Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am very excited to be a part of the HCEF Board. This organization is one of the best run not-for-profits I have ever been associated with. HCEF understands its mission and performs its role admirably. Whether providing volunteer tutoring in the shelters, advocating for the eductional right of homeless children, or helping break down the barriers to coordinated services, HCEF is a proven leader.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I am a new Board member of the Homeless Children's Education Fund (HCEF) and couldn't be more proud to be associated with such a wonderful organization. HCEF's dedicated and passionate staff and leadership work tirelessly to serve this extremely vulnerable population of homeless children. Through HCEF's programs and advocacy work they are raising the visibility of this issue, providing critical educational support and resources, and striving every day to ensure these children start life in a positive way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I interned with HCEF for one summer and it was an incredible experience. This organization does so much for a population in Allegheny County that the average person probably doesn't even realize exists. Through a variety of events, educational initiatives and every day dedication to the cause HCEF provides a life saving service to homeless children in the county. They are an awesome organization and I am lucky to have spent a summer contributing to their work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been involved with the HCEF for more than ten years. During that time the initial vision of the founders to provide program driven initiatives dedicated to helping the homeless children of Allegheny has remained at the core of the of the organization. In addition to providing expanded programs and other services to the children, the HCEF also serves as the voice in the community to promote continued awareness of the issues surrounding homelessness and education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

HCEF is an outstanding organization providing critical educational programs and services to children experiencing homelessness in Allegheny County. In addition to providing direct programs to kids, HCEF also serves as their voice at the local, state and federal levels to ensure that they are not left behind. It is a trusted advocate and community leader engaging homeless shelters, school districts, service providers, families, and city and county government agencies. HCEF has an extremely talented staff and dedicated board of directors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been involved with HCEF for the past 8 years. Over that period I have worked with all of the folks at the agency and have been impressed with their dedication to the mission of the organization and the people they are helping. In these eight years I have seen the program grow and prosper and since Bill Wolfe has become the Executive Director the program has become even more well known in the community. I am impressed with the fact that in September every child that is in the system receives a book bag stocked with the things they will need as they start school. With this protracted recession there have been more families than ever who find themselves in a homeless situation. HCEF ensures that children in the myriad shelters in Southwestern Pennsylvania have the opportunity to continue their schooling while in this situation. I personlly have encountered the children in this program and with the support of HCEF these kids are going to school without interruption and that is a good thing not only for each of them but for our community as well. I commend Dr. Joe Lagana, for his leadership in starting this wonderful program and the impact it has had on the homeless children in our community. who

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have watched HCEF develop from the vision of the founder, Dr. Joe Lagana, to the efficiently functioning, program-innovative organization that it is today. HCEF exemplifies the successful melding of delivering needed programs that are ground-breaking and partnering with other social service organizations to gain synergy. Then a layer of adept public awareness and fund development allows it to grow. HCEF is deservedly a national model for delivering educational services to homeless children so as to keep them engaged in their school and career pathway .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I used to be an intern at HCEF. I really enjoyed working with the staff and feel my time was well spent. They fulfill their mission and I learned a lot from my experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

This group does a great job for the region. They provide vital services and really engage with volunteers to get them involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

This group does a great job of keeping at-risk children in touch with their friends, teachers and education goals. The Pittsburgh area would be a poorer place without their great work and dedication to helping any child in need. They also have done a great job at give a voice to these children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen so many people join this cause through their art installations and Stand UP for Homeless Children weeks' efforts. They have brought the message to the state level to keep giving homeless children a voice

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep growing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

More communication through multi-media

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes. I have met city leaders and seen the impact of their work one-on-one with kids.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Awesome and proud.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

HCEF partners with homeless housing facilities throughout Allegheny County to provide educational resources and programs for children and youths who are homeless. Though, volunteer opportunities vary depending on an individuals interests, skills, and time frame. Volunteer