Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.742865
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013


The staff members of Hope House are dedicated and qualified volunteers who consistently serve the clients with respect and care. Mary Etheart, Executive director is amazing and she has surrounded herself with strong staff, informed and active board members and numerous individual and
organization volunteers. Our University sends service learning students to serve at Hope house and the students learn so much while assisting staff. It is an education for all!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase Hope House’s size and services. One of the judges who works with Hope House in Allen County reports that she needs about three times the facilities and services available in order to arrange for the types of diversion programs she would like to have for women coming through her court.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

I worked as an intern for 7 months. I grew and changed along with the women that Hope House Services. I watched the broken hearten and hopeless women come back to life. I watch the emptiness in their eyes change; into hope and happiness. As I watched the women confront their issues it also taught me to confront mine. To see the face of a woman when she can hold her baby again and be clean when she does is amazing. The staff was wonderful and willing to embrace anyone that that walked through the door. You truly feel like you belong. Words alone can not describe what the Hope House gives to women everyday. It truly is a House of Hope. I will be forever grateful that I was permitted to experience life through the eyes of the Hope House.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Hope House is a great place to get help if you struggle with substance abuse. It takes a holistic approach and caters each treatment plan to meet individual needs. Hope House prepares their clients for life in the outside world. I volunteered at Hope House for an internship for school. I learned so much while volunteering at Hope House and I really enjoyed getting to know the women that lived and worked there. The enviornment is warm and welcoming. I would highly reccomend Hope House to anyone woman struggling with substance abuse.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

I was a counseling intern at Hope House for about 15 weeks, providing group and individual counseling to the residents. I was amazed by the dedication of the staff to the clients, providing resources, a listening ear, and "tough love" when necessary. The clients told me often how much they appreciated the staff. As a student, I was so thankful for the supervision and advice given to me by the staff. I felt free to grow and try new things while interning there. Most importantly, I saw first-hand how the lives of the women are dramatically changed by going through this program. The program has so much to offer their clients, including groups, volunteer hours, and daily plans to help organize. The women are not only supported by staff, but also by each other. I often left from interning extremely excited to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

I started my helping career at Hope House. The Hope House staff taught me many case management and counseling skills. Hope House is a great place for women to take their life back and get back on track! ~Heidi S.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

The staff is amazing at their jobs. They are so willing to help you to help the residents. They know what the residents need are willing to help them get there. They are loving enough to push when the residents need to be pushed and supportive enough to support them when they need it as well. They have such a well balanced approach to addiction. They give just the right amount of healthy support and corrective direction in order for the most effective change to happen. Staff is welcoming to anyone who volunteers there. They make you feel right at home which in turn helps you connect with the residents. The executive director is outstanding at what she does. She is very adapt at explaining the actions and behaviors of the residents and the overall addiction process.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2011

more

February 21, 2011

Hope House has an excellent reputation as a local service provider for women working through addictions. I have volunteered on a few projects with Hope House staff. I am continually impressed with the combination of compassion and structure that Hope House provides to women in need. Thank you for providing this great service to our community!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have worked as a volunteer and seen the dedication of the Director and the staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give Hope House more funding!

February 17, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 17, 2011

I think Hope House has such great results because they educate the women. Many facilities give shelter, but with out giving them the tools how to change there is little results. I was surprised with all the rules, but it help the women with dicipline and direction for when they live on their own. It is important to have the structure that they have not had for a long time in their lives. It teaches them to be responsible for their actions and how to work as a team and care for others. I was pleased to see their faith, friendship, and support of each other.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I attened the "graduation" of several of the women who I saw when they 1st entered the house. They were different womenn as they stood with their heads high. They should be very proud of themselves. I pray for continued success for them and all who enter Hope House.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more required alternative education such as self esteem, money management, employment direction... I believe some of this is offered, but not all the women take advantage of the extra education.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I hope the ladies got as much out of much out of me as I did them. Their strength was encouraging.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Proud to know these women.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers