Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
143 Reviews
1234.979025
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
January 21, 2013

Our son served as a Marine in Afghanistan in 2010-2011. When he returned we knew that something had changed in him - while we expected this to some degree, we had no idea at the time how drastic the change would be. As the one year anniversary of his return approached, it was clear that he was suffering with PTSD and he was not getting better - in fact, he was getting worse. Normally outgoing, sensitive, with a great sense of humor - he was increasingly withdrawn, depressed and had started drinking heavily along with smoking pot - not normal behavior for him. Over this year we (along with our son) became increasingly frustrated with the lack of response and proper care from the Marines. As this crisis finally reached a breaking point, our son was admitted to Holliswood hospital in summer 2012. It was there that we first met a small group of people who specialized in treating PTSD in combat veterans - and we started to learn much more about PTSD. It was the first time that we became aware of Hope for the Warriors. It was also the first time in over 1 year since our son's return that we encountered people who seemed to genuinely care for our son - and whose work and purpose was to help him - and to help us as his family. It started with an offer of a hotel room and transportation - completely paid for. This extended into seemingly small things, such as offers for dinner and spa for our daughter-in-law (who of course was struggling along with us as she watched her husband - our son - suffering with PTSD). We were somewhat overwhelmed and humbled by this generosity. It is difficult to express the sense of relief that we felt as we realized that there were people (outside of our family) who cared about our son and about what we were experiencing as a family - and who were actually doing something about it - working to reach out to us, offering to pay for hotel so that we could visit our son over a number of days, offering to pay for dinners and activities during that time, providing funds to help pay transportation costs, etc. These may seem like "small" things, but they are much more than just a "free" room and meal - Hope for the Warriors conveyed a sense of genuine caring that we had not experienced before - and not just for our family - we saw them reaching out to other families who were experiencing the same struggles that we were - allowing us to realize more concretely that we were not alone in this. The impact of their efforts cannot be overstated. It really is difficult to express our gratitude for the work that Hope for the Warriors is doing -- we have experienced it first hand as a family - and we know that there are many other families who have been blessed by their work - just as we have been.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2013

Hope for the Warriors is an outstanding organization! Not only do most of their funds go to Servicemembers (unlike the Wounded Warrior Project with high administrative costs and overhead (like dozens of expensive actor-filled commercials and fancy mailings)), but they truly benefit SERVICEMEMBERS. Few organizations have the interest of their clients at the forefront of all they do -- Hope for the Warriors is one of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

Hope for the Warriors is one of the few organizations that actively reached out and found me. They sponsored a trip for wounded warriors and veterans to escape their everyday reality. I was able to take a trip to Conneticut and enjoy recreational activities without once having to worry about paying my way or funding something. It was great to connect with fellow veterans and i cannot thank this organization enough for this tremendous opportunity. If only there could be more organizations like this one service members would know that their service was not in vain, that there are people and organizations out there that want to see them do well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

This is one of the best organizations out there for U.S. service members who may be in need of some serious help. The people at Hope for the Warriors are unique, caring, knowledgeable and the work they do is incredibly valuable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I am a young Veteran who had hope to see my family again after all that I've been through in the Service. I was transitioning into the civilian life alone, and let me tell you it wasn't easy. There were times I wanted to give up and break down. It made me miss my family even more. My family is all I had to keep me strong, but being so far away from them didn't give me the strength to pull through. I couldn't afford a ticket to go home to see me family when I needed to.But recently I went home to American Samoa to reunite with my family and be a part of my brothers wedding which was a special and memorable event. Thanks to Jessica Hower and the rest of the "Hope for the Warriors" staff members for making it possible for me to see my family and be able to attend my brothers wedding. The trip was very much needed especially during a really rough time in my life when I needed my family the most. HFTW make a real difference in the lives of all service members and their families. Being with my family made me gain strength and gave me hope to get through life. It was part of a good healing process not only for me but also for my family. I can't thank them enough for their help. They also helped with my rent when I got back from my trip because of the days I took off work to go home. For the first time in a long time, I've never had to worry about anything but to just enjoy the company and comfort of my family. I feel really blessed with all the help that this organization has done for me. God Bless all the HFTW staff members and may they receive all the blessings that they truly deserve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

I was recently honored to attend a Sailing Clinic sponsored by Hope for the Warriors. Ronnie, Don and Walt, along with a host of amazing volunteers, put together one of the most influential weeks of my life. Being introduced to the sailing community in grand style (sailing with 1-1 instruction, watching the America's Cup World Series Regatta from a racing yacht in the San Francisco Bay, accepting the hospitality of Team Oracle) was an experience not to be forgotten. More importantly, being introduced to a sport which seems to have been created to treat PTSD and even out the competitive playing field for almost any disability was inspirational. The clinic was well-organized, yet flexible to accommodate each individual's challenges. Outside activities, including visiting Redwoods, were enjoyed by all and nothing felt like mandatory fun. More important than every good thing I could say about the clinic and how much it benefitted me, the people involved were the absolute salt of the earth. Ronnie Simpson's passion for sailing is only rivaled by his desire to share it with disabled veterans. Don Gray, father to the group, shared his lessons learned as a Vietnam Veteran while keeping the clinic on schedule. Walt Kotecki is one of the most compassionate guys I've ever come across. All the volunteers at BAADS (Bay Area Association of Disabled Sailors) and the sailing instructors showed us nothing but love the entire Clinic. Amazing job by all. Finally, the most inspirational part of my week was spending time with the other participants. The camaraderie and brotherhood that we lose when we transition out of the military is found in the veteran community and organizations like Hope for the Warriors allow us to tap into that source of strength and support. I can't thank you all enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

Hope for the Warriors has made a profound difference for my family. My Husband suffers from severe combat related PTSD. Living under the constant stress and uncertainty has left us extremely depleted. Hope for the Warriors is there for us. Recently, my Husband's Warrior Wish was granted. He will be getting a specialty trained service dog to help him with his disorder. There are no words to explain how much this will impact our daily lives and truly help my Husband. Furthermore, Hope for the Warriors offered us tremendous support while my Husband was hospitalized for his PTSD. I felt very cared for and understood. Hope for the Warriors gave us a gas card so that my Son and I could visit. This organization reached out and called me regularly to make sure we were ok. The greatest compliment I can give this wonderful organization is that they live up to their name. They have given my Warrior hope. There is no measurement big enough to express our gratitude.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

Hope for the Warriors has helped me in so many ways. I have had the privilege to be taken to multiple 5k races and a 10 mile run with this wonderful organization. I appreciate that they are very hands on and take the time to get to know you. I am very grateful for all of the help that they have given me and look forward to working with them in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

Hope for the warriors has been one of the BEST organizations hands down!!! We contacted them for help moving and i was blown away at how friendly our worker was, not only did she get things set up for us to get moved but she kept in contact and offered so much helpful info! Amber went ABOVE AND BEYOND TO make SURE WE GOT TAKEN CARE OF! I love that if I ever have a question or need info on anything TBI/PTSD related I know i can contact Hope for the Warriors and not have to try and do everything on my own anymore! I feel soo blessed by this organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 17, 2012

Hope for Warriors gave my wife and I and all expensed paid trip to New York City for a weekend at a beautiful hotel and spa. Thank you so much for wonderful relaxing and rejuvenating time. Their staff consistently makes an effort to include us in upcoming events and are very gracious and accommodating. They truly understand that healing is a process for the whole family and not just the veterans.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at a Run For The Warriors® Event.Join Team Hope For The Warriors® and raise funds while training for a race.Volunteer in one of our offices with administrative work.