Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

First and foremost H.O.P.E. Inc exceeds 5 Stars. Too bad that is the limit that we can rate. This is how a nonprofit organization should be ran. This organization is not only professionally operated, but it is operated with compassion, standards, and love. Hope isn't just a staff or team, they operate like a family unit. The first person I spoke to whom name is Charmaine was such a sweetheart. Very pleasant and happy to want to help. I didn't get that feeling of just being another number or statistic. I didn't get treated like a failure or burden. I was encouraged from day one by her and lifted up. Some of us been getting beat down. let down, and ran down. H.O.P.E. Inc doesn't waste anytime in evaluating your situation. The President CEO Kenita Lewis is such a blessing and has a heart of Gold. That heart of gold trickles down into everyone else that is working with her. You will get more than you expect from H.O.P.E.

H.O.P.E. Inc is out help and empower single parents whom are working F/T and in school F/T. What I love about H.O.P.E. is that they don't just want to assist you. They don't want to just give you money and let you be. They truly want to empower you. They don't want all the hard work of a single parent whom is in school and work be in vain. We know when we are financially strapped, it is hard for us to concentrate and focus on things. Our grades can be effected along with our job performance, and parenting.

Hope even offers counseling to their candidates. H.O.P.E. offers financial education to their clients as well. I mean some of us aren't as financially educated as we can be. They use Dave Ramsey whom is a great teacher on fiances using Biblical principles.

Another thing I am so thankful for and love about H.O.P.E. Inc is that they don't discriminate. I am a single father and let me tell you. I am working on my Bachelor's Degree in Religious Studies. I have had doors slammed in my face and denied help just because I am a man. I have gotten strung along in the family court system, child support system, and financial help system. I have gotten the, "You're a man attitude" so you don't need our help. Not with H.O.P.E. Inc though. I was embraced with love and so welcomed. They welcomed me with open arms and didn't make me feel like less of a man because of my current situation which is turning around.

H.O.P.E. Inc isn't just a nonprofit organization to me. They are an answer to my prayers from God. I know everybody isn't a believer, but I truly am and H.O.P.E. strengthens my belief. When I was down and out, I didn't give up, I found Hope :-)

Hold on and don't give up, there is and always H.O.P.E.

May H.O.P.E. Inc continue to empower and trail blaze the way. I hope other nonprofit organizations learn from this one.

Last but not least I am honored to be the very first single father with H.O.P.E. Inc.

I am truly blessed and humbled because only God could have directed my steps to a nonprofit organization like this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.. I pray that they continue to be able to empower people and expand.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

I am a single mom of three children. I am presently enrolled in college where I am getting a Bachelor's Degree. It has been very challenging for me to juggle home, self, school, and keep a steady income coming in so that mine and the children needs are met. I don't have the help of the boys father at all. I am a hairstylist by trade. I was talking to one of my clients one day and she is older than I am, and she knew something was wrong with me. So, she told me about this great organization that could possibly help take the stress off me while I was trying to make a better life for my family. Well, needless to say, I applied for the program. I got to share, along with the other women, in the stress-reliving programs. I didn't know that people cared that much! I also am learning better to manage my money with the Dave Ramsey system that they gave to all of us. They prayed for me and with me. Hope Inc has changed my life so much, for the better. This organization really cares. I couldn't have believed that my prayers for support and loving people could show up in this way. I am so grateful to have this opportunity to spread the word about Hope Inc, because they really help you to see the light at the end of the tunnel!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

This is not just a nonprofit, this is an organization that works hard and geninuely cares about people. It strives to not just donate money but donate time and connect with people to help in all aspects of life. It is about growth.
I was one of these single parents and could still be one of
these single parents. Any of us could be and that is were the compassion lies in the heart of understanding and knowing the struggle of life with children, school and work. It is an Awesome feeling to Geninuely know you have made a difference and are apart of a life changing experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see more volunteer support, it would help us to help more people in the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

This non-profit is run by an incredibly driven, compassionate, hard-working individual. Her passion shows in the emails and numerous different events the organization participates in. She cares for her clients and tries to provide whole-life support. A wonderful group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

As a product of a single parent household I seen firsthand the struggles of a mother having to do it all. Single parents has to sacrifice so much and many times that sacrifice is education. So to be apart an organization that has such a major impact on the family dynamic by breaking the cycle of what usually leads to poverty, is such a great and rewarding feeling. To see so many stories of success that not only effect the individual participant but that child and eventually the community at large. HOPE inc is doing just that providing hope by Helping Other People Be Empowered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything at this time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

HOPE is more than just the name of this non-profit but it is actually what is being provided and not just in good words or sentiments but with a heart that effectively impacting the lives of single parents who are working hard to provide a life for their children and just needed someone to come a long side and be that help when others would not. The greatest testimony is that HOPE truly models the heart of its founder - Kenita Lewis, and I'm certain that with her passion and dedication to this ministry, HOPE will continue to be the blessing God has called it to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have had the opportunity to witness first hand the hard work that HOPE puts in to make a difference in the lives of the families they have provided assistance to over the years. Many of the individuals at some point or the other either dial in to the teleconference bible study prayer line orshow up to show their support for the founder during a speaking engagement. HOPE, Inc is making a tremendeous difference in one family at a time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to fund the organization's a support staff of at least 3-4 full time affordably paid individuals and continue to share the story exposing other to the lives that are being changed on a daily basis.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

When I volunteer I am helping to break the cycle of poverty. This organization is providing help to peopke to fulfill their dream of completing their education with less stress on them and the family. Finishing with higher gpa's.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Hi, my name is Yakima and I am new to the Hope program. I interviewed with both Ms Charmaine and Ms Kenita and it felt good not to be looked down upon due to my mental disorder and current financial set back. My kids walked out on us anf it has been a struggle raising two children. The program makes me feel welcome and makes me feel there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Ms. Kenita motivates us and want to see each and everyone us succeed. It feels good to have the extra support from the.program!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I live in Arizona, and learned about H.O.P.E. Inc through Sparked, a micro-volunteer online website. I started working with Kenita, the CEO, on copy writing of grant proposals, editing of donation letters, volunteer thank you letters, copy write for letterhead logos, working with other volunteers working on the design of various logos, etc. This allowed Kenita to work on the BIGGER projects that she dealt with day to day. I got so involved in the concept, helping single parents better themselves, in order to have a better live for their children. We all want a better life for our children than we had, and I so applaud all of those single parents that seek help to improve their lives through education! I have been working with Kenita and H.O.P.E. Inc for over a year now, completing online, and it is a great feeling to know that I can still help those even though I am so FAR away! I really believe in the cause!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish to help MORE single parents...but of course, that requires more funds, and there are just so many hours in the day to fundraise! Kenita is building such a wonderful program, growing both the funds and the number of parents helped each year! Congratulations to Kenita and her fine program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write blog posts for our blog, hosts one of our training webinars, assist with administration duties, peer mentor our program participants. Volunteer