Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 20, 2014

Incredible memories shared and lives honored every year at the banquet. I'm thankful to be a part of the experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I happened upon this cause during a pre-deployment holiday with my son, Army SPC Matthew Green. Given the level of my emotions at the time, the cause was one from which logic would dictate I run, not wanting to entertain even the hint of such notion. However, the cause was so noble and so worthy of support that I could not turn away. Every person associated with this cause with whom I have had the pleasure of interacting has been passionate, enthusiastic, committed, and selflessly devoted. There are dozens of organizations that have jumped on that "Support the Troops" bandwagon. Most of them just want your $$ and don't have a clue about the struggles of our military men and women and their families. Honor and remember is different from the rest of the pack. These folks really care and have discovered the truth in the old adage "Tis better to give than to receive." I strongly believe that all the folks at Honor and Remember have hearts as big as Texas and want nothing more than to do what the name of the organization states.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first met George Lutz and his wife at a Gold Star Mothers gathering in Chesapeake, Virginia, in October, 2009. My beloved son, 1stLt Michael E. Johnson, USMC, was killed in action in Afghanistan on September 8, 2009. Since then, the Honor and Remember "family" has been with me and my family every step of the way. We are extremely grateful and appreciative to George, his staff, and the volunteers for their comfort, support, generosity, and tireless efforts to nationally recognize a symbol that acknowledges the men and women of our U.S. Armed Forces who never made it home. The annual Christmas dinners, the personalized Honor and Remember flags for each family of a fallen service member, the Virginia Run for the Fallen, and the Honor and Remember gifts pay tribute to those we have lost and signify to the families that we are not alone. Honor and Remember is more than an organization - it's a community really. We must stand together - we must never forget. Thank you for your service!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I got "goose-bumps" and found myself unable to hold back the tears when my friends and Patriot Guard Riders (PGR) mentors, "General" Jan Johnson, past-President of Georgia Gold Star Mothers and her husband, Joe, a Navy and Army Veteran, of Lyerly, GA, were presented with the first Honor and Remember Flag I had ever seen . This flag is in honor and remembrance of their youngest son, Army Spc. Justin Johnson, who was killed by a roadside bomb at the age of 22 in Iraq on 10 April 2004.

If you know an American family grieving for a hero who died while serving his/her county, check out the Honor and Remember website. Look at the meaning of the colors and symbols on the flag, read the founder's story, and consider 1) signing the petition to have this flag recognized nationally (like the black and white MIA/POW flag) and 2), that because the large American Flag given to the family at a military funeral is made of heavy cotton which is not suitable for outdoor use, an Honor and Remember flag, which can be personalized, is a perfect gift which can be flown outside in remembrance of their loved one, purchasing an Honor and Remember flag for their family and one for your flag pole as well.

I place both the American and Honor and Remember flags on the "tourpak" of my motorcycle for all Patriot Guard Riders Missions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....change NOTHING. When I ordered something incorrectly, I tried to call in time to correct my order to two (2) rather than one (1) of a particular item before my order was shipped. "No problem." was the response. My order came in two days and I was never charged for the 2nd item.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I belong to a group of American Legion Riders in a small town in Northern Minnesota. We ride our motorcycles proudly posting American flags and Service flags. We go to military send offs, home comings and sadly funerals of service members. I thought it would be fitting to add the Honor and Remember flag to be flown with pride in our future missions. Our mission is to honor all service members and veterans. Seeing our group riding through a parade reminds people what our veterans did for our country. It brings a tear to most eyes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Though I, myself was not able to serve in the military, I proudly display 3 framed flags folded into triangle on the wall in my living room from 3 of my grandparents. I have 1 grandfather, a marine, still alive. I have had many uncles serve and am proud to call America my home. I couldn't be more grateful to our military. Past, present and future. I have purchased several of the Honor and Remember flags so far. We have one on our Harley, I bought my dad and my uncle one for their Harley's as well. I just purchased a large one to hang at my home. I believe with all my heart that those who served this nation should be remembered for their service and sacrifice. This flag, this organization does that with honor and courage to persevere! I am proud to back them and will continue to do so! Bringing the recognition our military deserves, one person, one flag, one article, one state at a time!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Without a doubt one of the best organizations I've worked with. Heart is in the right place and the proceeds go to the right place. We try to learn as much about the charity prior to working with them and we can't say enough about Honor and Remember. It goes without saying we will happily donate funds to Honor and Remember again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None just keep doing what you're doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We are WW @ 45 North. A 501c3 non-profit where we bring Wounded and Deployed Warriors to northern NH for outdoor sport and relaxation. We (Our BOD) have decided to support this organization by sponsoring one flag a year. We believe in helping our Wounded Warriors but also Honoring our Warriors that did not come home. Most of us have lost friends and family to war and we do not want ANY of them forgotten.

At our location we also host Gold Star families for relaxation and a place to reflect for as long as they choose. We have met some of these families and have seen how the Honor and Remember organization lets these families know that their lost loved ones are not forgotten and will be honored. As founder of 45 North I had the privilege of presenting a flag to a Gold Star Mother, It was very difficult but also an honor.

We plan on continuing our involvement with both the Honor and Remember Organization and supporting NH's Gold Star families as best we can.

Honor and Remember - Thanks for giving us another avenue to help our Gold Star families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2014

Words can' t even explain how emotional, honored and a privledge it is to have recieved an Honor and Remeber Flag im Memory of my son...It flies proudly in front of my house from March 17-Nov 11. (because of being in upstate NY I take it down through the winter). I was honored with the flag at Arlington Cemetery after Honor and Remember took the trip across country. I have also had the ability to honor some local families with the flag at the Syracuse Basrball games. I know the emotional effect recieving one and also giving one to a family the memories are priceless. Thank you for your continous efferts in remembering our Fallen Heros, may they all live on in our hearts and guide us through this life.
Kate McLaughlin
GSM Sgt Christopher Simpson
Blue Star Mom Richard Simpson USMC 2004-2009

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have purchased different sizes of the Honor and Remember flags, along with magnets; the customer service is great and the quality of the flags is excellent. I wish George Lutz continuing and growing success in his mission to honor and remember his son, and I also wish Mr. Lutz success in his mission to reach out to other families in his situation. The flags are visible reminders of what this country, all too often, forgets.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach the community through phone, visits or internet with this important symbol of remembrance. Volunteer