Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
101 Reviews
1234.900995
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is utterly unique in its purpose and so responsive to the people it serves. They do everything possible both to help survivors and to create systematic change. If you email them, even with a rambling email about what you've been through, a real person responds within 12 hours. They make you feel like a person. Even when I donate, I get a personalized email from the founder asking about my family and how I'm doing. They are ambitious in their dreams, creating a new recovery center that I wish had been there when I was suffering. Every year they help anonymous thousands. I cannot recommend them enough.
March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

FEW HAVE ANY UNDERSTANDING the magnitude of SPIRITUAL SEXUAL ABUSE !
The devastation that follows having not only threatened neurological / physiological impact of a human body, but the mind and spirit after years of RELIGIOUS grooming, bonding, and associations of GOD and a charismatic man who
many refuse to believe that not only did he "groom" one but MANY [who often fear to come forward due to the repercussions and implications for that person/ 60% of sexual assaults are not reported to the police; 97% of rapists will never spend a day in jail.] This man's child found videos of multiple victims and still people wanted to excuse "affairs".

I could not have recovered (and am still in the process years after....medically, emotionally, socially, and SPIRITUALLY) but HOPE OF SURVIVORS
-educated me.
-held my hand.
-visited me.
-attended confrontations with staffs.
-provided support GROUPS and online services (24/7)
and honestly was my ONLY HOPE!
I'm so thrilled for their
I am a survivor TODAY because of Samantha and her team

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

- it breaks my heart that there is even a need for this... can we make it go away? IN LIEU OF AN EVIL THAT IS STILL PRESENT.... I would make it 5x the size and serve more. Provide victims/ survivors with financial support (no cost to clients) and expand it World Wide! EVIL ABOUNDS! we need strength to counter their impact!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When I emailed the co-founder of The Hope of Survivors, she called me and prayed with me and listened to my story. I am a survivor of childhood sexual abuse at the hands of a pastor. I found the HOPE of SURVIVORS website when I was doing research for my screenplay about a survivor of clergy abuse and I am so grateful for the helpful articles, videos and booklets The Hope of Survivors provide on their website. I look forward to attending their retreat in Iowa and working with them to help survivors of clergy abuse around the world.
March 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 25, 2013

Because I filed a complaint against a pastor who crossed sexual boundaries, I experienced not only the trauma of abuse, but the trauma of isolation and loss of community when my church community shut ... more

March 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Early in my journey as a survivor I went to the Hope and Healing workshop in Indianapolis and Omaha. Those were life-changing experiences. It was a blessing just to be in a room with other survivors of clergy sexual misconduct. Now, with significant healing, I still stay in touch with THOS. I appreciate the helpful articles on the THOS website and facebook page. I'm very excited that they now offer retreats at a beautiful, safe location -- I know that will make a life-changing difference to many survivors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Because I filed a complaint against a pastor who crossed sexual boundaries, I experienced not only the trauma of abuse, but the trauma of isolation and loss of community when my church community shut me out. Like most survivors, I felt completely alone and utterly helpless. When I went to the Hope of Survivors' 2011 "Hope & Healing" conference, I found myself in a room full of people who understood my experience. I heard over and over, from every speaker, "This was NOT YOUR FAULT." I can't begin to describe how helpful this was! Over the next year, as that truth sank in, genuine healing happened -- and when I went to the 2012 conference, I could feel how much stronger I was.
I hope I never have to recommend The Hope of Survivors to a friend -- I hope no friend of mine ever goes through what I went through. But I would recommend it to any victim or survivor of clergy sexual abuse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Clergy sexual misconduct isolates its victims. We are misunderstood and blamed by the church, and sometimes even by our own families. Thank God for The Hope of Survivors! Because of Samantha and Steve Nelson, I know I am not alone. I have found great healing through the work of THOS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 6, 2011

During a recent search for a support group for women who were involved in a pastoral 'affair,' I found The Hope of Survivors. The information, support, and encouragement they offer brought me hope an... more

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Hope of Survivors (THOS) offers a wealth of information on Clergy Sexual Abuse that provides hope, healing, and support to all victims. Their goal is to inform the church that a relationship between clergy and a congregant is NOT an affair; it is abuse. This truth brings much healing to those abused by their church leaders. THOS has been instrumental in my healing process and has given me strength to become a volunteer and to help others understand the dangers and dynamics of CSA. If every church leader and member became more aware of CSA, prevention would follow. THOS is vital to reaching this goal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 6, 2011

During a recent search for a support group for women who were involved in a pastoral 'affair,' I found The Hope of Survivors. The information, support, and encouragement they offer brought me hope and healing. I learned the truth about the imbalance of power and although I was responsible for my actions, the greater responsibility falls on the pastor/shepherd whose role is to guide, protect, and help his flock. I was able to read numerous survivor stories that were all too familiar with my own and found hope from those who overcame the damaging effects of being abused. THOS is a safe place to communicate with other survivors in a world that does not yet understand the dynamics of pastoral abuse. THOS is a voice for those silenced by shame. THOS is a refuge of healing for the wounded soul. THOS offers hope to victims and their families who have been pursued, used, and abused by men whose responsibility is to protect.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving information and support (articles, personal stories, DVD, one-on-one counsel via email) on the dynamics and truth of pastoral abuse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to increase funding to promote to a wider audience.

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 9, 2013

I have worked with Steve and Samantha and so appreciate their professionalism and their willingness to think above and beyond so that they can help the greatest number of peple. They are trying so har... more

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Actually I am no longer a board member but because of time, not interest. Since I have resigned I have been so pleased with the interaction with Hope of Survivors and the continued outreach and programs THOS has been making. I am firmly a supporter both with prayers and funds. I pray that many may continue to be blessed.
April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Steve and Samantha and so appreciate their professionalism and their willingness to think above and beyond so that they can help the greatest number of peple. They are trying so hard to raise money so that they can get the message of help and healing out to more people. As a former board member, I have seen them working with individual victims to help them find peace and wholeness. It has not always been easy, but they have persisted; I appreciate that they seek advice as well. It is my prayer that they will be able to continue in a unique ministry!

In my professonal work I have also been able to use some of their resources, and that has been helpful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I first became acquainted with the Hope of Survivors when researching information on clergy abuse. I found their material very helpful. I have also found them caring, prompt, and thorough in their responses and help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am, and I believe in what they are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a constant source of funding

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is very hard to write a review but I would be deeply negligent not to write a review! I will just say I was frantic for help and information when I sent them an email. They responded immediately with acurate helpful compassionate information which made a huge difference in my life. I will be eternally grateful for this ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

adquately fund all of their projects!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a survivor of pastoral sexual abuse and a supporter of The Hope of Survivors. No such program existed when I was a young married woman who needed counseling for marital difficulties. I told my fatherly Godly pastor that I wanted to talk to a psychologist but he insisted that I talk only with him. I had no understanding of the grooming and manipulation and sexual abuse that I experienced from my God-representative pastor. I blamed myself and lived with a lifetime of emotional and relationship scars. When I was a middle-aged woman, I happened upon The Hope of Survivors and immediately made contact. As I read the materials, the years of pain poured out in nearly uncontrollable sobs. Meeting Samantha and experiencing her loving personal approach and understanding was a very healing experience. If just one woman can be helped and protected from a predator pastor, my financial support will be worth everything I give but there are so many who need help and so many leaders who need to be educated.
March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was greatly embarrased by a pastor through him asking me intimate questions of a sexual nature, when i was on my own with him in a bible lesson when i was 16. Years later i e-mailed with The Hope Of Survivors, just to deal with this issue. Each of my e-mails were always answered immediately. I never had to wait. They were very, very helpfull to me. mustakallio

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

March 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

The Hope of Survivors reached out with an incredible amount of time, patience, and understanding when a clergy member in a mainline Protestant denomination violated pastor-parishioner boundaries with ... more

March 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I'm a survivor in a very concrete sense of the word: after being sexually assaulted, I attempted suicide. I continued in a severe, often suicidal depression that lasted over a year. My family and friends ostracized me quite a bit through this period, and so often I had literally no one I could talk to -- except for one person at the Hope of Survivors, who would sit on the phone with me sometimes for hours. He talked me through some of my darkest moments -- talked and listened, of course. The Hope of Survivors was one of a very few factors that prevented me, I think, from killing myself. This organization helped save my life.

The Hope of Survivors is particularly special because I believe it's the only one of its kind: advocacy and support for adults who have been abused by a religious leader. Being assaulted within the context of one's own religious community is an experience that requires a specific type of support. They are specialists in dealing with cases that combine religion and sexual abuse of adults. This is a unique set of expertise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Hope of Survivors reached out with an incredible amount of time, patience, and understanding when a clergy member in a mainline Protestant denomination violated pastor-parishioner boundaries with me. THOS stayed in close contact with me during an eight-month, painful disciplinary process that traumatized me more than the original alleged sexual misconduct. THOS's counselors were available, seemingly 24 hours a day -- I'd call, distraught, sometimes on weekends or at night, and always received a prompt response. They donated many hours of their time on the phone with me. They reviewed my case, wrote an endorsement letter for the church authorities, and defended me publicly against people who belittled me and other survivors of clergy sexual exploitation when the case went to the newspaper. What is special about THOS is that its leadership really understands something of the subjective, psychological experience of an adult parishioner whose boundaries are violated by a pastor. That understanding allows them to do a very specific and unique kind of counselling. As such, it is a one-of-a-kind non-profit. Surviving my case was a very tough ordeal, but THOS made it easier because its staff were very genuinely dedicated to helping me through it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers