Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.979175
| 1 ... 7 8 9...15 |
Write A Review
October 26, 2012

I was recently honored to attend a Sailing Clinic sponsored by Hope for the Warriors. Ronnie, Don and Walt, along with a host of amazing volunteers, put together one of the most influential weeks of my life. Being introduced to the sailing community in grand style (sailing with 1-1 instruction, watching the America's Cup World Series Regatta from a racing yacht in the San Francisco Bay, accepting the hospitality of Team Oracle) was an experience not to be forgotten. More importantly, being introduced to a sport which seems to have been created to treat PTSD and even out the competitive playing field for almost any disability was inspirational. The clinic was well-organized, yet flexible to accommodate each individual's challenges. Outside activities, including visiting Redwoods, were enjoyed by all and nothing felt like mandatory fun. More important than every good thing I could say about the clinic and how much it benefitted me, the people involved were the absolute salt of the earth. Ronnie Simpson's passion for sailing is only rivaled by his desire to share it with disabled veterans. Don Gray, father to the group, shared his lessons learned as a Vietnam Veteran while keeping the clinic on schedule. Walt Kotecki is one of the most compassionate guys I've ever come across. All the volunteers at BAADS (Bay Area Association of Disabled Sailors) and the sailing instructors showed us nothing but love the entire Clinic. Amazing job by all. Finally, the most inspirational part of my week was spending time with the other participants. The camaraderie and brotherhood that we lose when we transition out of the military is found in the veteran community and organizations like Hope for the Warriors allow us to tap into that source of strength and support. I can't thank you all enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

I had an opportunity to volunteer with Hope For The Warriors this year at their Above & Beyond program. They are a fantastic group to work with and are very passionate about supporting veterans. As a veteran myself (USAF 99-03), I know that they provide excellent services and programs that are greatly appreciated by those who participate. If you are able to support this organization as a volunteer or by donating, I highly recommend it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I volunteer with Hope for the Warriors and it is a truly wonderful organization with great staff and clients. I have been able to interact with many of their clients and the experience has been very meaningful. The range of services they offer clients is remarkable and can be a lifesaver for many people. I am always telling contacts I have in the local military and VA community here about it so they can direct potential clients there. The staff that I've interacted with are very nice and truly care about the veterans they serve - I've worked with/met Connie Morinello, Nicole Papadopoulos and Tina Atherall and they are all great! I recommend them highly!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

Hope for the Warriors has made a profound difference for my family. My Husband suffers from severe combat related PTSD. Living under the constant stress and uncertainty has left us extremely depleted. Hope for the Warriors is there for us. Recently, my Husband's Warrior Wish was granted. He will be getting a specialty trained service dog to help him with his disorder. There are no words to explain how much this will impact our daily lives and truly help my Husband. Furthermore, Hope for the Warriors offered us tremendous support while my Husband was hospitalized for his PTSD. I felt very cared for and understood. Hope for the Warriors gave us a gas card so that my Son and I could visit. This organization reached out and called me regularly to make sure we were ok. The greatest compliment I can give this wonderful organization is that they live up to their name. They have given my Warrior hope. There is no measurement big enough to express our gratitude.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

Hope for the Warriors has helped me in so many ways. I have had the privilege to be taken to multiple 5k races and a 10 mile run with this wonderful organization. I appreciate that they are very hands on and take the time to get to know you. I am very grateful for all of the help that they have given me and look forward to working with them in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As a Veteran I am usually cautious of the many non-profits that want to "help" Veterans, this is why I am writing this review, the first time I have ever written a review about a charity, especially concerning Veterans. Hope for the Warriors is AWESOME, their dedication and care for the assistance of our Veterans is OUTSTANDING. As a US Marine Veteran I am PROUD to have met and spoken with the members of this organization, I look forward to volunteering at their events and support their efforts in any way possible. (Semper Fi to the Hope for the Warriors, Cpl. Luis F. Correia)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

Hope for the warriors has been one of the BEST organizations hands down!!! We contacted them for help moving and i was blown away at how friendly our worker was, not only did she get things set up for us to get moved but she kept in contact and offered so much helpful info! Amber went ABOVE AND BEYOND TO make SURE WE GOT TAKEN CARE OF! I love that if I ever have a question or need info on anything TBI/PTSD related I know i can contact Hope for the Warriors and not have to try and do everything on my own anymore! I feel soo blessed by this organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

H4W, 3-Forks Ranch (CO), and Mossy Oak-Hunting the Country (MS) just teamed to send two USAF Purple Hearts (SSgt & TSgt) on a week of outdoor adventures. It was a "life changing" experiance for them (their words not mine). From start to finish this trip was as close to perfect as you can get. The cost to our warriors? Zero! I have been on many of these outdoor adventures with our warriors. This one has set the bar very high. It is also nice to know that H4W will be there for our two warriors as long as they need support. L. Deal, USMC (ret)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 17, 2012

Hope for Warriors gave my wife and I and all expensed paid trip to New York City for a weekend at a beautiful hotel and spa. Thank you so much for wonderful relaxing and rejuvenating time. Their staff consistently makes an effort to include us in upcoming events and are very gracious and accommodating. They truly understand that healing is a process for the whole family and not just the veterans.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012

I served in Vietnam. When I came home wearing my uniform I was scorned. It really hurt. America is my country and I voluntarily answered the call. I am a disabled vet and I pledge to help my brothers with part of my income. The people of the United States now seem to recognize the warrior. Please also give a little to those that gave so much.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at a Run For The Warriors® Event.Join Team Hope For The Warriors® and raise funds while training for a race.Volunteer in one of our offices with administrative work.