Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.727275
Write A Review
September 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am an author. During research for my first book, I came across information for Honor and Remember. Since I am also a military/veteran's advocate (as well as a Vet, myself) I thought about this organization's mission on a very deep level. I was selected to be a guest speaker at a little school's Veteran's Day assembly on the Arkansas Delta. I endeavored to challenge this school in a :Collecting Coins" campaign to sponsor a flag for a Gold Star family. The community responded tremendously and within the space of a year, this school collected funds for two flags; one of which is on display at the school in a case in the main hallway. The community helped this school present it's first flag to a local family who had recently lost their son to the war in Afghanistan. Since that first flag, the school has presented Honor and Remember flags to two more families and anticipates this action to be an annual event. They have a wonderful Veteran's Day ceremony every year which is highly attended by everybody in the community. This little town on the Delta shows it cares about its veterans and I am proud to have been the one to introduce Honor and Remember to the school. Everybody helped make the flag donations happen, and they can be proud to feel a part of something so big.
September 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What more can one possibly say about the mission of Honor and Remember and the Gold Star Dad, George Lutz, who manages and cares for it with such passion and respect. I count it a privilege to support Honor and Remember. Honor and Remember our Fallen Heroes, always!
August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Frontier Communications is committed to supporting military veterans. In fact, 11 percent of the company's work force is made up of veterans.

Consistent with that emphasis, Frontier has embraced Honor and Remember. The company works with the organzation, purchases flags that honor fallen
heroes, and participates in the presentation of flags to the families of military personnel who died in service to the nation.

Frontier's general managers and others have embraced their involvement in the Honor and Remember program and have played roles in the planning of flag presentation ceremonies. They want the surviving families to know that our nation respects the sacrficies their loved ones have made.

We have seen numerous moving ceremonies that demonstrate the importance of our nation taking the time to let families know that Americans stand with them. Honor and Remember is a program of great integrity that demonstrates the respect Americans have for those who gave their lives to protect our nation.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 26, 2014

awesome organization/cause remembered our son and many more thank-you
August 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Honor and Remember serves an important function in recognizing the dedication, commitment and ultimate sacrifice by those who serve America in the US military. This recognition is vital in the healing process of those families who grieve the loss of a loved on in this service. Veterans Memorial Gold Star Healing and Peace Garden in York, Pennsylvania felt it appropriate to fly the H&R Flag a symbol to help visitors focus on the loved ones killed during the War on Terror in particular and all US conflicts. I was very proud to receive a personalized H&R flag during the dedication of the Gold Star Garden in 2012 and will cherish it in memory of my intrepid son.
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Ordered a beautiful hand sown Honor and Remember Flag for our American Veterans Post 30 Color/Honor Guard for Parades! We received it in time for our largest parade of the year and was greeted with great enthusiasm and applauds from the crowd for such a beautiful flag....The other Color Guards were in awe and said that they needed to order one for their groups as well! It is truly a great flag to add to our group of flags and takes a honored spot next to our POW MIA Flag! Ron Hickey Sr. - Sr. Vice Commander and Color /Honor Guard Leader - American Veterans Post 30, Ottawa, Illinois
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm sorry...I am a Gold Star Mom, Blue Star Mom, Blue Star Mom...I had asked for an Honor and Remember flag years ago and have asked 2 or 3 times. I provided the death certificate and never heard anything back. So I'm sorry...but I have not had a good experience with this. Thank you Melinda Browder
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a Gold Star mother of Sgt. Jamie A. Gray, I have personally met the founder, George Lutz, spent time with him touring our area to promote this very supportive organization. George is a Gold Star Dad and knows first hand the overwhelming grief, healing, sense of loss, that comes with that designation. He can relate to family members of fallen heroes who gave their all for this country, the ultimate sacrifice. Ultimately, as family members of fallen heroes, we wish for assurance that our loved ones will never be forogtten. This organization has worked hard and long to assue us all, that they will be remembered forever. That is the greatest comfort to any Gold Star family. Thanks to Honor and Remember, for all they have done, and contiue to do for our fallen heroes, and their families. The founder and the organization shows the greatest of respect with integrity, compassion, understanding, and support for us all.

Sincerely,
Marion Gray
August 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 21, 2014

After learning the history of how the Honor and Remembrance flag was conceived, I was invited to a ride for the Honor and Remembrance and met Kathy Moore. She made the biggest impression on me from going through what she did and was giving her all for the cause. Since then some years back any thing that comes up to help the Honor and Remembrance if I am able I am going to be there. This one of if not my favorite nonprofit groups that I give to and participate in whatever event they have going. Super organization, I highly recommend it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I can think of.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 21, 2014

Last year I discovered this charity though a business affiliate. The more I read, the more I knew I wanted to be a part of this movement. I served in the Ohio National Guard from 1971 through 1977. My brother served in the Navy as did my father. This is a wonderful opportunity to honor those that served and paid the ultimate price for all of our freedom. Just by asking friends and associates I was able to raise $500 to help the cause, and I was proud to do it. I also purchased a flag set for my office and a lapel pin and hat. It helps to spread the word.
God Bless the volunteers of Honor and Remember, and God Bless America!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more attention to this project.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach the community through phone, visits or internet with this important symbol of remembrance. Volunteer