Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
157 Reviews
1234.980895
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
January 23, 2013

When we thought that all hope was lost here comes Hope for the Warriors (Mirka Young) what can we say but amazing amazing amazing! My husband is a wounded soldier who is terminally ill after serving 2 tours of duty in Balad, Iraq. Mirka Young went over and beyond to make my soldiers life comfortable so that he could enjoy doing what he loves best. Every time we see his wish it brings us to tears. Remember that dreams do come true because of Organizations such as Hope for the Warriors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2013

I wanted to let everyone know about Hope for the Warriors (if you don’t know about them yet). I have had been involved with MANY Non-Profit Veteran Organizations since my discharge but I must say that I have never experienced a more personable and family oriented organization than Hope for the Warriors. I was introduced to Hope for the Warriors in their earliest days when they just started. I had noticed the above and beyond attention they gave my family and I then but I thought maybe it was because they had just started. I was wrong. Now, years later they still call me and check on my family and me, I still receive Holiday cards, and they have never forgotten me. I don’t know how they manage to remember the details of each veteran they help especially with how big they have become. I believe that they must have someone in their staff that is a great judge of character because they seem to hire people that are so selfless and caring. Thank you so much Hope for the Warriors and all the great staff! You have helped me and my family more than you can imagine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013

A mother’s worst nightmare confronted me on June 10, 2010, when two Marines came to my door. They gave my husband and I the dreaded news: “Your son has been killed in Afghanistan.” Our son, Sgt. Brandon Bury, was on his third deployment in a combat zone, and although we knew his mission put him in danger, we believed he would return home safely. We were in shock to learn that he would not.

Soon after, one of my best friends came by, and asked, “What do you need?” At that point I didn’t know. She immediately called her daughter-in-law, Amber Johnson, a Critical Care Coordinator for Hope for the Warriors. Within minutes, the phone was ringing, and Hope for the Warriors came to my rescue.

Our family situation offered logistical challenges. I live in Texas, Brandon’s wife and two young sons in California and my extended family is scattered across Ohio. Services were going to be held in California and Texas. Without hesitation, Hope for the Warriors offered assistance with travel arrangements, sage advice and continued emotional support.

I also had the privilege of witnessing firsthand the benefits that Hope for the Warriors provides to injured veterans. The group hosted a weekend of fun in Tyler, TX, that concluded with a dinner tribute for their sacrifices. I will never forget seeing the faces of the proud young men and women as they strolled by our table. These individuals knew their sacrifices were appreciated by so many. Hope For The Warriors® understands the challenges, pride, and joy of being a military family, and it is committed to restoring a sense of self for wounded vets, fallen heroes and their families. Everyone I have met in the organization is honorable, passionate and committed about their mission.

My son’s family and friends were so moved by the organization and its commitment to help others that they searched for a way to honor our heroes and donate to this fine organization. A Golf Tournament was organized in Kingwood, Texas, www.kingwoodfallenheroes.com, by one of my son’s best friends, Scott Mitchell. Last year was the first annual tournament, and it raised $60,000 for a number of charities, including Hope For The Warriors®. The second annual tournament is scheduled for April 27, 2013. Organizers are hoping to shatter last year’s amount and donate the proceeds to this worthwhile organization.

Semper Fi,
Terri Bury, Mother of Sgt. Brandon Bury, USMC

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2013

I am an Iraqi disabled veteran. "HOPE FOR THE WARRIORS" (H4W) has been instrumental in promoting my physical well being again. They donated a bike to me which I am training on in order to particpate in the "Warrior Games, 2013." "HOPE FOR THE WARRIORS" offers disabled veterans a host of opportunities for bike riding to running the Marine Corp Marathon. They are run by an exceptional group of people and the one of the greatest things about H4W is that they are family oriented. "HOPE FOR THE WARRIORS" is by far one of the "BEST" organizations I have been involverd with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2013

Our son served as a Marine in Afghanistan in 2010-2011. When he returned we knew that something had changed in him - while we expected this to some degree, we had no idea at the time how drastic the change would be. As the one year anniversary of his return approached, it was clear that he was suffering with PTSD and he was not getting better - in fact, he was getting worse. Normally outgoing, sensitive, with a great sense of humor - he was increasingly withdrawn, depressed and had started drinking heavily along with smoking pot - not normal behavior for him. Over this year we (along with our son) became increasingly frustrated with the lack of response and proper care from the Marines. As this crisis finally reached a breaking point, our son was admitted to Holliswood hospital in summer 2012. It was there that we first met a small group of people who specialized in treating PTSD in combat veterans - and we started to learn much more about PTSD. It was the first time that we became aware of Hope for the Warriors. It was also the first time in over 1 year since our son's return that we encountered people who seemed to genuinely care for our son - and whose work and purpose was to help him - and to help us as his family. It started with an offer of a hotel room and transportation - completely paid for. This extended into seemingly small things, such as offers for dinner and spa for our daughter-in-law (who of course was struggling along with us as she watched her husband - our son - suffering with PTSD). We were somewhat overwhelmed and humbled by this generosity. It is difficult to express the sense of relief that we felt as we realized that there were people (outside of our family) who cared about our son and about what we were experiencing as a family - and who were actually doing something about it - working to reach out to us, offering to pay for hotel so that we could visit our son over a number of days, offering to pay for dinners and activities during that time, providing funds to help pay transportation costs, etc. These may seem like "small" things, but they are much more than just a "free" room and meal - Hope for the Warriors conveyed a sense of genuine caring that we had not experienced before - and not just for our family - we saw them reaching out to other families who were experiencing the same struggles that we were - allowing us to realize more concretely that we were not alone in this. The impact of their efforts cannot be overstated. It really is difficult to express our gratitude for the work that Hope for the Warriors is doing -- we have experienced it first hand as a family - and we know that there are many other families who have been blessed by their work - just as we have been.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2013

Hope for the Warriors is an outstanding organization! Not only do most of their funds go to Servicemembers (unlike the Wounded Warrior Project with high administrative costs and overhead (like dozens of expensive actor-filled commercials and fancy mailings)), but they truly benefit SERVICEMEMBERS. Few organizations have the interest of their clients at the forefront of all they do -- Hope for the Warriors is one of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

Hope for the Warriors is one of the few organizations that actively reached out and found me. They sponsored a trip for wounded warriors and veterans to escape their everyday reality. I was able to take a trip to Conneticut and enjoy recreational activities without once having to worry about paying my way or funding something. It was great to connect with fellow veterans and i cannot thank this organization enough for this tremendous opportunity. If only there could be more organizations like this one service members would know that their service was not in vain, that there are people and organizations out there that want to see them do well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

This is one of the best organizations out there for U.S. service members who may be in need of some serious help. The people at Hope for the Warriors are unique, caring, knowledgeable and the work they do is incredibly valuable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I am a young Veteran who had hope to see my family again after all that I've been through in the Service. I was transitioning into the civilian life alone, and let me tell you it wasn't easy. There were times I wanted to give up and break down. It made me miss my family even more. My family is all I had to keep me strong, but being so far away from them didn't give me the strength to pull through. I couldn't afford a ticket to go home to see me family when I needed to.But recently I went home to American Samoa to reunite with my family and be a part of my brothers wedding which was a special and memorable event. Thanks to Jessica Hower and the rest of the "Hope for the Warriors" staff members for making it possible for me to see my family and be able to attend my brothers wedding. The trip was very much needed especially during a really rough time in my life when I needed my family the most. HFTW make a real difference in the lives of all service members and their families. Being with my family made me gain strength and gave me hope to get through life. It was part of a good healing process not only for me but also for my family. I can't thank them enough for their help. They also helped with my rent when I got back from my trip because of the days I took off work to go home. For the first time in a long time, I've never had to worry about anything but to just enjoy the company and comfort of my family. I feel really blessed with all the help that this organization has done for me. God Bless all the HFTW staff members and may they receive all the blessings that they truly deserve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

I was recently honored to attend a Sailing Clinic sponsored by Hope for the Warriors. Ronnie, Don and Walt, along with a host of amazing volunteers, put together one of the most influential weeks of my life. Being introduced to the sailing community in grand style (sailing with 1-1 instruction, watching the America's Cup World Series Regatta from a racing yacht in the San Francisco Bay, accepting the hospitality of Team Oracle) was an experience not to be forgotten. More importantly, being introduced to a sport which seems to have been created to treat PTSD and even out the competitive playing field for almost any disability was inspirational. The clinic was well-organized, yet flexible to accommodate each individual's challenges. Outside activities, including visiting Redwoods, were enjoyed by all and nothing felt like mandatory fun. More important than every good thing I could say about the clinic and how much it benefitted me, the people involved were the absolute salt of the earth. Ronnie Simpson's passion for sailing is only rivaled by his desire to share it with disabled veterans. Don Gray, father to the group, shared his lessons learned as a Vietnam Veteran while keeping the clinic on schedule. Walt Kotecki is one of the most compassionate guys I've ever come across. All the volunteers at BAADS (Bay Area Association of Disabled Sailors) and the sailing instructors showed us nothing but love the entire Clinic. Amazing job by all. Finally, the most inspirational part of my week was spending time with the other participants. The camaraderie and brotherhood that we lose when we transition out of the military is found in the veteran community and organizations like Hope for the Warriors allow us to tap into that source of strength and support. I can't thank you all enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at a Run For The Warriors® Event.Join Team Hope For The Warriors® and raise funds while training for a race.Volunteer in one of our offices with administrative work.