Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a volunteer with HCEF for a little over a year now and find the experience and organization to be awesome. The employees and volunteers have such enthusiasm for what they do. I believe that education and experience is so priceless and HCEF really goes through great lengths to provide fun and diverse educational activities for the children. Their commitment to providing these experiences and their advocacy to for the children is amazing. It's truly a refreshing and rewarding program for all involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I am brand new volunteer with HCEF but I can't say enough about how impressed I've been with everyone I've encountered and how rewarding the work has been so far. They are such wonderful advocates for homeless children and as a learning center volunteer, I get to see the direct impact on the kids. This truly is an organization that's making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have had the opportunity to volunteer on a number of HCEF projects throughout the years. The organization stays tightly focused on their goals, which enables them to meet and exceed their goals. And to provide a desperately needed to service for a faceless, voiceless population. Dr. Lagana and his staff are tireless in their mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I interned with HCEF for one summer and it was an incredible experience. This organization does so much for a population in Allegheny County that the average person probably doesn't even realize exists. Through a variety of events, educational initiatives and every day dedication to the cause HCEF provides a life saving service to homeless children in the county. They are an awesome organization and I am lucky to have spent a summer contributing to their work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I used to be an intern at HCEF. I really enjoyed working with the staff and feel my time was well spent. They fulfill their mission and I learned a lot from my experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

This group does a great job for the region. They provide vital services and really engage with volunteers to get them involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

This group does a great job of keeping at-risk children in touch with their friends, teachers and education goals. The Pittsburgh area would be a poorer place without their great work and dedication to helping any child in need. They also have done a great job at give a voice to these children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen so many people join this cause through their art installations and Stand UP for Homeless Children weeks' efforts. They have brought the message to the state level to keep giving homeless children a voice

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep growing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

More communication through multi-media

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes. I have met city leaders and seen the impact of their work one-on-one with kids.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Awesome and proud.

October 12, 2012

more

October 12, 2012

The Homeless Children's Education Fund (HCEF) is an organization that supports the education of homeless children in Allegheny County through advocacy, community engagement, and direct program support. HCEF's staff are dedicated, innovative, and passionate about pursuing their vision. They've connected community members and service providers through their Homeless Education Network, an initiative that is invaluable in this field, coordinated living art installation/advocacy events that are sure to make a memorable impact on the communities they serve, and are constantly finding ways to plug community members into support roles for the vulnerable population of homeless students. As a volunteer, I am constantly inspired by the dedication of staff members to the people that are daily affected by what they do. HCEF is an organization with heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

HCEF partners with homeless housing facilities throughout Allegheny County to provide educational resources and programs for children and youths who are homeless. Though, volunteer opportunities vary depending on an individuals interests, skills, and time frame. Volunteer