Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
123.1666745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This has to be one of the worst rescues. It has upset my family to the point I will never look for another dog at a rescue. We went through the process of getting a treewalker coon hound.

When we first applied it took multiple emails to get a response. When we did it was extremely rude.


To give you a bit of background. Both my wife and I have had dogs in the past. They have since past away and we wanted a new puppy. We got a long haired dog about a year ago and my allergies went crazy. We had to find that puppy a new home after after 6 months of trying to get my allergies to calm down. My family really struggled with letting our puppy go but just had to find her a great new home since my allergies did not get better.

Based that experience we knew a long haired dog was out of the question and we really wanted to be careful in getting a new dog. When we saw treewalker coon hound, which is very close to my last dog we contact them to start the process and meet the dog.

The first email we received said she did not know how to handle my application since I had allergies in the past. We said we just want to meet the dogs and see what happened.

We met the puppies twice in a closed environment. Both times we were in a garage with 6 puppies running around and all over myself. The second time we even had the Mom to the puppies. I had no reaction to dogs at all. I know when I am going to have allergies that they will hit fast and hard so I knew we were safe.

After the second meeting we thought everything was going to be good, but the director emails us saying that we should not be allowed to have a dog since I had allergies and had to re-home my last dog. She also said that all allergies are different and my could come of after we got the puppy. She acted like she knew more about my allergies than I do, I have lived with them for 41 years I know what to expect. She even made a comment of what would happen to the dog if I got allergies again, sounding like we would do something to the puppy. Then ended with she could not risk the puppies future with our family.

We found this rescue to be extremely rude and unprofessional..

I would run not walk from this rescue.

We are now looking through a number of animal shelters in the area to find our family dog from a place not looking to hoard animals and make a buck off them. After this experience we will never look at another rescue for our family dog.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013

Homeward Trails is an excellent organization that truly cares about the animals. They offer wonderful volunteer opportunities and take great care of the animals they care for. I love volunteering for them and would encourage others to become involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 7, 2013

I adopted my cat Sassy from Homeward Trails several years ago and I am a current, regular donor to the organization. It was the second time I used a rescue organization to adopt a companion animal. Homeward Trails Rescue impressed me as a responsible and effective non-profit organization for the following reasons:
1. They responded quickly to my initial inquiry regarding the cat I wanted to adopt.
2. They quickly sent a volunteer to do the home inspection and set up a meeting between myself, the cat I wanted and her foster care person.
3. They quickly responded to my emails, both pre- and post- adoption.
4. Sassy's foster care person gave me her complete medical history.
5. They were knowledgeable about what Sassy's reaction would be to other cats and dogs.
6. The application and adoption contract were thorough and they inquired of my own vet about the care I gave my other cat and dog.
7. My own vet verified my new cat's good health when I took her for our first vet visit after the adoption was complete.
8. Homeward Trails was honest about Sassy's somewhat changeable temperament.
9. They have an active internet presence and a regular, attractive, easy to read, newsletter that keeps the plight of their animals front and center.
10. They are serious and organized about their fundraising efforts. They keep in touch with their donors and promptly send out acknowledgements.
11. Their volunteers were knowledgeable and deployed quickly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2012

more

September 8, 2012

As a Board Member, your comments on the break up of the animal hoarding situation are despicable. Are you not aware that Homeward Trails continues to work with the hoarder? Have you not noticed all the RGA dogs posted on your website? Disgraceful. Shame on you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2011

more

November 30, 2011

As to the review above, since you are a board member for Homeward Trails, what methods did you use to determine the compensation of the executive director? Specifically, what organizations did you use in your comparison?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

placing animals

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put an effective board into place to make sure the organization is using donations wisely.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 4, 2011

more

August 4, 2011

I'm proud to serve on the Board of this wonderful rescue. Homeward Trails manages not only to rescue hundreds of companion animals a year, but also steps in when animal cruelty, neglect or hoarding threatens the lives of companion animals. Homeward Trails implements innovative and creative ways to fundraise and administer the organization, and has a fantastic network of volunteers and fosters.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I worked hand-in-hand with Homeward Trails and other rescues and individuals to break up an animal hoarding situation and help with the conviction of the woman who had kept hundreds of companion animals on her property.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of much I would change!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers