Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
Write A Review
December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is truly an amazing organization with an umatched passion and commitment to solving the issue of homelessness. I have not seen a board or staff more devoted to the mission of the organization and an active an hands-on approach where everyone participates and works together to create solutions for people that are homeless. The results are evident in our community and life changing for those that are affected. Continued awareness and growth in community involvment will help to change lives and open new doorways of hope and inspiration.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I was introduced to HomeAid OC by my wife who has been a volunteer and Board member for many years. Through her involvement, I have had the pleasure of meeting many amazing individuals associated with this wonderful organization. I have also had the opportunity to visit several of the shelters developed by HAOC and volunteer at one of them. It has truly been an honor to peronsally witness the growth of this organization and to see how the community has responded in supporting their efforts. Thanks to HAOC, we have an annual tradition in our family of taking our 2 young children (along with one of their new Christmas presents) to visit a shelter. We are grateful for this opportunity to pass along the spirit of giving to our children. Thank you HAOC for ALL that you do to help shelter those in need!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Working with HomeAid has been incredible. The staff is professional, attentive and goes above and beyond every time. When they see a need, they try and find a solution. They have made a tangible difference in the lives of our residents. HomeAid has helped turned these buildings into homes. Thanks to HomeAid for their dedication, passion and hard work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

HomeAid Orange County was originally formed to serve as the charitable arm of the Building Industry Association of Southern California. Many years ago, building industry individuals like my husband and I became involved with HomeAid Orange County as a means of giving back to the industry that had given so much to us. Today, companies and individuals from many walks of life are responsible for making HomeAid the foremost builder of shelter homes in Orange County. HomeAid transforms the lives of individuals and families who have experienced set-backs. By partnering with Orange County's leading care providers, HomeAid's shelter homes provide places of hope, safety, security, dignity and new beginnings for their homeless clients. Parents who have experienced life changing events in their worlds such as the death of a spouse or the loss of a job can again rebuild their lives and teach their children about redemption, grace and transformation. Generally, shelter graduates repair their lives and regain the strength to plug back in and become productive members of society, fostering a desire to give back to their world on so many levels for which we all benefit. Help transform the life of someone who has suffered a set-back. Join HomeAid in building doorways of hope through donations or volunteerism.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

It has been an honor to be involved with HomeAid for about 13 years. There are truly thousands of less fortunate individuals and families who have had a warm safe place to sleep at night because of HomeAid. I have personally seen the impact this has had on so many in Orange County. In addition to helping, this has been very rewarding personally and has allowed me to meet so many other great volunteers that I now call my friends. Sincerely, John Racunas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

HomeAid fills a unique niche by connecting building industry professionals who want to help with organizations whose needs fit their goals. The organization I run has benefitted from HomeAid help numerous times to address badly-needed repair or building projects. HomeAid's culture is can-do, innovative and responsive. They are very effective in accomplishing their goals and homeless and at-risk individuals and families are the beneficiaries. At Friendship Shelter we are proud to call HomeAid a partner!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

While developing strong ties with home builders and the community Homeaid Orange County is able to continue giving back to the communities in which they do business. In these uncharted waters of our economy it is heart warming to continually see the volunteers and donors when the needs of our communities towards the homeless are at their greatest. Since 1989 and 48 completed shelters later Homeaid continually finds new ways to serve. Thank all of you who have helped in this effort. Giving back to help those less fortunate is what we and thousands of volunteers do. There is no greater gift than one from the heart. "PEOPLE MAY NOT REMEMBER EXACTLY WHAT YOU DID, OR WHAT YOU SAID, ~BUT~ THEY WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER HOW YOU MADE THEM FEEL."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

HomeAid Orange County has been an invaluable partner to Precious Life Shelter in partnering with us to develop the beds needed for the homeless pregnant adult woman. Since 1989 we have worked with HomeAid and their building partners to move from a six bed Transitonal facility to a thirty-six bed supportive services program for the wman and her child to have a safe and healthy environment in which to live. The partners that HomeAId brought to the table have provided housing for those that would be unhoused. The on site childcare provides the services for the working woman to save for a future on her own. The family reunification units allow mothers an opportunity to try and bring their children back into their lives with supervision. Now we have moved toward that permanent housing component to see that woman can provide for themselves and be safe for a reasonable living environment for thei future goals to be achieved. As an agency we could not speak higher of a group of dedicated supporters for the homeless of Orange County. We are blessed have this partnership through four construction projects over 20 years. Looking forward to future ventures with such an agency is exciting for those we serve.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work for CBRE and we gather a group of employees and our contractors every year for our Annual Build Day. This year we partnered with Home Aid Orange County, and we had a fantastic experience. They were extremely organized during both the planning and event day itself. All of our volunteers had everything that they needed to keep working, allowing us to finish all of the tasks, exceeding everyone's expectations for the day. We are looking forward to this continued partnership in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

HomeAid has served as a shining light of tangible assistance and support to numerous organizations, including Interval House, since its inception. Over the years, HomeAid has assisted Interval House, as it has so many organizations, in expanding our homes for homeless individuals and families so that we could provide desperately needed beds and space for the victims of domestic violence and their children who were in life-threatening crisis situations.

We are extremely grateful to have such a remarkable program and partner in HomeAid, and we count ourselves among the numerous agencies that have been strengthened and expanded due to its incredible support.

Thank you, HomeAid!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Following the core concept of HomeAid Orange County’s housing development program to work in partnerships with volunteers, Essentials for Young Lives is a community-wide effort to collect much needed items for homeless infants and toddlers. HomeAid partners with businesses, community organizations and individuals to collect baby products such as: diapers, baby wipes, baby hygiene products. The items are then delivered to HomeAid’s service provider partners’ who provide services to homeless mothers and their children. Volunteer