Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Though I, myself was not able to serve in the military, I proudly display 3 framed flags folded into triangle on the wall in my living room from 3 of my grandparents. I have 1 grandfather, a marine, still alive. I have had many uncles serve and am proud to call America my home. I couldn't be more grateful to our military. Past, present and future. I have purchased several of the Honor and Remember flags so far. We have one on our Harley, I bought my dad and my uncle one for their Harley's as well. I just purchased a large one to hang at my home. I believe with all my heart that those who served this nation should be remembered for their service and sacrifice. This flag, this organization does that with honor and courage to persevere! I am proud to back them and will continue to do so! Bringing the recognition our military deserves, one person, one flag, one article, one state at a time!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Without a doubt one of the best organizations I've worked with. Heart is in the right place and the proceeds go to the right place. We try to learn as much about the charity prior to working with them and we can't say enough about Honor and Remember. It goes without saying we will happily donate funds to Honor and Remember again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None just keep doing what you're doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We are WW @ 45 North. A 501c3 non-profit where we bring Wounded and Deployed Warriors to northern NH for outdoor sport and relaxation. We (Our BOD) have decided to support this organization by sponsoring one flag a year. We believe in helping our Wounded Warriors but also Honoring our Warriors that did not come home. Most of us have lost friends and family to war and we do not want ANY of them forgotten.

At our location we also host Gold Star families for relaxation and a place to reflect for as long as they choose. We have met some of these families and have seen how the Honor and Remember organization lets these families know that their lost loved ones are not forgotten and will be honored. As founder of 45 North I had the privilege of presenting a flag to a Gold Star Mother, It was very difficult but also an honor.

We plan on continuing our involvement with both the Honor and Remember Organization and supporting NH's Gold Star families as best we can.

Honor and Remember - Thanks for giving us another avenue to help our Gold Star families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2014

Although other priorities (e.g. family) may equal there is NOTHING is more important for the future of USA and freedom than keeping the memory of those lost & wounded in the minds of the public. This group is the only organization that I know of which will do that. The HONOR & REMEMBER FLAG should be flown under all American flags, so it is not only during war time we think of our fallen/wounded.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Use volunteers and delegate more to grow the organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2014

Honor and Remember serves the Gold Star community. The founder of the organization, George Lutz, created this organization to honor his son and all of those lost in service to our country. He has developed a national symbol for those lost in service, the Honor and Remember flag. Our familiy has supported many different groups over the years from homeless, children at risk and others. My wife and I personallly derive more personal satisfaction in donating to and volunteering in the recent AZ Run for the Fallen sponsored by Honor and Remember than anything else.

We highly encourage all American to donate to this most worthy cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get support from all of our politicans. Marketing is important too, perhaps they could look into public service announcements (PSA's) to get the message out about their organization. Look at organizations like Wounded Warriors Project that did not exist 10 years ago. This organization should be as well known as Wounded Warriors, their cause as noble if not more so.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2014

We donate time and/or financial support to various charitable organizations. Too often, the impact of those donations are never seen. Likewise, many charitable organizations forget to simply provide a candid and personal thank you to their donors. During good, but especially bad, economic times, it is imperative for charities to treat their donors like successful commercial companies treat their clients.

Honor and Remember continues to show to positive impacts donations make to their benefactors. We had the wonderful opportunity to attend a banquet and meet with two families that received flags. Hearing first hand of how Honor and Remember provided a positive impact on them was tremendous. Likewise, our truly believe the organization appreciated our donation. Customer Service is apparent throughout Honor and Remember. Each and every member of the organization (whether volunteer or not) is focused on their mission. It’s refreshing to see and organization truly focused on helping others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The impact Honor and Remember has on its benefactors is remarkable. Invest in growing the organization to impact more military families across the country. While growing the organization, never lose the personal touch Honor and Remember currently has today with both benefactors, donors, and volunteers. This is truly what sets Honor and Remember apart from larger, more commercially focused (e.g. profit driven) charities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have personally met George, the founder of this fabulous organization, and completely support his mission. I am a veteran who is actively involved with organizations that honor and support those who have sacrificed for my freedom. What impressed me most about Honor and Remember is that its' mission is to pay gratitude and respect to those that have paid the ultimate sacrifice - they did not come home. In a world where many do not even know the purpose of Memorial Day, it is time that we have a national symbol to recognize the men and women that have fallen to protect the freedoms that each American enjoys. The courage that George has shown through the loss of his son CPL George A. Lutz II is not only admirable, but is worthy of our support. Starting a nonprofit organization takes time, resources, and the unwavering energy created by a cause that is bigger than any individual. Honor and Remember has the cause but now needs all of our support and resources to keep the momentum building.

Edward B.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find additional avenues to raise funds and gather support so that all 50 states recognize this flag as the symbol of respect for our fallen heroes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Mr. Lutz appears to be making a decent living by promoting a new flag designed to honor our fallen heroes - including the loss of his own son. Although our condolences and sympathy for his loss are worthwhile, I am greatly concerned to see by his filing reports that he is pocketing almost 25% of the total revenue as "compensation" while making 250% profit on his sales and traveling around the country to promote his initiative. Although there is additional investigation required, it would appear that Mr. Lutz has exploited his own loss to promote a "feel good" initiative, which is wrapped in the emotions and heartache of all those who have lost a loved one.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is only one flag needed to honor our fallen heroes and it is draped over the coffins of each one when they come home. Keep honor where it belongs - in the American flag.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Be very careful of this charity. It appears to be a one man show trying to influence the United States to recognize a specific self designed flag to honor our KIA's. A very noble cause but they hold the trademark on this flag and receive all royalties from sales of merchandise. I would not again donate to this organization after reviewing the founders goals of providing these flags to families of the fallen. Very little money is spent on providing funding of these flags. It appears most funds are spent on salaries, travel, and administrative costs. Money would be better sent to wounded warriors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach the community through phone, visits or internet with this important symbol of remembrance. Volunteer