Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
157 Reviews
1234.980895
| 1 ... 10 11 12...16 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2012

I am a Combat Disabled OIF Marine, I am missing cartlig in my knee and I have PTSD with depressive disorder. When I first enlisted I was determined to make the Marine Corps my life, but after two combat deployments my dreams of wearing my uniform to a ripe old age were crushed and I had to leave the Corps and try my hand in the civilian world. After three years of toughing out my knee problems and being repromanded several time for my temper, my depression started messing with my sleep and my concentration and be a heavy equipment operator with a class A CDL it was becoming very dangerous for myself and others around me so my doctor made me quit my job and as I wait for the VA to approve my unemployability I have zero income coming in to support my family so the bills started to mount up, so for the sake of my family I swollowed my pride and started looking for help. Hope for the Warriors swooped in and saved the day they covered all my utilities and my rent, so that at least for now the stress has slacked off and I can worry about other things, I can't thank Hope for the Warriors enough for all the help that they've given me and my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

My husband was severely wounded in Iraq in 2003. We were introduced to Hope for the Warriors in 2010 and they have provided us not only moral support but also have helped us with durable medical equipment that the VA has denied and have committed to help modify our master bath for wheelchair accessibility since the VA has also denied that. They are a God send since we could never afford these modifications on our own. The moral support that Anne and Amber have provided has been invaluable! I would recommend Hope for the Warriors to anyone - they truly care about our wounded and the families and help on so many levels.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 4, 2012

Last year I was introducted to Hope for the Warriors . It was their mission mission statement and the support they provide our military families that I decided to volunteer. I enjoy volunteering with the group whether it is processing registration forms, introducting key members to my firm's Veterans group or participating in a run/walk. There is no doubt that Hope for the Warriors will continue to gain recognition and maturity. I look forward to working with the group in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In 2011 I have had the opportunity to volunteer at several events where Hope for the Warriors sponsored warrior participation. It was a wonderful experience for me and I plan to continue as a volunteer as needed. Warrior lives are being enriched by this organization. They are finding ways to fill the gaps that might be otherwise overlooked by other government agencies and/or non-profit agencies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2011

I am a combat wounded Marine, and I have had my life turned upside down. I had everything that I knew and planned for taken from me. The devastating effect that has on you morale is epic. H4W gave me a reprieve from the daily struggle that is living with a combat injury, and more than that they showed me how much people care about us. The country will forever be scarred by how the Vietnam Veterans were received, but it says something that we learned from that mistake. It also reinforces to us combat wounded that we are not forgotten. Which means more than most will ever understand. I contacted a few of the people that helped me over a year later and they still remembered me. That sort of personal connection is hardly even heard of in other "industries" and I feel it really says something about the level that H4W actually cares about the vets they serve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 12, 2011

more

December 12, 2011

My husband is a combat wounded veteran who was injured in 2006. We needed help relocating and finding employment for my husband and H4W changed our lives dramatically. They have gone over and above expectations and have assisted my husband and I in every way imagined from getting to interviews to renting a POD to move. They are angels to us. Also, they are an amazing support system and our second family. These folks celebrate warriors and their families by really living the mission-whether it be lending an ear or shoulder to cry on, or offering a makeover to a spouse or a week of fantastic patriotic fleet week morale boosting fun.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

Over the past three years I have had the pleasure of being able to be a volunteer for Hope for the Warriors. I have been witness to an organization that truly cares for the people it serves and does the most it can with the resources available to it. I have seen the staff go above and beyond what is expected of them on several occaisions. Including one time when after working twelve hours on a fundraising event and after everyone had gone home they drove a service member an hour out of their way just so he didn't have to sit alone waiting for a cab. You don't find that kind of dedication everyday and I think it is indicative of the values to which this organization aspires. Hope for the Warriors is everything you wish a charity to be. Which is why I continue to volunteer and support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

I was lucky enough to be able to attend fleet week with the hope for the warriors foundation and was extremely pleased. This was my first trip that I had taken with any organization since my injury and I am glad that I was able to work with the hope for the warriors staff. Throughout the stay they far exceed my expectations and were very well organized. Every single aspect of this trip was thought out in extreme detail to ensure that every person was able to enjoy their time no matter what we were doing. I would highly recommend this organization to people that are wanting to donate as well as to people that have been injured and are wanting to go on a very fun trip. It helps all of us injured service members get reintegrated back into society after our long medical needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In the one instance that I worked with this organization I did not notice any part of the organization that I felt should be changed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

I was told about this organization by the Socom Car coalition

December 7, 2011

they are the best and are their for all service members needs and really care for them we are not just another number unlike some.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

I can't even focus on a starting point to express my grattitude to Hope For The Warriors. This organization has that sparkle and magic that instantly creates that family bond with servicemembers who often have an empty hole or void from within. They have not only taken care of me, my entire family has been pulled up under their wing of hope. Any event that I was priviledged enoough to be a part of HFTW far exceeded any expectations. They give you that special moment that the average family would not be able to afford or do the logistical leg work to make it happen. Everyone on their staff from highest to lowest, they are the ALL STAR team. It is hard to believe that HFTW actually cares and does the right things for people who are in need. It is organizations like HFTW that keeps this country in check with a lot of situations being out of hand in the bigger scheme of things across this nation. Please DONATE so wounded servicemembers can get the piece of mind that you enjoy everydHonored to be family with HFTW. CW4 John Lightsey, US ARMY

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at a Run For The Warriors® Event.Join Team Hope For The Warriors® and raise funds while training for a race.Volunteer in one of our offices with administrative work.