Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 20, 2014

Incredible memories shared and lives honored every year at the banquet. I'm thankful to be a part of the experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I happened upon this cause during a pre-deployment holiday with my son, Army SPC Matthew Green. Given the level of my emotions at the time, the cause was one from which logic would dictate I run, not wanting to entertain even the hint of such notion. However, the cause was so noble and so worthy of support that I could not turn away. Every person associated with this cause with whom I have had the pleasure of interacting has been passionate, enthusiastic, committed, and selflessly devoted. There are dozens of organizations that have jumped on that "Support the Troops" bandwagon. Most of them just want your $$ and don't have a clue about the struggles of our military men and women and their families. Honor and remember is different from the rest of the pack. These folks really care and have discovered the truth in the old adage "Tis better to give than to receive." I strongly believe that all the folks at Honor and Remember have hearts as big as Texas and want nothing more than to do what the name of the organization states.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I got "goose-bumps" and found myself unable to hold back the tears when my friends and Patriot Guard Riders (PGR) mentors, "General" Jan Johnson, past-President of Georgia Gold Star Mothers and her husband, Joe, a Navy and Army Veteran, of Lyerly, GA, were presented with the first Honor and Remember Flag I had ever seen . This flag is in honor and remembrance of their youngest son, Army Spc. Justin Johnson, who was killed by a roadside bomb at the age of 22 in Iraq on 10 April 2004.

If you know an American family grieving for a hero who died while serving his/her county, check out the Honor and Remember website. Look at the meaning of the colors and symbols on the flag, read the founder's story, and consider 1) signing the petition to have this flag recognized nationally (like the black and white MIA/POW flag) and 2), that because the large American Flag given to the family at a military funeral is made of heavy cotton which is not suitable for outdoor use, an Honor and Remember flag, which can be personalized, is a perfect gift which can be flown outside in remembrance of their loved one, purchasing an Honor and Remember flag for their family and one for your flag pole as well.

I place both the American and Honor and Remember flags on the "tourpak" of my motorcycle for all Patriot Guard Riders Missions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....change NOTHING. When I ordered something incorrectly, I tried to call in time to correct my order to two (2) rather than one (1) of a particular item before my order was shipped. "No problem." was the response. My order came in two days and I was never charged for the 2nd item.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I belong to a group of American Legion Riders in a small town in Northern Minnesota. We ride our motorcycles proudly posting American flags and Service flags. We go to military send offs, home comings and sadly funerals of service members. I thought it would be fitting to add the Honor and Remember flag to be flown with pride in our future missions. Our mission is to honor all service members and veterans. Seeing our group riding through a parade reminds people what our veterans did for our country. It brings a tear to most eyes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2014

I support this organization Honor and Remember. As a Veteran's Chaplain I use the Patches and Flag in my ministry with the Families of VERMONT FALLEN. Thank You

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep on

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Honor and Remember is an organization that has been built by love and pain from the founder Mr. George Lutz, his son Tony paid the ultimate sacrifice. This organization was created to Honor and Remember all of the Americans who have paid the ultimate sacrifice since the beginning of this country. This flag helps with the never ending healing process of the families who are left behind. I began helping the organization in September of 2010 when he came through my city on the Across America tour to create awareness while presenting personalized flags along the way. I am a Blue Star mother and knew that I had to do more to support the Gold Star families across America. I can't imagine anyone who would not be supportive of this, if they are not, they are not fully educated on the mission of the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work on more grants for the personalized flags for the Gold Star families across America!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

It saddens me to see that people with no first hand knowledge of this organization are writing negative reviews about it especially when they attack the character and motivations of its founder George Lutz. I have witnessed the tireless dedication that Mr. Lutz has put into his mission to honor those who have given their lives in the service of our country and have seen the tears of pride and gratitude from families that have received one of the Honor and Remember flags. I wholly support the Honor and Remember mission and I am hopeful that Mr. Lutz and the rest of his team will continue bless the lives of the families of our fallen heroes by seeing to it that their sacrifice is not forgotten.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

George Lutz is a man of high character and is selflessly leading this organization in support of military families who have paid the highest cost for our freedoms. George has first hand experience with this type of loss in his own family and the loss of his son fuels his fire to be certain all our families who have a similar loss are Honored and Remembered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The mission of Honor and Remember continues to be our main focus. As a Chapter Director, my goals are to work toward achieving State and Federal recognition of the Honor and Remember Flag as a symbol of remembrance of those who have given their lives defending the freedoms that all Americans enjoy every day, and to continue to present Personalized Honor and Remember Flags to the families of the fallen. Having presented many flags over the last several years, I have seen the expression of gratitude on the faces of their families, and have seen over and over again what the flag means to them. Whether it is becoming actively involved in our cause, or displaying their flag at the various events that the families are invited to during the year, it holds a special place in their hearts.

The administrative burden of running a national organization such as Honor and Remember is tremendous. George Lutz has dedicated his life to our mission and this organization. He travels in support of that mission, according to a plan that has been approved by the Board of Directors, and he is accountable to them. He is a man who understands what these families are feeling, because he is living it. Many Gold Star Families look for ways to honor the memory of their lost loved ones. George is doing that with Honor and Remember. His son, Tony, was taken and he founded Honor and Remember, after meeting with other families who had suffered the same loss, to honor Tony's memory. This has become his mission, his passion, to honor his son, and the sons and daughters of all the families across the country who live with the pain he feels.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach the community through phone, visits or internet with this important symbol of remembrance. Volunteer