Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
157 Reviews
1234.980895
| 1 ... 3 4 5...16 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I became a donor for Hope for the Warriors after reviewing the cost benefit data for this and other charities. I am impressed that such a high percentage actually goes to the warrior himself/herself. This is a charity for everyone to check out ... The organization keeps it PERSONAL and the volunteers make this unlike many others. Very highly recommended for your donor dollars.
Gary Wasson
Virginia Beach, VA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No comment; I am unaware of organizational issues except that the people I have met and had contact with are "TOPS" ...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have been a proud board member of Hope for the Warriors and also an advisory board member for several years , I must say that Robin Kelleher , CEO and Tina Atherall EVP, And the whole team at Hope for the Warriors are exceptionally dedicated and truly are compassionate about the needs of our returning wounded servicemen and women I am familiar with many not for profit organizations and I must say that this Is the most outstanding organization I've ever come in contact with . If you review their website you will see the many wonderful projects that provide much-needed assistance in many forms to those who have worn the cloth of our military and have been wounded .
Bill Nelson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The more contributions they receive the more of our wounded veterans can be helped. I encourage those of you who read this to help increase their funds with your generous donations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have been aware of this wonderful and impactful organization, Hope For The warriors, for several years.
It is clear to me that Robin Kelleher and her team are caring, professional, and extremely dedicated to our wounded warriors and effective at the same time. I have sent in several checks
and I have read on their website updates the wonderful events and support that they are giving to those who went into harm's way on our behalf. I also had the opportunity to meet Robin and some of here team at an event, and I'm now even more convinced that if you want to help our warroriers and families in nedd this is the best organization to contribute to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish they had more funds to work with

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

This Organization is truly amazing. They standby their statement of assisting the service member, their family, and families of the fallen. They open up their arms to all with without treating anyone with any disdain. I am tryly proud to be a part of this organization and look forward to what it brings in the future.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I am a reporter for the Camp Lejeune Globe and I have seen this organization in action on many occasions. These people are amazing! They work tirelessly toward their cause, and I've seen first hand the difference they make in the lives of wounded service members and their families.

Every
single person I've met from this organization is an absolute joy to be around. This organization is such a breath of fresh air, and I believe it's because each and every person involved is passionate about this cause.

I would like to specifically recognize two wonderful people in this organization: Anne Barnwell and Jordan Huffman, both of whom I've worked with numerous times. These two women are so immersed in the cause of Hope For The Warriors and culture of military life, all for the betterment of others. Anne's enthusiasm for what she does is contagious, and she has actually said to me, "Chantel, I really wake up every morning so excited about going to work." Jordan is always ready to help me whenever I need it! She's so great. She will do whatever it takes to ensure success of the organization, not just aboard Camp Lejeune, but nationwide.

I feel blessed to have met these people and proud to know them. I am not a beneficiary of their efforts, but they've still touched my heart – that's the measure of a great nonprofit.

KEEP IT UP!
-Chantel Green

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

After becoming involved as a volunteer, I've found that one of the things I like about Hope for the Warriors is that their fund raisers are activities that get the public INVOLVED. They are activities designed to get you off the couch, out in the fresh air with an opportunity to meet and greet the warriors who have served us all. Their fund raisers could also be called "fun raisers." And to make it even better, when you participate, you can rest assured that consistently, over 90% of the funds they raise go to meet mission. That's a win/win. It's great to know when you spend your money to have some fun and participate that you are also helping our wounded service men and women recover. A win/win.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I am a retired Marine Major General and recently participated in one of the Hope for the Warriors fund raising events and while there met most of the organization's leadership and many of the sponsors and volunteers. HFTW of course serves a popular and necessary cause which is most evident by the vast number of dedicated volunteers who provide numerous services in making this a most successful operation. While I am not involved in financial decisions, knowing the quality of Board members and senior leadership, I am confident that HFTW functions as a unit with minimum overhead and maximum benefit in improving the lives of our American heros and their families. If one is looking for a Foundation to support financially or to become involved with in any respect, HFTW will make you feel good and at the same time serve a patriotic and humane mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing comes to mind. I like it as it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

I am a retired Marine Infantry LtGen who served 36 years on active duty from 1966 to 2002. I have never encountered an organization that has done more for wounded/injured Marines. The Government itself does infinitely more now than it did was I was a young officer during the Vietnam era. That said, the contribution of Hope For The Warriors to what the Government is able to do cannot be overstated--especially in the assistance provided for the Families. I had the opportunity to spend one-on-one time with quite a few wounded/injured Marines in September 2013. Not only are there physical and mental needs being attended to, their outlook on life is rejuvinated and focused. Every Marine I spoke with had a plan for what he/she wanted to accomplish with their lives. They had all set goals and knew what they intended to do to achieve those goals. They will be contributing members of the American society, not "homeless veterens" forgotten by their fellow Americans.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Simlply put Hope For The Warriors is totally comitted to reaching out and providing support to our service members. I have seem several organizations that are doing wonderful work for our Vets but for my money these folks have no peer.

G. S. McKissock Lt.Gen USMC (Ret)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2012

My husband and I have volunteered with this organization since 2008 and we see first hand how the money is used for spouse scholarships, hope and morale, warrior wishes, family support, etc. As a mem... more

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband, Paul, and I have volunteered with Hope For The Warriors since 2008 and race with Team Hope For The Warriors. The organization has grown into a highly acclaimed national organization serving our wounded and their families and families of the fallen from all of the services. One of the main reasons we started raising money for Hope For The Warriors was the fact that their overhead is very low and they have received a four start rating by Charity Navigator which allows more of the contributions to go to the warriors. The staff is young and they really care about what they are doing. It is an honor to work with this dedicated group of men and women who make up
Hope For The Warriors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2012

My husband and I have volunteered with this organization since 2008 and we see first hand how the money is used for spouse scholarships, hope and morale, warrior wishes, family support, etc. As a member of Beta Sigma Phi, an international sorority, the chapters in North and South Carolina took on Hope For The Warriors as a state service project. We believe in what they do and the Carolina's are considered two of the most military friendly states in the nation. We chose Hope For The Warriors as their administrative costs are very low and for the awe- inspiring courage of these service members and their families. My chapter nominated Hope For The Warriors for the Beta Sigma Phi Endowment Fund. Chapters world-wide voted to accept this non-profit organization and it received a $15,000 grant. So far, Beta Sigma Phi's have donated over $25,920 to this organization. Hope For The Warriors started in Jacksonville, NC, at Camp Lejeune just 45 minutes from where I live. It now has offices in New York, Washington, DC, Virginia, and Florida with representatives covering California, Texas, Illinois, and Wyoming, enabling them to maintain a nation-wide presence. The leadership of the organization still remains in the dedicated hands of military wives. Hope For The Warriors Advisory Board includes former Marine Corps Commandant, General Krulak, and the President and CEO of HBO, Bill Nelson.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at a Run For The Warriors® Event.Join Team Hope For The Warriors® and raise funds while training for a race.Volunteer in one of our offices with administrative work.