Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Having served HomeAid for over a decade, it is an honor to be associated with an the foremost leader in solving homelessness in our community. HomeAid builds doorways for homeless to begin their journey back home. Serving families, single parents, children, and all other faces of homelessness, HomeAid Orange County has built 49 shelters in Orange County since 1989, a number that grows every year. HomeAid is part of the solution to end homeless in Orange County by 2020. There is much work to do, and HomeAid is up for the task!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Six years ago my company was the builder captain on the last phase of build out for Precious Life in Los Alamitos. I was so impresed with the work the HomeAid was doing I joined the Board of Directors. Withoout a doubt HomeAid is the primary advocate for homelessness in Orange County. Working with most of the service providers and building most of the facitities or additions in the county, HomeAid is the provider of doorways out of homelessness and into self sustainability.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

As a homebuilder I have been a partner with HomeAid OC for a decade. After seeing first-hand the great work that HomeAid OC provides for the community, I was invited to serve as a Board member. The level of commitment the staff, board and volunteers have for creating solutions for the homeless in Orange County is exemplary. I am grateful to be part of the team that is building doorways for homeless children and families our county.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I could also have listed us as a client, as they have constructed several projects for Mercy House, one more beautiful than the next. Furthermore, I have never had a better partner. But it is as an expert in the field that I wish to comment: As proud as I am of Mercy House, historically speaking, there is no agency that has been more important to the shelter movement in Orange County. I urge anyone who can, to support HomeAid - Orange County!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Home Aid Orange County did an amazing job in helping Laura's House realize our dream of a new emergency shelter and transitional housing for our Step Ahead program. Their partnership provided support throughout the process and we’re proud to acknowledge as a fine community resource.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

Three years ago I started working with Boys Hope Girls Hope of Southern California - an academic scholarship and residential boarding home program for underprivileged youth in Orange. My first sizeable project was working with HomeAid to redesign our Girls' Home. They did an incredible job! They provided new carpets, new desks, new furniture, new beds, a new dining room table, paintings and wall decordation and more. The girls were so touched and that house has looked good ever since!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

HomeAid is an extraordinary advocate for the homeless and disenfranchised in Orange County. As President of the Orange County Rescue Mission it has been a pleasure to partner with HomeAid in our shared vision to provide quality transitional housing for displaced families and individuals all across the county. In 2008, HomeAid played an integral role in gathering numerous sponsors and contractors to champion the multi-functional, 192-bed transitional housing program for homeless men, women and children in Tustin that is our present day flagship program of the Orange County Rescue Mission, known as the Village of Hope. With a 6,000 square foot Child Development Center, 288 seat chapel and auditorium, 6,000 square-foot health facility, a 6,000+ sq foot donation warehouse and much more stretching across our 5 acres, this was no small feat. It is an inspiration to work alongside such an empowering organization such as HomeAid and know that together we can impact our community for change and transform the lives of those that experienced the tragedy of homelessness.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

As President of the Board of Pathways of Hope, I have had the pleasure of working directly with HomeAid on several projects: 1.) from 2003 to 2006, they helped us add 2,800 SF including 16 beds, 2 kitchens a family room as well as significantly redesigning the campus landscaping; 2) since 2010, we have been in the design and entitlement phase of a 5,300SF addition for 8 independent transitional units in Fullerton to be completed in 2013; 3) in 2012, HomeAid has helped connect us to resources for remodeling and updating our new Anaheim campus; and 4) we have been a direct recipient of Essentials items for our clients for years. Through this partnership, HomeAid not only connects us to resources within the building industry, but also to funding and in-kind resources throughout Orange County. They are a siginficant partner to Pathways and the entire County in our quest to address the problem of homelessness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

Home Aid's first project in 1989 was to assist our organization by renovating two farm houses in Irvine. Since then they have assist Families FOrward and other shelter and transitional programs expand their capacity. The colaboration with the building industry and leveraging of limited funds has been a godsend to organizations across the county. in addition the Essentials drive collecting items for babies and very young childrenn helps to keep our pantry supplied with formula, diapers and other baby supplies. Scott Larson is a fabulous leader and their Board is committed to serve families and individuals in crisis.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

"H.I.S. House, a transitional living home for families, singles and couples, wishes to thank the Walmart Foundation and HomeAid for our green retrofit and energy efficient upgrades." The overall reduction in costs for electricity, gas and water is not only a blessing but will enable us to enhance and increase our services. The cost savings realized each month will be used to increase the level of career developer support, specifically individualized computer learning skills for each adult as well provide weekly, individualized counseling sessions for families. Additionally, the environmental improvements and comfort level allow our clients to focus on their education and job training programs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Following the core concept of HomeAid Orange County’s housing development program to work in partnerships with volunteers, Essentials for Young Lives is a community-wide effort to collect much needed items for homeless infants and toddlers. HomeAid partners with businesses, community organizations and individuals to collect baby products such as: diapers, baby wipes, baby hygiene products. The items are then delivered to HomeAid’s service provider partners’ who provide services to homeless mothers and their children. Volunteer