Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I've been a proud Board member for HCEF for more than 4 years. The organization has an extremely dedicated staff, great volunteers and a committed Board of Trustees all carrying out good work to help... more

April 16, 2014

As Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees and as a volunteer for more than 8 years, I can't say enough about HCEF. The organization supports kids experiencing homelessness through shelters and other partners that serve them. Our goal is to ensure they have access to all they need to continue to learn and grow during difficult times. In addition we work to educate all about this hidden group and their issues. With 1700 homeless kids at any one time in our area (that only includes the ones who are in school - there are likely at least double that amount) we all need to ensure they have help to break the cycle of homelessness.
November 12, 2012

I've been a proud Board member for HCEF for more than 4 years. The organization has an extremely dedicated staff, great volunteers and a committed Board of Trustees all carrying out good work to help kids. Helping kids who are experiencing homelessness to continue their education contributes to a better future for them and their communities. HCEF has programs that directly help kids as well as programs that educate the public about the problems. By working with government, educators, and other agencies they act as a force to focus efforts and reduce costs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

HCEF is simply amazing and impressive, this organizations is full of caring, smart, and engaged employees and volunteers. I have been on many boards in the past, so I can say I am just truly impressed and excited to be a part of this company.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been involved with HCEF for 7 years. First as volunteer, then as an advisor, and now as a board member. The work the organization does preserves the lives of the children it touches by providing what I believe is the difference between a difficult life and a prosperous one--an education. Through its efforts, the organization takes children in crisis and allows them to find support, confidence in themselves and hope overall through academics. I could not be more proud of this organization, its staff, leadership and donors!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been involved with HCEF since its inception and have seen it grow and increase the numbers of homeless children it has been able to serve. The many programs and services provided, including the learning centers, that have been started in the shelters have had positive benefits in helping the educational need of homeless children. The staff is dedicated, talented and well respected.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am very excited to be a part of the HCEF Board. This organization is one of the best run not-for-profits I have ever been associated with. HCEF understands its mission and performs its role admirably. Whether providing volunteer tutoring in the shelters, advocating for the eductional right of homeless children, or helping break down the barriers to coordinated services, HCEF is a proven leader.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I am a new Board member of the Homeless Children's Education Fund (HCEF) and couldn't be more proud to be associated with such a wonderful organization. HCEF's dedicated and passionate staff and leadership work tirelessly to serve this extremely vulnerable population of homeless children. Through HCEF's programs and advocacy work they are raising the visibility of this issue, providing critical educational support and resources, and striving every day to ensure these children start life in a positive way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been involved with the HCEF for more than ten years. During that time the initial vision of the founders to provide program driven initiatives dedicated to helping the homeless children of Allegheny has remained at the core of the of the organization. In addition to providing expanded programs and other services to the children, the HCEF also serves as the voice in the community to promote continued awareness of the issues surrounding homelessness and education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

HCEF is an outstanding organization providing critical educational programs and services to children experiencing homelessness in Allegheny County. In addition to providing direct programs to kids, HCEF also serves as their voice at the local, state and federal levels to ensure that they are not left behind. It is a trusted advocate and community leader engaging homeless shelters, school districts, service providers, families, and city and county government agencies. HCEF has an extremely talented staff and dedicated board of directors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

HCEF partners with homeless housing facilities throughout Allegheny County to provide educational resources and programs for children and youths who are homeless. Though, volunteer opportunities vary depending on an individuals interests, skills, and time frame. Volunteer