Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
157 Reviews
1234.980895
Write A Review
January 23, 2013

I wanted to let everyone know about Hope for the Warriors (if you don’t know about them yet). I have had been involved with MANY Non-Profit Veteran Organizations since my discharge but I must say that I have never experienced a more personable and family oriented organization than Hope for the Warriors. I was introduced to Hope for the Warriors in their earliest days when they just started. I had noticed the above and beyond attention they gave my family and I then but I thought maybe it was because they had just started. I was wrong. Now, years later they still call me and check on my family and me, I still receive Holiday cards, and they have never forgotten me. I don’t know how they manage to remember the details of each veteran they help especially with how big they have become. I believe that they must have someone in their staff that is a great judge of character because they seem to hire people that are so selfless and caring. Thank you so much Hope for the Warriors and all the great staff! You have helped me and my family more than you can imagine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013

A mother’s worst nightmare confronted me on June 10, 2010, when two Marines came to my door. They gave my husband and I the dreaded news: “Your son has been killed in Afghanistan.” Our son, Sgt. Brandon Bury, was on his third deployment in a combat zone, and although we knew his mission put him in danger, we believed he would return home safely. We were in shock to learn that he would not.

Soon after, one of my best friends came by, and asked, “What do you need?” At that point I didn’t know. She immediately called her daughter-in-law, Amber Johnson, a Critical Care Coordinator for Hope for the Warriors. Within minutes, the phone was ringing, and Hope for the Warriors came to my rescue.

Our family situation offered logistical challenges. I live in Texas, Brandon’s wife and two young sons in California and my extended family is scattered across Ohio. Services were going to be held in California and Texas. Without hesitation, Hope for the Warriors offered assistance with travel arrangements, sage advice and continued emotional support.

I also had the privilege of witnessing firsthand the benefits that Hope for the Warriors provides to injured veterans. The group hosted a weekend of fun in Tyler, TX, that concluded with a dinner tribute for their sacrifices. I will never forget seeing the faces of the proud young men and women as they strolled by our table. These individuals knew their sacrifices were appreciated by so many. Hope For The Warriors® understands the challenges, pride, and joy of being a military family, and it is committed to restoring a sense of self for wounded vets, fallen heroes and their families. Everyone I have met in the organization is honorable, passionate and committed about their mission.

My son’s family and friends were so moved by the organization and its commitment to help others that they searched for a way to honor our heroes and donate to this fine organization. A Golf Tournament was organized in Kingwood, Texas, www.kingwoodfallenheroes.com, by one of my son’s best friends, Scott Mitchell. Last year was the first annual tournament, and it raised $60,000 for a number of charities, including Hope For The Warriors®. The second annual tournament is scheduled for April 27, 2013. Organizers are hoping to shatter last year’s amount and donate the proceeds to this worthwhile organization.

Semper Fi,
Terri Bury, Mother of Sgt. Brandon Bury, USMC

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2013

I am an Iraqi disabled veteran. "HOPE FOR THE WARRIORS" (H4W) has been instrumental in promoting my physical well being again. They donated a bike to me which I am training on in order to particpate in the "Warrior Games, 2013." "HOPE FOR THE WARRIORS" offers disabled veterans a host of opportunities for bike riding to running the Marine Corp Marathon. They are run by an exceptional group of people and the one of the greatest things about H4W is that they are family oriented. "HOPE FOR THE WARRIORS" is by far one of the "BEST" organizations I have been involverd with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2013

more

January 23, 2013

Hope for the Warriors is an incredible charity that supports military service men and women and their families. Hope for the Warriors strives to help those in need and goes above and beyond to raise money for a worthy cause. I have never worked with such passionate, amazing, and truly genuine people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013

It has been an honor to serve as a volunteer to Hope for the Warriors. They have welcomed me to their Team Hope for the Warriors where I have given support to running/cycling events here in the Mid-Atlantic Region of the US.
I find their staff to be a dedicated hard working group that is
providing many worthwhile opportunities to our returning servicemembers and their families.
I look forward to continue my support for years to come and will spread the word of the great work they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2013

Our son served as a Marine in Afghanistan in 2010-2011. When he returned we knew that something had changed in him - while we expected this to some degree, we had no idea at the time how drastic the change would be. As the one year anniversary of his return approached, it was clear that he was suffering with PTSD and he was not getting better - in fact, he was getting worse. Normally outgoing, sensitive, with a great sense of humor - he was increasingly withdrawn, depressed and had started drinking heavily along with smoking pot - not normal behavior for him. Over this year we (along with our son) became increasingly frustrated with the lack of response and proper care from the Marines. As this crisis finally reached a breaking point, our son was admitted to Holliswood hospital in summer 2012. It was there that we first met a small group of people who specialized in treating PTSD in combat veterans - and we started to learn much more about PTSD. It was the first time that we became aware of Hope for the Warriors. It was also the first time in over 1 year since our son's return that we encountered people who seemed to genuinely care for our son - and whose work and purpose was to help him - and to help us as his family. It started with an offer of a hotel room and transportation - completely paid for. This extended into seemingly small things, such as offers for dinner and spa for our daughter-in-law (who of course was struggling along with us as she watched her husband - our son - suffering with PTSD). We were somewhat overwhelmed and humbled by this generosity. It is difficult to express the sense of relief that we felt as we realized that there were people (outside of our family) who cared about our son and about what we were experiencing as a family - and who were actually doing something about it - working to reach out to us, offering to pay for hotel so that we could visit our son over a number of days, offering to pay for dinners and activities during that time, providing funds to help pay transportation costs, etc. These may seem like "small" things, but they are much more than just a "free" room and meal - Hope for the Warriors conveyed a sense of genuine caring that we had not experienced before - and not just for our family - we saw them reaching out to other families who were experiencing the same struggles that we were - allowing us to realize more concretely that we were not alone in this. The impact of their efforts cannot be overstated. It really is difficult to express our gratitude for the work that Hope for the Warriors is doing -- we have experienced it first hand as a family - and we know that there are many other families who have been blessed by their work - just as we have been.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2013

I have worked with many veteran assistance organizations and Hope for the Warriors has been able to help our military members time after time. Their tireless efforts provide many much deserved services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013

Back in 2011 our company used Charity Navigator to search out an organization for a Veterans Day sales promotion, which would follow with a corporate donation. We found Hope For The Warriors and couldn’t be more pleased! They do amazing work for our Veterans and their families and offer many ways for citizens to get involved. We also like the fact that a very high percentage of the contributions they receive apply to the cause, and not to overhead. Our relationship has continued since our initial donation, and friendships have been built along the way. As a company, and individuals we are proud to offer continued support to H4W!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2013

In a time of "talkers," Hope for The Warrior, "DOES!" Their staff truly believes in their mission and works with a dignity and grace assisting our nations heroes. I have had the opportunity to watch H4W staff interact with wounded veterans and am continually amazed at their positive, "can do" attitude. Problems are simply temporary speed bumps in which they adapt and improvise over, around and occasionally through any difficulty. The term "steely determination" comes to mind when I think of their staff. As a former Marine and retired FBI agent, I have seen the best and worst of our society and understand that we will fail as a civilization unless individuals and organizations understand the concept,... "for the greater good." H4W not only understands this concept but also lives by it. John Ligato

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2013

Hope for the Warriors is an outstanding organization! Not only do most of their funds go to Servicemembers (unlike the Wounded Warrior Project with high administrative costs and overhead (like dozens of expensive actor-filled commercials and fancy mailings)), but they truly benefit SERVICEMEMBERS. Few organizations have the interest of their clients at the forefront of all they do -- Hope for the Warriors is one of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at a Run For The Warriors® Event.Join Team Hope For The Warriors® and raise funds while training for a race.Volunteer in one of our offices with administrative work.