Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
155 Reviews
1234.980655
| 1 ... 13 14 1516 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2011

Hope For The Warriors Foundation is making a real difference in the lives of our servuce men and women and their families. I have partcipated in a number of events and can attest first hand to the positive impact. I am proud to serve on the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2011

Prior to my direct involvement with the organization I attended several events and programs which were put in place by Hope for the Warriors and I was privileged to watch them work and listen to them strategize about how they can deliver and expand a range of services to our wounded community. The organization embraces not only the individual service member but the service member’s family. Since being directly involved I see the fruit of their labor, as the organization steadily expands. I think I am most impressed by the level of selflessness, compassion and dedication to the mission. The organization founders and early staffing members have in many cases been spouses of active duty service members, who they describe as being "In the Fight" This group of individuals has character, intelligence and an absolute dedication to the mission, which is a clear formula for success. Since joining the Board I have become privy to aspects of the organization which are not readily seen by the public. Since being in this position my initial observations have been confirmed. Their dedication to good governance, particularly in the area of finances and transparency have confirmed what I felt from the beginning and that is that I am proud to work with them and proud to introduce them to others. In the area of programs, two which I have watched grow over time are the "Above and Beyond Program" a professional development program, which assists the individual in pursuing career goals outside the military. "Warrior Wish" which provides a dream come true for service members and families. A somewhat unique aspect of this organization is that it was started by Women and generally speaking the staffing and leadership are still mostly Women, having watched them over time and continually seeing the levels of compassion and caring, has led me to describe the organization as being run with a "Mother's Heart".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.

October 27, 2011

In 2008 my step-son enlisted into the United States Marine Corps. I can’t tell you how much this action affects one’s outlook on life, even as a family member. Suddenly every service member you see becomes part of your family and jump at the chance to help. Hope For The Warriors has become the agency through which I give my time and energy on behalf of my son, his comrades, and other families.

My first interaction with the organization was at the ASA Run For The Warriors in Chicago, Il as a volunteer. It was a cold, rainy morning but the warmth emulated from the participants and Hope For The Warriors staff was enough to alleviate any chill. As a first time volunteer, my experience was enough to make me continue volunteering with the organization.
I am blessed every day to know that my son was never hurt, and carry the understanding that this could easily change in an instant. Unfortunately, this has been the case for many families. It is the job of this great nation to ensure that these families and service members are not forgotten, and it is organizations like Hope For The Warriors that strive to make sure that doesn’t happen. Their dedication, motivation, and compassion for wounded service members, their families, and the families of fallen service members is unparalleled

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2011

more

October 27, 2011

This charity does the most amazing work for wounded warriors and their families, and they do it on a shoestring budget, with exceedingly low administrative expenses. The people involved are devoted to their cause and work tirelessly to ensure that help is given to deserving soldiers. They recognize on a highly personal level the needs of the military members they serve, as the founders of this charity are wives of marines, some of whom have been critically injured on the battlefield. I have personally witnessed the dedication and commitment of the individuals in charge in their fulfillment of the goals of this organization and feel secure that my donations are in good hands.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I personally know one of the founding members and I have personally watched her work very long hours in achieving the stated goals of the organization, without ever once complaining about the long hours and modest compensation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would wish for more national media recognition for the great services they provide!

October 27, 2011

I have been involved with Hope For The Warriors for a few years now, and last year had the honor and humbling experience of being asked to serve on the Skyline Salute Committee. Skyline Salute is one of the organization's largest events held here in New York City.

It is hard to put into
words the feeling of privilege that comes from working with a group of people who truly put their heart and souls into their work. The warmth, love and support shown by the amazing men and women who run this organization is felt well beyond the service members who they support.

Hope For The Warriors is, without a doubt, a top notch organization who I can only hope to continue to align myself with in the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

From watching homes for service members be built, to seeing hand bikes donated H4W continuously strives to better serve those who serve us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, H4W is exceptional

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2011

more

October 27, 2011

An excellent organization. At a time when I needed some help, H4W stepped in and got the job done. H4W provided a hand-cycle and because of that I have been able to maintain my physical health following a devastating injury that left me paralyzed. H4W provided a foundation that my family could build on and because H4W provided the necessary equipment we have been able to participate in many cycling events nationwide as well as ride together as a family on almost a daily basis. H4W got me out of the house and outside living again. They changed my life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adaptive sports. Because of this organization I was introduced to hand-cycling and my family to cycling. H4W provided the necessary equipment and we have been cycling ever since. Recently we participated in a 550 mile ride that took us from Ground Zero to Shanksville to the Pentagon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase advertising. Not enough military families, injured/wounded service members and veterans know about this great organization.

More feedback...

How did you find this group?

Through an advisor at SOCOM.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

H4W encouraged me to get back out there and live a healthy life. Before I was injured I ran almost every day, played sports with my kids or did some sort of other physical exercise. After my injury I was at a loss of what to do. I was introduced to hand-cycling and I knew that as a paraplegic it would be a way for me to stay physically fit. H4W provided the equipment I needed and their volunteer not only set the hand-cycle up for me, but mentored me on life and dealing with my injury.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2011

I have been working with H4W for the last 3 years as a corporate volunteer advisor and runner. H4W does what they say they're going to do and they do it tirelessly. They spend countless hours raising money to provide injured military members and their families gifts they could not otherwise afford, they bring military families together, and they rally the general community to the cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2011

I currently belong to Team Hope for the Warriors and participate in multiple races with my handcycle. The organization has given me the ability to compete with others and to regain the love of exercise since my spine injury. This organization will go out of its way to help. I love them so much.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It has given many veterans that are injured a will to compete and to get out and do things they never thought they would be able to do again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More Members.

October 26, 2011

more

October 26, 2011

As a military spouse I see many organizations that claim to help our service members, but drop the ball often. Hope for the Warriors is a real charity that truly helps those who deserve our help after putting their lives on the line for our country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that many have heard of the organization and pleased to hear that I raised funds for this cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

it's already great!!

October 26, 2011

There are many organizations who support the Military. Hope for Warriors supports the wounded military after they come home! This is when the need is the greatest. Veterans' unemployment in the USA is significantly higher than that of civilians. So, such an organzation who caters to getting wounded veterans back on their feet is essential for both the individual as well as our society's needs. Additionally, soldiers knowing that there is a resource to them should anything happen in the line of duty, can take pride in continuing to serve our Country and keep us safe!
An example of this organization's efforts - a marine from N. NJ was planning on making a career out of the USMC. He was injured in IRAQ. He could no longer use his legs/ankles.
Hope for Warriors donated a hand cycle to him, enabling him to successfully compete in a half-marathon. Not only did this address his physical needs, but also his emotional needs by giving him confidence that he could be a useful member of society again.
He has since joined Hope for Warriors' "Above & Beyond Professional Development Program" to help transition him into the civilian workforce.
This is one of many successes that this Charity has accomplished. I am proud to be a donor to keep them going!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at a Run For The Warriors® Event.Join Team Hope For The Warriors® and raise funds while training for a race.Volunteer in one of our offices with administrative work.