Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.771935
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

Today, with the help and committment of Michele and HAL, my prayers were answered for my 3 ferals that came into my life this past November. They came to me starving, cold, and lonely. I began feeding them which led to me setting up shelter on my patio. I saved their lives through this miserable winter, hoping to bond with them this Spring. Sadly, I received notice from my community Board members here in Freehold, and animal control, that I must immediately stop feeding, and remove all shelters, as the cats are not welcome in my community. I was so saddened by this. I have 2 dogs, a bird, and a small house, with a 2 pet limit. I did not know where to turn. Fortunately Michele and HAL stepped in and managed to find a wonderful farm for my cats to live on and be fed and sheltered. I don't know what I would have done without the committment and compassion that they had for me, my Mittens, Leon and Scrappy. Thank you for helping us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HAL is a grassroots organization that helps animals in its own community as well as providing education and guidance to people from all over. HAL rescues animals from shelters, places them in foster homes and networks for animals in and outside of NJ. HAL donates cat supplies and feral cat shelters to those in need. HAL collected and donated to displaced animals in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. HAL maintains an active Facebook page and social media presence. HAL volunteers are friendly and approachable. I am proud to be a part of this group and am thankful that I am able to see firsthand how many lives have been saved because of HAL!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is organizations like HAL and, specifically, people like Michelle, who make such a significant contribution and difference in this crazy world. Cats and dogs who would NEVER otherwise have a chance to make it out the FRONT door of a "shelter are pulled to safety by her and HAL. Animals that are at risk, abused and/or abandoned are rescued - all to be fostered and/or adopted to loving and safe forever homes. She works tirelessly and selflessly to respond to, and act upon, each and every request for "help" she gets. HAL also actively participates in TNR for feral cats - instead of being cruelly and unnecessarily euthanized, they are humanely trapped, spayed/neutered and then released, therefore, helping to control the feral population. Every animal has a soul - every animal deserves to be loved and deserves the chance to live. Because of the dedication of the volunteers at HAL, combined with Michelle's daily personal devotion and efforts, one precious life at a time is being saved. That says it all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. HAL does they very best they can with what they have and suggestions for improvement and/or change have always been openly addressed, discussed and welcomed by HAL. Other non-profits should take a lesson from this group.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Homeless Animal Lifeline came into my life by shear accident. And I do not want them to ever leave.

After loosing our kitten to FIP (a horrible disease, do not goggle it) - we were searching for a new pet that would somehow replace the sadness we had lived through. After speaking to
dozens of local animal rescues and left feeling empty - I almost gave up. It was Feb and every rescue had few kittens and they were completely arrogant to people with children. My two beautiful children - who were struggling with the deep loss of their kitten right after Hurricane Sandy.

And yet somehow posting our need on Facebook, connected one friend to another and DOC came into our lives. He was residing at Helmetta Shelter and after he warmed his way into our hearts - Michele & HAL had him vetted and delivered to our home within two days.

Doc has lived with us for almost a year and I couldn't have it any other way. The work Michele & HAL does is continuous, her love for animals is transparent and unconditional.

Doc always belonged in our (crazy) family and we are very grateful for the work HAL does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Supply them with whatever fundraising they need to do their work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This a wonderful rescue. Not only are they friendly but they are super knowledgeable about how to care for cats on all levels!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I heard about this organization through a friend. I saw a kitten on here that they pulled from my local shelter that I ended up getting with their help from another organization that took her. I had a ton if questions and Michelle always took the time to help. They also networked a cat a friend had to find a new home for and within days , he found a new home. They work hard to save animals and educate people. They are kind, give up lot of ther free time for these beautiful cats and kittens. They are great people and it is a great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This charity has an incredible love and compassion for animals. "Every life is worth saving" is how they roll. They go above and beyond to save cats in need....the homeless, the sick, the injured, the senior, and the special needs cat. They try to place them in a suitable home with love and caring. I met HAL while working at a local shelter. I was totally impressed and so happy to find someone who cared about cats or any animal as much as I do. They work continuously to make sure every life is safe. They also try to educate people on how to handle feral cats and will teach about TNR. Vet bills are paid out of their own pocket. I am extremely happy that they are here to help!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted two cats from HAL and I'm so glad that I did! . the staff was more than helpful with questions I had on introducing them and answered round the clock, since I was a nervous mom. HAL is an amazing nonprofit that truly cares about each and every four legged friend!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More donations to have them help more animals

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Homeless Animal Lifeline is a rescue that has helped many people and animals find homes. Their compassion and love far exceeds any other rescue I have come across. They are extremely knowledgeable and are people who will actually take the time out of their extremely busy schedules to talk to you! They have changed my life and have made me see that there are truly good people still left on this planet. During one of my most difficult times, when all other rescues talked down to me, turned me away and threatened me with the law if I gave up my animals, HAL helped me. I was jobless, on the verge of eviction and had no way of feeding or caring for my cats. My situation was difficult, yet they gave me hope, especially Michelle. No judgement was passed, I was not lectured or made to feel less of a human being because of my situation. She stood up for me when people were making cruel comments. She picked up my spirits. A true angel...HAL is FULL of angels......Thank you everyone, you're all very much a part of my heart! Love you all!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Homeless Animal Lifeline members are extremely educated and share information freely. They have helped me immensely with a TNR project in my neighborhood. I decided to help them and fostered 3 cats, all of which I eventually adopted. I feel like I contact them at any time with questions, concerns or to just share a photo or 2 of the cats. A Fabulous group of dedicated, compassionate people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers