Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Hope Academy for Dyslexics is and offers an enriching and fostering educational environment. The teachers are tremendous and they get the most out of their students with a great educator, motivator, and mentor methodology. My son has been a student there for 2 years and highly rate (5 Stars!) Hope Academy for Dyslexics.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Our daughter was diagnosed with dyslexia in 2nd grade. We struggled with public school (IEPs and Special Ed) and she fell further and further behind her peers. She absolutely hated school. The resource teacher was great, but we didn't understand the need for dyslexic specific learning approaches.

We found Hope Academy and it was truly LIFE CHANGING. Just visiting the classrooms and seeing how these kids were truly engaged in learning was eye opening. Judy and the staff answered all of our questions and you can't miss the dedication to helping these kids.

Soon after our daughter started 4th grade at Hope we attended a dyslexia simulation. There was one experiment where you had to look into a mirror and try to trace a line and write letters on a piece of paper you couldn't look at directly. I couldn't do it no matter how hard I tried until I finally closed my eyes and did it by memory......the frustration I felt trying to do something so simple was incredible....I started crying as I realized this is how my daughter felt EVERYTIME she tried to write!!!

Our daughter attended Hope for both 4th and 5th grade and transitioned back to public middle school for 6th grade this year. She is doing incredibly well........THANK YOU HOPE ACADEMY!!!!
September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

My daughter attended public school through 3rd grade at the local public school. She was diagnosed with Dyslexia in 2nd grade and an IEP was created. The support she received in the public school was well intended it wasn't sufficient. She was teased and placed in the lowest performing groups in each of her classes - it was demoralizing.
We moved her to Hope Academy in 4th grade. Though the transition was a little rocky - within a quarter we could see positive changes, mostly in her attitude and her self-confidence.
She was pushed academically - particularly in Language Arts. Her reading skills improved over the two years she attended school as did her writing. By the end of 5th grade she was reading at 5th grade level. Before moving her back into the public school system for middle school she was tested at her original elementary school. She actually surprised the Special Learning Instructor with how well she performed.
When she started Middle School we were concerned about the transition. There was nothing to worry about. She has been incredibly successful in middle school - completing the same homework requirements as her classmates. While her confidence waivers periodically, Hope Academy gave her the confidence and the skills to be able to take on any academic challenges. She believes in herself and her ability to succeed.
Hope instructors were incredible. I truly believe that her experience at Hope Academy has made all the difference.
September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

As one of the founders of Hope Academy, I hesitate to write a review, as I know that it may be viewed as biased and self-serving. However, my personal experience with our school, as my daughter was one of the first students to attend Hope Academy, is share-worthy.
Emily was officially
diagnosed with dyslexia after her Kindergarten year. While it was a relief to receive this diagnosis, the resources available to help her succeed in the classroom were practically nil. We struggled through a few years of homeschooling, which only made it more apparent that my daughter needed more help than I could ever provide. This put me on the road to discovery--I found that there are actually schools specifically designed for students who have dyslexia, however the closest one was 50 miles away. Simultaneous, multi-sensory teaching methods (required for the dyslexic learner) had been in existence for decades, but only a small handful of private tutors were trained in such methods in our area. I wondered, what in the world were the other parents of this significant portion of our population doing to help their kids?
As I continued to discover the frustrating reality that the help that my daughter needed was unobtainable, my passion for my daughter transformed into a compassion for every bright child who was sitting in the classroom, meeting failure on a minute-by-minute basis. This new awareness became unacceptable to me.
And so, Hope Academy was born.
Emily attended our school for three years, building a strong foundational understanding of language (reading, spelling, writing, comprehension) and is now in her second year at a mainstream school. After one year at her current school, her standardized test scores for language arts showed her to be two years above grade level.
The staff at Hope Academy make all the difference. Not only are they professional and knowledgeable, but they are passionate about encouraging our students to become lifelong learners. It is a privilege to work with them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daughter's continued success in a mainstream environment, as well as seeing for my self on a daily basis the positive effect our learning environment has on our students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the public's awareness of us, move to a more centralized and easily accessed location, which takes funding.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

There are just not enough positive words I could possibly say about Hope!

My daughter was diagnosed with dyslexia in first grade and we had her in a private school with the thought that they would have more time to assist her only to find by 2nd grade that they just really weren't equipped
to handle the extra assistance she needed. We were told that in public school "they had to help" and "had programs that would help her". What a nightmare that was. By the end of third grade public school wanted to tell me that she would need to be held back because she didn't do well enough on the standardized tests. Talk about not only not helping her but not even trying to get from where she was coming.

Mainstream schools expect children to learn the way they are taught. This method simply doesn't work for the dyslexic student they need to be taught the way they learn. Enter Hope Academy in fourth grade and what a difference!

From my daughter in tears every morning not wanting to go to school in third grade to having my happy, sunny child back because, "Mommy, they get it!" and "Mommy, I understand, now!"

The teaching and administrative staff at Hope Academy truly cares and loves what they do. Hope is the model to which other schools should be built. The multi-sensory approach they use reaches the students and plays to the way they "understand" a lesson. No child is ever made to feel "different" or "weird". My daughter blossomed at Hope Academy gaining confidence in her abilities and feeling success at school for the first time in her schooling years.

I will reiterate my opening sentiment; there simply aren't enough positive words with which I could possibly praise this wonderful organization!

Simply put; HOPE ACADEMY FOR DYSLEXICS ROCKS OUT LOUD!!!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Via a happy, well-adjusted child who now knows that she should confidently reach for the stars!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ensure that any and every student on our area who would benefit from Hope Academy not only knew about it but could attend. I would also ensure that every good hearted philanthropist far and wide felt compelled to target Hope Academy with their generous donations. I can't think of a more deserving organization for such good fortune!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

The ability to support my child in her life as she moves through it with dyslexia and continue being a champion for her every step of the way.

September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Kelsey was struggling terribly in 3rd grade. She was diagnosed with Dyslexia nad we chose Hope Academy for 4th-5th grade. They helped her reading comprehension/math and overall confidence. She soared there and learned so much. She is now back in mainstream school and doing really well. She will always have to work hard but she knows that and is willing in order to succeed. Hope Academy gave her the tools to take with her for a lifetime. We are forever thankful to all the staff.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

...help our small (but mighty) parent group plan a spring fundraiser/auction.