Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
143 Reviews
1234.979025
| 1 ... 3 4 5...15 |
Write A Review
February 13, 2013

I have donated for a few years to this charity. I believe that the volunteers and fund raisers are doing a great job helping those that need help. The volunteers are hard workers and are very dedicated. Great job H4W.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2013

As an contractor/advisor to Hope For The Warriors, I am privilaged to see some of the inner workings of the organization. I am continually impressed by the professionalism and enthusiasm with which the staff approaches every task. Especially impressive is the culture of good stewardship regarding funding which pervades the organization.

As a VietNam veteran, I only wish there had been a Hope For The Warriors when I returned.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013

Hope for the Warrior and their Volunteers helped me start getting my life back on track and back with activities I use to enjoy. They get u motivated and u enjoy every minute u have on every adventure they send you on. Helping you enjoy life again and get u and ur family lifted by there spirits. Jordan M and Jack M always check in on me and see how I am doing and support my family. It is an outstanding organization that helps all wounded soldiers get back on track.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 7, 2013

Hope for the Warriors, is just plain amazing. I have never in my life encountered a more dedicated and hardworking group. Then events and programs that they provide truly make amazing differences in the lives of the people that they help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 5, 2013

I am a former Marine Corps Officer, turned businessman. In 2006, I made a visit to the Wounded Warrior Barracks in Camp Lejeune and spent four hours with Lt Col Maxwell, visiting with wounded Marines and learning of the shortfalls in the care of our wounded. From that day forward, I spent considerable time interviewing Marines, Key Wives, Key Volunteers and various charity officers. My initial goal/obsession was to assist in finding and serving Marines and Soldiers who were “falling through the cracks” and not receiving the care and support they deserved. When our many involved hands got a handle on this problem, I turned to my efforts to simply raising money for the charities, which had proven to be the best and most efficient at serving our wounded.

Hope for Warriors tops this chart. Their leadership at inception-- and largely to this day-- is composed of the large-hearted wives of Marines. These bright women “get it”— for many years now they have made an art form of serving those who have served us. And most impressive, while many of their fellow charities in this service niche have grown a little too big and little too sloppy in their expenditures, Hope for the Warriors remains “lean and mean”. Our chain of 30 businesses runs an annual fundraiser each year, which benefits three charities that serve our wounded and families of the fallen. This event forces me to annually review the tax returns of many charities. Each year, Hope for the Warriors is the most efficient charity in the bunch. In short, before you write a check to another charity, see if they come close to Hope for the Warriors’ key numbers: Program Expenses 88%; Admin costs 10%; Fundraising 2%.

Semper Fi,
Brad Graft
Director, Pirate’s Cove Adventure Golf

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2013

I started going back to school after my medical discharge from the Marine Corps. My major is music and I play the Tuba. I did not have the money to buy my own and this was going to put my education goals on hold. Hope for the Warriors not only helped me, but they responded in time for class to start and now the sky's are the limit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 3, 2013

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
October 31, 2011

I recently volunteered to help with Hope for the Warriors' hospitality tent at the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington, D.C. I cannot say enough about how wonderful the experience was. Even at the c... more

February 3, 2013

For the past two years I have volunteered for H4W at various racing events, and I am still continuously impressed with the depth and breadth of the organization and its commitment to improving the lives of wounded servicemembers and their families. I've seen and heard the difference that H4W has made, one veteran at a time. Few organizations are also as good at maximizing the volunteer experience. When I volunteer at an H4W event, I know that, whatever the task I am asked to do, it will be meaningful. That alone is thanks enough, but the H4W staff is generous with their gratitude. So are the wounded veterans that H4W sponsors. Their strength never fails to inspire me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2011

I recently volunteered to help with Hope for the Warriors' hospitality tent at the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington, D.C. I cannot say enough about how wonderful the experience was. Even at the crack of dawn on a freezing morning, the H4TW staff was very welcoming and extremely organized. As the day progressed, that preparation became even more evident -- with any contingency that arose, they knew exactly how to respond. I point these things out because as a result, the H4TW staff was able to make efficient, meaningful use of me and the other volunteers. I had no doubt that I was needed, and that my time was valued and appreciated.

Ultimately, though, the day was about the wounded warriors participating in the Marathon thanks to H4TW's generous sponsorship. We were there to offer the veteran participants the best service that we could. That is what H4TW is all about -- giving back to people who have given so much in service to our nation. Meeting them before the race, cheering them to the finish, and talking with them afterward was an absolute privilege. Thanks to H4TW, I had the opportunity to hear their stories, share a few of mine, and strive to make their race day as good and memorable as it could possibly be. It is certainly a day I will remember for years to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering, and feeling that I was able to take as much from the experience as the people we were serving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of a single one -- what they do is unique and critical, and they do it all extremely well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 2, 2013

Everyone I spoke to within this organization was extremely helpful and supportive throughout my training and raising money for this fantastic charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2013

I have been giving Dress for an Interview presentations at the Above & Beyond Workshops conducted by the Hope for the Warriors organization. I feel that the information I have provided has been well-received and will benefit those who are transitioning from the military into the civlian workplace. It has been an honor and privledge to speak to those who have served and sacrificed for our country and I hope that I can continue to be a part of the program.

Chris Byrne
Men's Wearhouse

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2013

For the last three years, Siemens Corporation has partnered with Hope for the Warriors in support of the grass roots work they do to reach out and help wounded U.S. service members, their families, and families of the fallen. Their staff works tirelessly to raise awareness, as well as funds, to provide programs that benefit service members and their families.

Hope for the Warriors is unique among organizations supporting service members as they recognize that the entire family is affected by a service member's wounds - both physical and psychological. Each of their programs considers the needs of spouses, children, parents and extended family members - their full circle of care embraces and restores the whole family unit. Their holistic approach is key to maximizing the positive impact they have for our wounded service members.

As many service members have returned from Iraq, and from Afghanistan, Hope for the Warriors continues to be an integral part of welcoming these heroes back into their communities, and assisting them to regain their lives.
We are honored to be partnered with them and look forward to continuing and expanding this much needed effort.

With best regards,
James E. Whaley

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at a Run For The Warriors® Event.Join Team Hope For The Warriors® and raise funds while training for a race.Volunteer in one of our offices with administrative work.