was a middle-aged woman, I happened upon The Hope of Survivors and immediately made contact. As I read the materials, the years of pain poured out in nearly uncontrollable sobs. Meeting Samantha and experiencing her loving personal approach and understanding was a very healing experience. If just one woman can be helped and protected from a predator pastor, my financial support will be worth everything I give but there are so many who need help and so many leaders who need to be educated.
March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was greatly embarrased by a pastor through him asking me intimate questions of a sexual nature, when i was on my own with him in a bible lesson when i was 16. Years later i e-mailed with The Hope Of Survivors, just to deal with this issue. Each of my e-mails were always answered immediately. I never had to wait. They were very, very helpfull to me. mustakallio

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

March 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

The Hope of Survivors reached out with an incredible amount of time, patience, and understanding when a clergy member in a mainline Protestant denomination violated pastor-parishioner boundaries with ... more

March 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I'm a survivor in a very concrete sense of the word: after being sexually assaulted, I attempted suicide. I continued in a severe, often suicidal depression that lasted over a year. My family and friends ostracized me quite a bit through this period, and so often I had literally no one I could talk to -- except for one person at the Hope of Survivors, who would sit on the phone with me sometimes for hours. He talked me through some of my darkest moments -- talked and listened, of course. The Hope of Survivors was one of a very few factors that prevented me, I think, from killing myself. This organization helped save my life.

The Hope of Survivors is particularly special because I believe it's the only one of its kind: advocacy and support for adults who have been abused by a religious leader. Being assaulted within the context of one's own religious community is an experience that requires a specific type of support. They are specialists in dealing with cases that combine religion and sexual abuse of adults. This is a unique set of expertise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Hope of Survivors reached out with an incredible amount of time, patience, and understanding when a clergy member in a mainline Protestant denomination violated pastor-parishioner boundaries with me. THOS stayed in close contact with me during an eight-month, painful disciplinary process that traumatized me more than the original alleged sexual misconduct. THOS's counselors were available, seemingly 24 hours a day -- I'd call, distraught, sometimes on weekends or at night, and always received a prompt response. They donated many hours of their time on the phone with me. They reviewed my case, wrote an endorsement letter for the church authorities, and defended me publicly against people who belittled me and other survivors of clergy sexual exploitation when the case went to the newspaper. What is special about THOS is that its leadership really understands something of the subjective, psychological experience of an adult parishioner whose boundaries are violated by a pastor. That understanding allows them to do a very specific and unique kind of counselling. As such, it is a one-of-a-kind non-profit. Surviving my case was a very tough ordeal, but THOS made it easier because its staff were very genuinely dedicated to helping me through it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It was August 2013 while I was counseling a young lady who was being groomed by her pastor that I realized the same words that were being said to this young lady were the same words that were once said to me by a young pastor in the late 90’s. It was then, that I realized the burden that I had been carrying all these years because one pastor decided to beguile me into believing God chose me for this pastor. After falling with this pastor, he turned tables on me and telling me that I was a sinner and not fit to marry him. Thankfully, I had forgiven him since because I thought I was in the wrong, but it was August 2013 and after speaking with Samantha that I understood what really happened to me and why I felt unworthy of God’s forgiveness. Since, I chose to forgive the so-called “pastor” for being a predator pastor and I asked God to forgive me for being so hard on myself. It was The Hope Of Survivors that helped me on several issues and I am thankful. So, thankful that I am now a volunteer for The Hope Of Survivors.
April 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 25, 2013

After my relationship with my pastor had gone from professional to personal I came across THOS website. The things I read on there were so helpful I can not begin to describe it. The things I read wer... more

April 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

From victim to volunteer! People from all over the world are having to turn to this vital organisation for help, because there is so little support for them locally. The Hope of Survivors is the only understanding and hope offered for some victims. We will never know how many people are not victims because of the work they do in educating Churches. I look forward to being a small part of making THOS known about and helping victims all over the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

After my relationship with my pastor had gone from professional to personal I came across THOS website. The things I read on there were so helpful I can not begin to describe it. The things I read were so accurate and after reading them I was able to really absorb what was happening to me. I was able to show the site to close friends, then my husband and my church leaders. I am in no doubt that without the help of THOS I would never have exposed what was happening to me, my husband would have struggled to gain any understanding and my friends would not have had enough knowledge to support me and my family. A predator has been removed from ministry largely because of the work of THOS. The work they do is absolutely critical and there are so few organisations out there in the world that can really help like they have myself and so many others. I am in the UK and still they were able to reach out to me from the USA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 3, 2011

I had been abused by my former "pastor" for years. When it came out, someone told me about The Hope of Survivors and I went to their website where I found an incredible amount of information t... more

April 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I had no idea that the traumatic, devastating situation that was going on in my life had a name, clergy sexual abuse, or that anyone else was going thru what I was going thru. I was dead inside, a shell of a person, ready to end it all. My husband and I had no support, outside of our therapist, until we were told about The Hope of Survivors. Their ministry gave us life changing knowledge, support, and help that we needed so badly. It is a non profit organization that there is not enough of in this world today. This ministry is vital in the lives of so many victims out there that would otherwise be alone and without any support or help of any kind. When one suffers from clergy sexual abuse, not only are you abused by your so-called spiritual leader, but you are often times ignored and further abused by what is supposed to be your church family. Most people do not fully understand clergy sexual abuse and all its implications. The Hope of Survivors is doing the hard job of not only helping and supporting victims, but trying to educate churches, communities, and all people who will listen about what CSA really is, how to avoid it, how to deal with it, how to help....and this is all just the beginning of trying to stop it altogether.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I had been abused by my former "pastor" for years. When it came out, someone told me about The Hope of Survivors and I went to their website where I found an incredible amount of information that immediately helped me and my husband begin to cope and deal with what had happened. There was so much help in the information we read and it gave us hope that we would survive this horrible thing. There was a conference coming up for victims of clergy sexual abuse and my husband and I went. My emotions were still very raw, but I met others who'd been through similar experiences and they'd survived, so I felt hope, and for once, I felt like there were people who really understood what I'd gone through and was still going through. Steve and Samantha were nothing but supportive, helpful and compassionate. My husband also found support in talking with other husbands going through similar experiences.
Until we came across The Hope of Survivors organization, we had no help, no support, no idea that there was anyone else out there that had gone through something like I'd gone through. We had no idea how widespread a problem it is of pastors abusing their power and authority for their own sexual gratification. Through The Hope of Survivors, we found just that....the hope of surviving...

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own life with the tragedy of pastoral sexual abuse. Until I learned of The Hope of Survivors, I felt all alone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

only make it more widely known and available to more people.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers