Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The executive director and I, as chairman of the board of a local non profit in Cheyenne country, were chosen as part of the first Circle gathering. What a great training to have so many diverse groups stepping up to help natives do good work in their communities. We have continued those relationships and have greatly benefitted. As with many other organizations, we would have never been able to afford their services. For me personally it was gratifying that when something was suggested- Hopa Mtn and crew listened and then took action to make it happen. They ask, how can we help and then DO it!! If you ever get the chance to meet Bonnie you will know exactly what I mean. If you want to start a non profit-here is a great place to start and with great people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hopa Mountain is an agent of change in the rural and American Indian communities in Montana, Wyoming, and North Dakota. Its programs are carefully crafted to promote the well being of these communities. Using a bottom-up approach, in which people's voices take precedent, Hopa Mountain implements programs focusing on: the development of toddlers' early literacy (Story Makers), middle school students (Native Science Field Centers), high school students (Indigenous Scholars of Promise), American Indian college students with interest in STEM areas (Native Science Fellows), promotes future leaders with interest in developing Native non-profit organizations (Strengthening the Circle), and offers many community leadership programs and support to emerging non-profits organizations. Hopa's work is inspirational and vital to achieve a better tomorrow.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The HOPA MOUNTAIN team is a compassionate and vibrant organization working with Native Americans, in particular youth to build character and leadership. We are indeed lucky to have them in the community. Whether its their "Story Makers " program, Youth Leadership or Seventh Generation Native American event, they deliver thoughtful and engaging programs that build stronger and better communities. Indeed, I'm proud to donate to HOPA., privileged to call their Executive Director, a friend. And honored to have delivered a virtual seminar on Grassroots Advocacy vs. Lobbying earlier this year. HOPA MOUNTAIN is a welcome part of our community that leads with vision, implementing a collaborative strategy. Thank you Bonnie and the HOPA MT team!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have known Bonnie Sawyer, the director for several years and have been impressed with how effectively she advocates for rural communities, in particular the Native American community. After being referred by Bonnie, I spent two days working with the Chippewa-Cree Nations on Rocky Boy Reservation. Many people there appreciate Hopa's work, particularly their work in leadership development and higher education for Native American students, a crucial need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I serve on the Board of Directors of the Northwest Unangax Culture (NWUC). Our Board President found Hopa Mountain while searching for a way to learn more about applying for grants. She applied for us to attend their Strengthening the Circle seminar and we were accepted. We went there not really knowing what to expect. What we encountered were the most helpful people and the most professionally run seminar. Clearly careful thought and preparation were put into this event. There were numerous classes on grant writing, marketing, strengthening Boards of Directors and more... everything that we needed to know to become better and enable us to do more in our communities were part of this event. Our needs for comfort, sleep and food were met as well. I went into that seminar knowing I did not have the skills to accomplish the things I wanted to do, I left there feeling as if I could do anything. Bonnie Sachatello-Sawyer is a powerhouse with endless energy, ideas and a willingness to help. Under her supervision and with her incredible staff, Hopa Mountain is doing so much to help so many. I am very grateful for the help they gave us. Evelyn Dye-Garcia

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help a child learn to read; volunteer in an afterschool program; mentor a child; market and promote local nonprofits; design your own local citizen initiative using tools on our website www.hopamountain.org Volunteer