Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
157 Reviews
1234.980895
Write A Review
January 30, 2013

more

January 30, 2013

I was deployed to Afghanistan in 2012 when I met LTC (ret) Lew Deal. He was on a Legends tour. He told us about Hope For The Warriors and all they do. Little did we know four of us on the base would benefit from this wonderful organization. LTC Lew kept in touch with us throughout the remainder of our deployment and after we arrived home. He set us up a hunt with some Mississippi landowners, guides, a chef, camera crew and a special guest. We had the best time ever from the moment we arrived and we are still having fun talking about it. Our guides were very knowledgeable and professional. They ensured we had everything we needed and that we were having a good time. To this day we keep in contact with them and we are proud to call them friends. LTC Deal and Hope For The Warriors went above and beyond to give us the time of our lives. I personally harvested my biggest deer on camera, shot wild hogs, ate like a king, met great guys (one of them being "Cuz" Strickland) and had the best time ever. Thank you Hope For The Warriors and LTC Lew Deal for all you do. You all are the best!!!!
Matt Brown

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 28, 2013

I was lucky enough to meet LTC (Ret) Lew Deal in Afghanistan in 2012 while he was on the USO tour and he has made the extra effort to remain in contact and set up an extraordinary hunting trip, thru Hope for the Warriors, for myself and 3 other Afghan veterans. Never in my 27 years of the military have I ever received such a gift. It was truly a hunt of a lifetime.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be a beneficiary of this organization. What an incredible experience! Everything they did was first class and exceeded my wildest expectations. There was such a personal involvment of LTC (Ret) Lew Deal in our experience, as well as the donors of the hunting trip. I would never be able to experience a hunting trip like that on my own, and getting to re-unite with my deployment Army buddies made it that much more special. Thank you Hope for the Warriors!

Chris Waite

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2013

Hope for Warriors helped me by purchasing items for my photography. I have always had a passion in photography but after my retirement I had to sell almost all of my items that I had to sell off when I was retired from the Army these where items I had purchased during my military career. Since I have had these items it has brought back my passion for photography and I have enrolled in college studying Journalism I have a goal of one day being a photojournalist. I was retired for PTSD.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2013

I would like to say that HOPE FOR THE WARIORS is a top class group in all areas. I am a service member in the Army of 20+ years and consider my connection with HOPE FOR THE WARRIORS to be one of the best things that has ever happened to me and my family. l was very cautious, due to my war time injury, of who I let in my social circle besides my immediate family until I got to know the HFTW group. They honestly CARE and that is what service members want in a time of need. They show you through their actions, not just lip service of what they might could do, etc. Bottom line, they deliver! They treat every family as one of their own and go through the process of knowing you and your family at YOUR pace. They do so many great things for service members that the list is endless. I personally have dreamed of becoming a tournament BASS fisherman at the highest level that I can compete in. They went out of their way to give me and family a weekend of a dream coming true. I can say that it made me feel happy and stirred up emotions that have not been tapped into for some time. Again, this was not just about me but my wife and kids were with me every step of the way as much or as little as they wanted to be involved,again at our pace. For us,this was something that no one or organization had shown us before. It just made me think for a brief second if in this world people could mirror what this organization does, for the good of people, it would be such a better place. Again I cannot express my gratitude to this group......they do not fly the flag one day a year and jump on the bandwagon ,like unfortunately, some groups do unless they are benefitting directly from it. This groups flies the flag 24/7..365 days a year...they can walk the walk and back it if you talk to ANYONE who has been lucky enough to get to know the HFTW group. The get down in the weeds and spend their funds on service members period. If everyone reading this could read up and follow this group to see their excellent track record you would be amazed. I know everybody reading this is not a millionaire but if everyday folks like me could donate their services or maybe give up a fancy coffee once in a while and donate to HFTW........it will feel good in your hearts. You can lay your head on your pillow at night, when men and women are downrange, doing operations so the we have the security of sleeping safe at night Please do the right thing, your donations would be only a small token of appreciation for the sacrifces that have been made. Donate so the great people at HFTW's can take care of servicemembers, who take care of us! GOD BLESS THIS COUNTRY! HOPE FOR THE WARRIORS, YOU ROCK! CW4 JOHN LIGHTSEY,OEF WOUNDED WARRIOR, U.S.ARMY (AIR ASSAULT)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2013

Hope. It’s only a four letter word, but it can mean all the difference in a wounded warrior’s life. As a member of Team Hope for the Warriors, and a wounded Operation Iraqi Freedom vet myself, participating in sports and athletics has been a major part of my rehabilitation and recovery, and the Team has been a big source of Hope in my own life. Driving myself to physical and mental limits, whether in a triathlon or marathon run, has given me confidence, and the knowledge that I can reach deeper and go stronger and further than I ever thought possible.

This year, thanks to Team Hope for the Warriors, I’ve run my first two half-marathons, placed first in my age division at a local triathlon, and the Team offered to sponsor my trip to compete at the National Triathlon Championships. But more than anything, being part of a team means so much to me; being inspired by teammates who have faced so much themselves on the field of battle, and to see them succeed on the field of competition.

Team Hope for the Warriors supports the wounded warrior community by helping us come together, allowing me to be with my comrades-in-arms and those who support us, giving us the opportunity to challenge ourselves in ways we never thought possible – together! Even though I’m no longer in the military, I’m still part of a team – a family: Team Hope for the Warriors.

- Adam Tanverdi, Capt, USAF (Ret)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 24, 2013

I am an OIF/OEF 9 year veteran of the USAF. I was retired after suffering multiple injuries in Iraq. Due to my injuries it has always been difficult getting a good nights sleep b/c I get uncomfortable and toss and turn all night. I tried several different beds, but nothing seemed to work. Of course, everyone says go for the top of the line...try a Tempurpedic. Well who has the money to buy a $3000 bed!! I was referred to Hope for the Warriors through the WW program. They were wonderful right from the beginning! Every step of the process was made easy and I was treated with respect and dignity overall. They walked me through the process and before I knew it I was sleeping in my Tempurpedic! They are 100% focused on their goal of making the lives of our warriors a better and more comfortable place. So many of us have such different issues, but to them we all served and sacrificed. Anyone who is looking for a place to support while knowing everything they can give is going staight to the intended population....you should definately look up Hope for the Warriors!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013

OIF VET with TBI and PTSD. I was invited to a weekend outing in Tyler Texas with Hope For The Warriors. It was one of the best times I had since my return from overseas. The staff, donors, and supporters were extremely friendly and had everything well planned out despite the turn in weather. My main purpose for going was to get myself out of isolation and play some golf to gain my confidence back. That weekend did just that! I was able to meet some new friends that shared similar injuries along with a community of people that welcomed us with open arms. We were greeted by students, bands, flags, police escorts, and much more. I am grateful that Hope For The Warriors was able to put such a great event together and I hope to participate next year!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2013

My name is John Masters, and I was wounded in Afghanistan in 2010. After being evacuated to the Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Washington DC I spent the next several months laying in a hospital bed, thinking the usual thoughts one thinks in that situation. As Doctors informed me that the damage to my severely injured right hand was worse than initially thought and that they weren't sure how much, if any of it could be salvaged, my mind was ravaged with depression, concern, doubt and worry. Having primarily physical actives as hobbies, I foresaw my future being bleak and boring, and saw rock climbing, cycling, weight lifting, racquetball and basically everything else I enjoyed, as things of the past. This however was not the case. Through a long road of physical rehabilitation and lots of support from caring and compassionate people, I have been able to find adaptive means to still enjoy and peruse just about every interest I previously had, and no one was more instrumental in this process than my friends at Hope for the Warriors. Their comforting and encouraging staff was literally at my bedside from the earliest stages of my recovery, wishing me well and letting me know of the opportunities awaiting me in the near future. While laying in that bed thinking my physically active lifestyle was all but behind me, I had no idea that a year from then I would be crossing the finish line of my first marathon as part of Team H4W. Since that race Hope for the Warriors has continued to be an integral aspect of my recovery process. Wether it be competing with their athletic division, or participating in one of their social events, I am always surrounded by positive encouragement and friendly faces that remind me just how blessed and lucky I am. The benefit of being a member of Team H4W is two fold as it is an avenue to maintain physical fitness, but even more meaningful are the benefits to my spirit. Through this program I have made friendships that will last a life time and been granted the opportunity to interact with some of the most amazing people I've ever met, both H4W staff as well as other Vets I have met through the team. My once bleak attitude has been transformed, as H4W has filled me with a new outlook, one of excitement, friendship and hope. They truly were the silver lining to my injury's storm. No longer am I concerned with the challenges that come along with not having two fully functional hands, because I know if i ever need one, Hope for the Warriors will be there to lend me one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2013

i am a veteran of iraq freedom. i am married with three kids. i was at the veterans hospital doing my ptsd program when all of sudden bills just started to come down on me to hard. my wife had lost her job and everything was behind. i was on the verge of getting evicted from my home an me an my family would be on the street. but thanks to amber johnson an her wonderful staff my prayer was answered. they helped me out like i have never been helped out before. i will never forget this. thank all of yall an god bless

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at a Run For The Warriors® Event.Join Team Hope For The Warriors® and raise funds while training for a race.Volunteer in one of our offices with administrative work.