Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
123.9482845
Write A Review
June 28, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I "discovered" Hope for Paws a couple of years ago and periodically make small donations. I use PayPal and get receipts through that. Once I answered a plea for a small donation and the first 500 donors would receive a lucky leash! I donated then promptly forgot about the offer. A couple of weeks later I received a leash and note thanking me personally for my donation in the mail! Elgar and his wife seem very sincere in videos, email and on Facebook. Tonight I saw a very negative article on Hope for Paws with no references, unsigned, and since I didn't believe it, started searching for more info and found this site with the message from a health professional who works directly with Eldad Hagar. I believe that the rescue is genuine and will continue to send small donations which I also send to other animal charities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

There is a mentally deranged, stalker woman in the animal rescue community and although I will not post her name others know exactly who I am referring to and it is very likely this same scary individual is behind all the negative reviews for Hope For Paws.
Hope for Paws has an exemplary
record and reputation and Eldad is a saint. He is constantly busy which may explain not getting responses right away.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Congratulations to wolfii001 for making the most moronic comments.
It is a common knowledge that CEO of ASPCA makes over $500K a year. So the next person considering donating to those big organizations...think about it, you just may be paying for their vacation on Bora Bora


HOPE
FOR PAWS IS A GREAT ORGANIZATION TO DONATE TO.
THANKS FOR WHAT YOU DO

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Stumbled upon Hope for Paws while looking up a water rescue dog story. The patience, compassion and empathy exhibited in their rescues is one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen, and I'm pushing 60 and have been around the world. I happily donated and purchased the "lucky leashes" and photo. I feel good about them and wish I could do more. I will, when I can. Meantime I received an instant tax deductible receipt, which I didn't expect. The web site is well organized and easy to navigate. For Doubting Thomas types, it is well worth a visit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I also got an email receipt and confirmation almost immediately. I wonder if the people that did not may have put down their email incorrectly. I feel this is a good, reputable charity and would recommend them if you are considering donating.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep trying to expand in order to help more animals in more towns and cities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shouldn't you make a donation from the goodness of your heart! If you need a damn receipt don't make a donation, it's NOT the reason you should be doing it!! Wouldn't you rather they be out rescuing animals in need than sending a receipt? They are a rather small group maybe it 's far more important to save a life than to send you a piece of paper so you feel you got something for your donation!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more people to help them

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

have donated once due to their videos...tried to contact to offer them a grant through my employer but never recieved any responses...either they don't care or it is a scam. What oranisation refueses d to follow up on donations and NEVER answers the phone??
April 6, 2014
11 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2014
11 people found this review helpful

I have noticed that many people have given low ratings to HFP due to the organization not sending receipts of any kind after a donation is made. We donated in October of 2013 and received a letter and thank you note for our donation shortly after the beginning of the year. It was not a large donations of any means, just a few hundred dollars. I am sure the delay is due to tax season when they go through donations with a fine toothed comb. If you pay online through paypal, a receipt is always sent shortly after a donation is made. This organization does great things for the LA community and giving them a low rating based on how quickly they send a receipt is unfair. I hope the reviewers that did not receive a prompt receipt can look past this and look more towards the amazing work they do for homeless forgotten animals.
March 29, 2014
22 people found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2014
22 people found this review helpful

I have worked with Hope for Paws as a medical professional. They are the only animal rescue I know who not only takes care of their animals better than most rescues, and as many others will attest -pays their bills on time, they are sure to visit their animals when they are in our care and socialize them so that they are able to find loving homes. Every rescue wants the help or guidance of the incredible Eldad Hagar.

I have seen Eldad Hagar earn the trust of dogs who none of my staff or other professionals were able to handle Hope for Paws even helps support free spay/neuter so the poorest pet owners can fix their pets at no cost.

The county shelters have contacted myself and other personal in our office as well as Mr. Hagar to help them/teach officers how to help fearful animals so they are adoptable and do not end up euthanized. Fellow veterinarians, clients, and friends are hope for paws supporters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not help any rescue whose members disparage hope for paws because of competition or plain incompetence

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Not everyone wants to donate online these days and you'd think they could send some kind of receipt when you provide them with a self-addressed stamped envelope... but nope, someone sending in a couple hundred bucks isn't worth their time apparently.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Treat donors like customers - if they feel valued, they're more likely to keep handing over their money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers