Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.638895
Write A Review
November 9, 2014

more

November 9, 2014

We always try and donate what we don't want for others in need. One day hope house came to pick up like 3 bags of clothing we left outside with a note saying "hope house" they felt the need to look for more bags around my house and take that to which was NOT okay . My father travels a lot for work and left a bag of his clothes near the back door,not the same kind of bag the donation clothes were in, and hope house took all of his work clothes and even took his LUNCH BAG. If we leave clothes for you guys specifically with a sign on it saying hope house why take anything near by? After noticing his stuff was gone I tried calling day after day after day with no luck reaching a human being. Never donating to them again stay out of our property we will donate to a more professional donation.
June 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

Hope House has saved my families life they helped two of my daughters learn how to get off of drugs they were addicted for five years and made me and my husbands life miserable and broken hearted. We... more

June 17, 2013

Another year of supporting Hope House has been the best thing my husband and I have done these are some very amazing people what they do cannot be easy at all. Hope House was our family's savior and helping my family get back on the right track and heal many wounds. It has been over a year and half ago since my 2 daughters were there and they are still living a clean life both have graduated from college this year something I thought we would never see, they have become very successful in there jobs as well. This organization has taught them how to live normal lives and clean one as well I know I cannot even come close to expressing my words for this organization. Thank you Hope House for giving back the girls I raised love all of you guys!

Carrie Gumbiner

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

Hope House has saved my families life they helped two of my daughters learn how to get off of drugs they were addicted for five years and made me and my husbands life miserable and broken hearted. We came to the point that we knew we needed to kick them out of our house cause we were doing them no good just enabling. Thank god for Hope House cause no parent wants there girls on the streets especially in the condition they were in at that time but Hope House did take them in and taught them how to live again and that life is much better than being addicted to something you need to have everyday. They taught them how to become responsible adults and how to take care of themselves but best of all they taught them that they have self worth and that they are good people. But most of all they also helped me as a parent to start saying NO to my girls and that it would get easier to say the NO word to them. Also the support they gave me and my husband I could call about anytime and they would talk with me and counsel me as well with what I should be doing to make my girls recovery more successful. I love there staff so much this place is AWSOME to me!! Thanks Hope House for giving me Hope as well. Ken & Carrie Gumbiner

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

This organization is well run with a strong leader who has a strong sense of vision. She does an excellent job identifying resources needed to accomplish the vision and then follows through extremely well. We feel like our grants to this organization achieve what was promised in the proposal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

The Hope House has changed the lives of many women.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

Great organization that helps women get back on their feet and remove themselves from poor environments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

Hope House is one of those rare gems that far exceeds expectations both for the clients it serves as well as our community. During a recent tour, one of the residents described in enthusiastic detail how Hope House has impacted her life for the better. I was also honored to attend the graduation ceremony and to hear the personal stories of courageous women who have overcome the odds to succeed in this important phase of their life. The counselors' encouragement and the programs offered to the women at Hope House provide valuable resources with life-changing results. Thank you Hope House!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013


The staff members of Hope House are dedicated and qualified volunteers who consistently serve the clients with respect and care. Mary Etheart, Executive director is amazing and she has surrounded herself with strong staff, informed and active board members and numerous individual and
organization volunteers. Our University sends service learning students to serve at Hope house and the students learn so much while assisting staff. It is an education for all!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase Hope House’s size and services. One of the judges who works with Hope House in Allen County reports that she needs about three times the facilities and services available in order to arrange for the types of diversion programs she would like to have for women coming through her court.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I review grant applications and monitor subrecipients of grants in the area of homelessness. Also I collaborate and meet with local agencies to develop and be part of programs that offer solutions to reduce homelessness.

Hope House is a top achiever in my field. I am constantly reminded
of their professionalism when I receive documentation that is complete and accurate. The management is leading the conversation in the community and sharing expertise to eliminate barriers to employment not just for their clients, but with all the community in mind.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If they received funds, they could renovate their site for better accessibility of those with disabilities. This may not be achieved at their current locations as the home units are dated.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I have worked with the staff of the Hope House for many years. They are committed to working with the women that they serve and extremely knowlegable about their needs a well. I have seen many innovations over the years, one of which it the Beads that help women develop skills that they can use when they have learned to live a drug free lifestyle and no longer require the intensive support of the Hope House.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

Hope House's director has been a key partner for the greater Fort Wayne community as the non-profit sector, United Way, City of Fort Wayne and others have worked diligently to establish and maintain and effective system of care for our area. Hope House's programs are effective and show great promise for setting the standard for how to promote independence among those populations who need the hand up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand the scale of its services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers