Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I've been a proud Board member for HCEF for more than 4 years. The organization has an extremely dedicated staff, great volunteers and a committed Board of Trustees all carrying out good work to help... more

April 16, 2014

As Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees and as a volunteer for more than 8 years, I can't say enough about HCEF. The organization supports kids experiencing homelessness through shelters and other partners that serve them. Our goal is to ensure they have access to all they need to continue to learn and grow during difficult times. In addition we work to educate all about this hidden group and their issues. With 1700 homeless kids at any one time in our area (that only includes the ones who are in school - there are likely at least double that amount) we all need to ensure they have help to break the cycle of homelessness.
November 12, 2012

I've been a proud Board member for HCEF for more than 4 years. The organization has an extremely dedicated staff, great volunteers and a committed Board of Trustees all carrying out good work to help kids. Helping kids who are experiencing homelessness to continue their education contributes to a better future for them and their communities. HCEF has programs that directly help kids as well as programs that educate the public about the problems. By working with government, educators, and other agencies they act as a force to focus efforts and reduce costs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I am a faculty member at a local university who has partnered with HCEF for service-learning classes. I am very impressed by the expertise, professionalism, and heart of the staff I have worked with at HCEF. GREAT NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I've recently become associated with HCEF and I'm quite impressed with all the charitable work this organization does. The staff are all dedicated, and caring people focused on making a difference in young people's lives. Get involved...what could be better than helping to make a positive impact on a young person.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a volunteer with HCEF for a little over a year now and find the experience and organization to be awesome. The employees and volunteers have such enthusiasm for what they do. I believe that education and experience is so priceless and HCEF really goes through great lengths to provide fun and diverse educational activities for the children. Their commitment to providing these experiences and their advocacy to for the children is amazing. It's truly a refreshing and rewarding program for all involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

HCEF is simply amazing and impressive, this organizations is full of caring, smart, and engaged employees and volunteers. I have been on many boards in the past, so I can say I am just truly impressed and excited to be a part of this company.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I am brand new volunteer with HCEF but I can't say enough about how impressed I've been with everyone I've encountered and how rewarding the work has been so far. They are such wonderful advocates for homeless children and as a learning center volunteer, I get to see the direct impact on the kids. This truly is an organization that's making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have had the honor of working with Joe Lagana and this wonderful organization for 10 years to develop learning centers in facilities that serve mothers and their children experiencing homelessness. Watching the children grow and thrive as a result of the programs of the Homeless Children's Education Fund, could not be more rewarding. HCEF is a blessing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been involved with HCEF for 7 years. First as volunteer, then as an advisor, and now as a board member. The work the organization does preserves the lives of the children it touches by providing what I believe is the difference between a difficult life and a prosperous one--an education. Through its efforts, the organization takes children in crisis and allows them to find support, confidence in themselves and hope overall through academics. I could not be more proud of this organization, its staff, leadership and donors!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have had the opportunity to volunteer on a number of HCEF projects throughout the years. The organization stays tightly focused on their goals, which enables them to meet and exceed their goals. And to provide a desperately needed to service for a faceless, voiceless population. Dr. Lagana and his staff are tireless in their mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been involved with HCEF since its inception and have seen it grow and increase the numbers of homeless children it has been able to serve. The many programs and services provided, including the learning centers, that have been started in the shelters have had positive benefits in helping the educational need of homeless children. The staff is dedicated, talented and well respected.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

HCEF partners with homeless housing facilities throughout Allegheny County to provide educational resources and programs for children and youths who are homeless. Though, volunteer opportunities vary depending on an individuals interests, skills, and time frame. Volunteer