Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.901965
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Hope of Survivors has helped my tremendously through their articles, testimonials and most of all through Samantha's prompt attention to my initial letter and her counseling. I am so glad I found THOS as I am a survivor of abuse at the hands of clergy. THOS has been life changing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

The Hope of Survivors educated me and others I knew about clergy sexual abuse. As a young woman, this has made me much more careful in my interactions with men in authority over me. I am not paranoid,... more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Samantha is very prompt when responding to contact. They are genuine, warm, hospitable, and ever dedicated to this ministry. I appreciate how very knowledgeable they are in the subject of clergy sexual abuse and committed to providing quality reference material both in print and online, through social media, and in conferences they present. They increased my awareness; I now know that this does not only happen in my church, but in every church, not to mention the secular realm. It is a human problem; and they are advocating to rectify the situation. My experience with them has been only positive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Hope of Survivors educated me and others I knew about clergy sexual abuse. As a young woman, this has made me much more careful in my interactions with men in authority over me. I am not paranoid, but more aware of the dynamics which can come into play. They taught me that this kind of abuse of power and social standing does not only happen in my church, as I might first have thought, but in every church, not to mention other social settings, such as in businesses and schools. This knowledge helped preserve my faith in my church and our beliefs.

Steve and Samantha, the founders, are personal, caring, and wise in their care of victims and others affected. It always amazes me how quickly Samantha responds to email requests, and I have heard others report the same. I first came into contact with them after sexual abuse incidents left a spiritual leader disfellowshipped from our church, displaced in his career, and in legal trouble. They supported everyone involved, encouraging our church to respond Biblically to the crisis, and seeing us through the entire trying process to the end. Thank you to all the volunteers at The Hope of Survivors! We remain grateful for your invaluable support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a member of the clergy when I first heard about this ministry was skeptical. It felt like they were out to damage the reputation of clergy. After many conversations with Steve Nelson i finally decided to give the ministry a chance. When they were working on translating information about the ministry in spanish I volunteer to help. Through this experience I learned about their story, what let tgem to engage in this ministry and the journey of healing that GOD had let them through before thy were in a place where they can help any other victim of clergy abuse. It was as I learned their stoy and joirney and eard from people that the ministry had helped that I became convinced that GOD is leading their ministry and enabling it to be a source of hope, peace, and companion on a joirney back to GOD to victims of clergy abuse.

Pr. José L. Medina Jr.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

THOS has helped me and my husband beyond our expectations. Samantha's and Martin's compassion and dedication surpassed our immediate months of crisis. Throughout our time of crisis which was over two years ago, they were available and responsive to us, and they have remained with us as loving and ready sources of support and friends since. They are truly sincere in their efforts to provide healing and education to both survivors and perpetrators and incredibly skilled in their spiritual and counseling roles. We were fortunate in meeting Steve (co-founder) this past summer and were impressed with his noble character as well. Everyone who we have met and/or dealt with at THOS have shown utmost integrity, sincerity, professionalism, respect, consistency, and complete commitment to our well-being. I am certain that they extend these same virtues to anyone who has the fortune of coming into contact with them. There are some people of rare beauty and courage behind the name THOS, including, I am certain, their volunteers and other associates who we have not yet met. THOS deserves recognition and support for their continued efforts in confronting clergy sexual misconduct, a devastating and heinous act.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Well what can I say. Hope of Survivors has helped me and my family so much. We would be a broken family if it wasn't for Hope of Survivors. Even though I am a man was so affected by what had happened to my family. They educated me to what was real and where to put my hope. I am so greatfull for them. Hope of Survivors was the only ministry that is activly working hard to support and help those affected. from the victims to the churches to find hope and healing thank God for them kepp up the great work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 18, 2012

I felt isolated and trapped in my situation of abuse. I googled and found "The Hope of Survivors" - and became a survivor of Pastoral abuse... I have found the encouragement and support I have recei... more

November 7, 2012

THOS were there to give me moral and spiritual support when no one else understood my circumstances.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I felt isolated and trapped in my situation of abuse. I googled and found "The Hope of Survivors" - and became a survivor of Pastoral abuse... I have found the encouragement and support I have received from the Nelsons has allowed me to grow to be a happier, healthier and stronger person, and only this week I have commenced proceedings to make an official complaint about my abuser. I cannot imagine where I would be without their support and counsel over the past 18 months or so. I had no support structure here in Australia and I am very grateful to have "someone" who understands and accepts me unconditionally.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having been sexually abused by my youth pastor at age 16 and waiting over thirty years to finally confront him for his actions against me, it was The Hope of Surviors who was able to help me to continue in my journey of healing. Having been sexually abused by someone you have such trust and in a place where one should feel the safest, the church leaves a hurt and confusion so profound finding one's way back seems impossible. It was through the Hope of Surviors I found understanding and support to guide me and allow healing to begin. The Hope of Surviors is exactly as they describe themselves...."A ministry of compassion, support, hope and encouragement."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 23, 2011

It was good to have available professional help with the situations people face when they become victims of the clergy sexual or emotional abuse. I know few people that were glad to find Hope of Survi... more

November 4, 2012

I appreciate "Hope for Survivors" for covering a special territory that has to do with human dignity. Setting no geographical, social, cultural or denominational limits, makes this ministry even more powerful. The healing process in the life of those who experienced abuses from the spiritual leaders, is not an easy one and ministries like "Hope of Survivors"are needed to bring hope in the life of the victims. Please, continue to ministry for those in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

It was good to have available professional help with the situations people face when they become victims of the clergy sexual or emotional abuse.
I know few people that were glad to find Hope of Survivors organization and to receive the appropriate help for their specifically needs.
Unfortunately there are not many organization offering a trusting and holistic type of help like Hope of Survivors does. I hope that others will copy their example.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Promoting their ministry into the society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open a TV channel with their ministry.

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work in mental health. I was not a victim of clergy abuse, but my dad abused me sexually. I am Samantha's mother and I am so very proud of the work she and Steve are doing. Please don't discount my review just because I'm related to Samantha and Steve. I truly believe they are doing great work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hope of Survivors was a life line to me at a time when I needed help the most. Samantha was a listening ear on so many occasions. They walked me through challenges, understood my situation, and encouraged me that things would get better. When I experienced Clergy Sexual Abuse I thought my world would end and I would not be able to function again. I knew that the one place that would always listen was only an email away. Samantha and Steve have watched me heal and grow. They wept with me and they now rejoice with me as they see God restore every bit that was stolen. Hope of the Survivors has been a light in the darkness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers