Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

HART is an amazing organization with loving and compassionate volunteers that are completely devoted to their animals. I have gotten both of my dogs from HART. Both are fantastic, healthy and loving dogs. I am forever grateful to HART for finding my dogs and giving them a second chance at life. I can't even imagine my life without them.
Earlier this year, my husband and I started fostering for HART and absolutely love it. We get to love on so many dogs as well as meet wonderful people that turn into loving owners and hopefully volunteers someday :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

HART is the one organization that always comes through. I am first a "client," although my dogs might argue who the client really is. My first dog was a stray in West Virginia, picked up by a "shelter" that performed Box Euthanasia. My second was from a rural Virginia shelter, was hit by a car; had a $4,500 surgery, came to my home to rest while being healed, stole our hearts, and is the love of our lives. I am second a volunteer for HART, and have been for 12 years. I have seen all that they do for the old throw-away, for the young nuisance, for the abandoned, for the abused, for the disfigured, for the "adoptable," and for the cute youngsters. HART does it with fewer resources than I could imagine. HART is a treasure we should all support!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them what they need so they could do even more

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I adopted my dog Scout from HART 2 years ago and will be forever thankful for them helping me meet my best friend. They did a great job of helping find the right dog for me and urged me to remain patient in the process of adopting to make the right choice, which ended up being great advice. They transported Scout literally across the state to me to get her out of a bad situation and on to a better life. If she weren't snoring so loudly in my lap right now, she would tell you she's a pretty big fan of HART too

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 25, 2012

more

September 25, 2012

Our first experience with HART came a couple of years ago, when my adult daughter adopted a (wonderful!) dog from them. A couple of months later I adopted a (fabulous!) dog from HART. Every single person we interacted with was friendly, helpful, and had, as their primary goal, finding a happy forever home for the dogs. My daughter had a 'love at first sight', instant bonding moment with her dog, but I am more cautious. There were several dogs, over the course of a few weeks, who looked perfect on paper - but when I met them, although they were terrific dogs, they weren't right for me. The HART volunteers were unfailingly patient and helpful. When they pulled yet another black lab from yet another shelter, a volunteer emailed me to say 'I think we've found a dog for you!' When I met the dog at the next adoption event, I had that love-at-first-sight, instant bonding moment. They were right! - they found, rescued, and brought me my absolutley perfect dog. Since that time, I have volunteered at many HART adoption events, and have seen that 'aha!' moment as potential adopters meet THEIR dog. HART volunteers provide follow-up support for each dog, as needed, answering behavioral or training issues should they arise. HART volunteers - in very many capacities - work tirelessly and enthusiastically to place each and every one of their animals in a loving forever home. It is an honor to be associated with such a dedicated group of people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

My husband and I adopted a wonderful dog from HART in 2011. Our experience with them was a little more detailed than we expected, but after going through the process, it made sense why they are so thorough! Since we adopted, we have also become fosters. I understand now why the process is so detailed - we want to make sure these dogs are going to truly great families! Whenever we have more free time, volunteering with HART is at the top of our list! Everyone we have met through HART is so caring and really wants the best for these dogs!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

If we only had more room. These people are wonderful. The drove from Northern Va to Baltimore for a site review of our home to make sure their PUP would be safe! We love our Georgia! Adopt, DON'T Shop!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

We wanted to rescue a puppy and we found the HART team so helpful in finding our new family member. The whole process was wonderful and thorough and we found the best pup in the world! We have stayed in touch with our dog's fellow liter mates. We compare stories, swap pics, and have even had some "playdates". When we are ready to adopt another dog, we will definitely go back to HART!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I am proud to have been a HART volunteer for over a decade. I'm always amazed at the difference HART makes in the lives of dogs and cats in the Northern Virginia/Washington DC area. I found HART after coming across a limpy older stray dog....ans adking HART to help. I became a volunteer - and adopted the fabulous little guy. HART helps dogs and cats that other rescues often do not; including sick and older animals. There is little as sweet as placing an older snimal in a loving forever home. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

My first dog from HART was Hope, second Papa, third Radar, then Bruno, next Blarney and last adopted is Coralee. Some have passed . Now I volunteer along with a large group of people, because we love dogs, know they need help to survive. The animals get that help at HART. Rescue, medical care, new homes, care while they wait for those homes. HART, around for 20+ years, doing what they can to help the companion dogs and cats. Just sorry HART needs to exsist, but glad they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

HART is WONDERFUL! We were searching for our 4-legged family member and HART helped us by truly listening to our needs, wants and family situation. They found Muriel for us and we are thrilled! The love and medical care they give the animals is only matched by the concern they have for making a safe and "right" placement. We're not in a position to volunteer right now so we donate annually with complete confidence that our money is well spent. We'll volunteer at some point and will only find our 4-legged family members through HART.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers