Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hope Academy works. The method has taught my son in six months concepts and practices that he never learned in public school. He was falling further and further behind and no one could quite pinpoint what was going on with him. Hope is teaching him. I feel so relieved and he feels great now! He is experiencing success and in turn he likes himself more, he is proud of his work, he likes to tell people about his school. I am so grateful and will be forever. My son's future is full of potential.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

Hope Academy has given my son the tools to reach his potential academically, socially, and emotionally. My son does not like to try new things. He and I were both filled with anxiety when I dropped him off at Hope Academy on his first day (he was 10 years old entering 5th grade). But it was all worth it when I picked him up and he had a big smile on his face! I was shocked!

I immediatley noticed that my son seemed happier and his self esteem improved dramatically whithin a short time period. I will forever be thankful for just those gifts. The teachers and staff at Hope Academy are so compassionate and they care in a way that I've never witnessed from other teachers, who all seemed well meaning.

Now let's talk about academics, after all that is why we send our children to school. Hope Academy engages in testing at the beginning of their students' admission to set their individual baselines. My son is attending Hope Academy because, like the other students that attend Hope, he was struggling in a traditional classroom. This is where many of the stories sound so similiar. He was reading and performing at far below grade level. So it wasn't surprising that his initial testing showed such. Now the good news; when he was tested at the end of the school year, the progress that he showed was amazing! He was in the "average" range in almost all areas! He was far below average when he started. The progress he made is exceptional!

I'm looking forward to another year of significant growth! I'm now ashamed to admit it but before Hope I didn't dare dream that my son could ever be above-average in academics. I was having difficulty imagining that he would ever attend college. I now allow myself to believe that he can be above-average academically and I'm hopeful, or more accurately, I'm optimistic that this year's testing results will show such.

The multi-sensory approach to teaching and learning has been significant for my son's progress. Further, the intensive learning environment has really helped him flourish. Prior to Hope Academy homework time was a nightmare. I don't care to recall the many times it ended in tears for both my son and myself over the years. Now, when I get home from work, his homework is complete and I just have to check it. This gift is another for which I am so thankful.

Hope Academy really is a gift. The teachers and staff and their committment to follow the vision and mission of the school are what make this institution so spectial. It is difficult to find the words to express the gratitude that I feel towards Hope Academy and to describe the hope it has given me....how appripriate considering the name.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My son's academic progress and his emotional well being. He suffered from anxiety prior to attending Hope Academy and he now is a confident boy that realizes that he is smart and can succeed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

While the location for me personally is ideal (less than two miles from where I live); I believe the school would be able to attract more students and therefore help more kids if it were more centrally located. Because I have witnessed first-hand the benefits of this school I would like it to me more accessible for others.

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

My grandson was in third grade in public school and could barely read at a 1st grade level. Between 3rd and 4th grade he was able to go to summer school at Hope Academy and in the four weeks there he was reading much better. Stephen has now been blessed to have continued school at Hope for three more years and he has been doing so well. I feel totally indebted to this wonderful school and the awesome teachers. I hate to think what my grandson's life would of been like without Hope Academy. He has so much confidence in his self and no longer cries and calls himself stupid. He thrives at Hope Academy and his story is similar to almost all the students attending Hope.
September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

There is not enough space here for all the nice positive words I could write to tell you how our family feels about Hope Academy.
My son was diagnosed with Dyslexia in first grade. He had struggled in public school for years also getting extra tutoring outside of school to try to help him to
read, write and perform math. He made minimal gains until he went to Hope Academy.
He has soared academically and his self-esteem has risen after the gains he has made at this school. They have an outstanding program for kids who need multi-sensory instruction.
The staff and teachers are so dedicated and wonderful.
His dream was to be able to read anything he wanted to and his dream has come true thanks to Hope Academy!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Our daughter was diagnosed with Dyslexia in 3rd Grade. She struggled in school and was just getting by. Public schools do not have the resource to help her and the teachers have no ideas how to help her since they are not trained in Dyslexia. We are so blessed that we have found Hope Academy. She loves going to school everyday, enjoys all her friends and has learned that dyslexia will not hold her back from accomplishing all her goals in Life. Everyday she comes home sharing all that she has learned that day. Hope Academy has been a God sent. Thanks to the wonderful teachers and staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Driving by the school. We noticed a sign that read "School for Dyslexics".

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

We parents at Hope Academy have a strikingly similar stories: my child is obviously capable (even smart), yet she is struggling. We parents sense something wrong long before a teacher says it aloud. We are given the news that our child struggles with reading then begin to search far and wide for diagnoses and "cures." We are told that we cannot get help until our child is 2 years behind but we are unwilling to wait that long.

What a relief it is to share my story with other parents and here that I am not alone! And that is just the beginning of the relief.

The students feel the burden lifted as well. My daughter, like many of the other incoming Hope students, dreaded school, suffered stomach aches and headaches, thought of herself as stupid when she was in traditional education. After 3 years at Hope, she has blossomed into a confident student who agrees with her teachers' assessments that she is intelligent. She has become an advocate for herself, often explaining to friends and extended family what dyslexia is and how it affects her. She willingly and proudly reads.

Our family is so thankful for Hope Academy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Our daughter was diagnosed with dyslexia in 2nd grade. We struggled with public school (IEPs and Special Ed) and she fell further and further behind her peers. She absolutely hated school. The resource teacher was great, but we didn't understand the need for dyslexic specific learning approaches.

We found Hope Academy and it was truly LIFE CHANGING. Just visiting the classrooms and seeing how these kids were truly engaged in learning was eye opening. Judy and the staff answered all of our questions and you can't miss the dedication to helping these kids.

Soon after our daughter started 4th grade at Hope we attended a dyslexia simulation. There was one experiment where you had to look into a mirror and try to trace a line and write letters on a piece of paper you couldn't look at directly. I couldn't do it no matter how hard I tried until I finally closed my eyes and did it by memory......the frustration I felt trying to do something so simple was incredible....I started crying as I realized this is how my daughter felt EVERYTIME she tried to write!!!

Our daughter attended Hope for both 4th and 5th grade and transitioned back to public middle school for 6th grade this year. She is doing incredibly well........THANK YOU HOPE ACADEMY!!!!
September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

My daughter attended public school through 3rd grade at the local public school. She was diagnosed with Dyslexia in 2nd grade and an IEP was created. The support she received in the public school was well intended it wasn't sufficient. She was teased and placed in the lowest performing groups in each of her classes - it was demoralizing.
We moved her to Hope Academy in 4th grade. Though the transition was a little rocky - within a quarter we could see positive changes, mostly in her attitude and her self-confidence.
She was pushed academically - particularly in Language Arts. Her reading skills improved over the two years she attended school as did her writing. By the end of 5th grade she was reading at 5th grade level. Before moving her back into the public school system for middle school she was tested at her original elementary school. She actually surprised the Special Learning Instructor with how well she performed.
When she started Middle School we were concerned about the transition. There was nothing to worry about. She has been incredibly successful in middle school - completing the same homework requirements as her classmates. While her confidence waivers periodically, Hope Academy gave her the confidence and the skills to be able to take on any academic challenges. She believes in herself and her ability to succeed.
Hope instructors were incredible. I truly believe that her experience at Hope Academy has made all the difference.
September 30, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

There are just not enough positive words I could possibly say about Hope!

My daughter was diagnosed with dyslexia in first grade and we had her in a private school with the thought that they would have more time to assist her only to find by 2nd grade that they just really weren't equipped
to handle the extra assistance she needed. We were told that in public school "they had to help" and "had programs that would help her". What a nightmare that was. By the end of third grade public school wanted to tell me that she would need to be held back because she didn't do well enough on the standardized tests. Talk about not only not helping her but not even trying to get from where she was coming.

Mainstream schools expect children to learn the way they are taught. This method simply doesn't work for the dyslexic student they need to be taught the way they learn. Enter Hope Academy in fourth grade and what a difference!

From my daughter in tears every morning not wanting to go to school in third grade to having my happy, sunny child back because, "Mommy, they get it!" and "Mommy, I understand, now!"

The teaching and administrative staff at Hope Academy truly cares and loves what they do. Hope is the model to which other schools should be built. The multi-sensory approach they use reaches the students and plays to the way they "understand" a lesson. No child is ever made to feel "different" or "weird". My daughter blossomed at Hope Academy gaining confidence in her abilities and feeling success at school for the first time in her schooling years.

I will reiterate my opening sentiment; there simply aren't enough positive words with which I could possibly praise this wonderful organization!

Simply put; HOPE ACADEMY FOR DYSLEXICS ROCKS OUT LOUD!!!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Via a happy, well-adjusted child who now knows that she should confidently reach for the stars!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ensure that any and every student on our area who would benefit from Hope Academy not only knew about it but could attend. I would also ensure that every good hearted philanthropist far and wide felt compelled to target Hope Academy with their generous donations. I can't think of a more deserving organization for such good fortune!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

The ability to support my child in her life as she moves through it with dyslexia and continue being a champion for her every step of the way.

September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Kelsey was struggling terribly in 3rd grade. She was diagnosed with Dyslexia nad we chose Hope Academy for 4th-5th grade. They helped her reading comprehension/math and overall confidence. She soared there and learned so much. She is now back in mainstream school and doing really well. She will always have to work hard but she knows that and is willing in order to succeed. Hope Academy gave her the tools to take with her for a lifetime. We are forever thankful to all the staff.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

...help our small (but mighty) parent group plan a spring fundraiser/auction.