Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I am the executive director of HomeAid Orange County, the founding chapter of HomeAid. It has been exciting to see the growth of HomeAid Norther Virginia since its founding. The passion that they have to solve critical issues related to homelessness in their community has been amazing. In addition, their ability to recruit strategic members of the building industry to implement their vision has been great. All the chapters of HomeAid have learned a lot from this chapter and we with them the best in fulfilling their mission in ending homelessness in Northern Virginia.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Sue Butler, Vice President, Sales and Marketing
The Paxton Companies

Several years ago I got involved with HOMEAID Northern Virginia as a volunteer. I began by working on the sponsorship committee for their annual Gala and in 2008 I chaired the Gala. The work of this charity is amazing
and profound. They partner builders and what they do best - build and renovate - with their subs to build and renovate homeless shelters for other nonprofits who serve the homeless in northern Virginia. People on the board and committees and sponsors ALL generously give of their time, their expertise, their talents, and their resources. The work of HOMEAID also serves to educate and support other charities who assist the homeless. I know from firsthand experience with this charity it remains one of the best kept secret in northern Virginia and helps many!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

Tim McMahon - VP Cornerstones Housing Department

In addition to what Reston Interfaith (now Cornerstones) executive Director, Kerrie Wilson, has written below, I would like to add that through the years I have had the great pleasure to work with the HomeAid Team and their Northern Virginia
Builder Industry Association (NVBIA) members and subcontractors on numerous Cornerstones Shelter Care projects. The quality of character and work and the positive spirit generated by the HomeAid Team and the NVBIA members and subcontractors has been a great encouragement to Cornerstones and has resulted in considerable savings which enables a passing along of resources saved to other avenues of client support. HomeAid and NVBIA with subcontractor support is a wonderful idea, implemented effectively, producing highly professional results in the context of true community spirit!

Reston Interfaith (now Cornerstones) has been pleased to partner with HomeAid for years. As an affordable housing provider in Fairfax County, we own townhomes and condos, and operate a community homeless shelter. HomeAid teams from the member companies have been an important part of our work, providing assistance with rehabilitation/renovation projects that ensure the highest quality of the facilities we provide to families and individuals who are homeless, and allowing us to direct more of our resources to direct client support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing to add.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Gabriel Homes Inc has been working with HomeAid since 2005. HomeAid, with tremendous partner support, has been instrumental in helping us maintain and upgrade our homes serving adults with intellectual disabilities to ensure a beautiful and safe living environment. We have experienced very efficient and respectful support of our projects through the years. We couldn't provide such nice homes without HomeAid support. Our residents take such pride in the place they call home. We look forward to continuing our partnership with HomeAid for future years to come. Thanks for all you do. Rebecca Hartner

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

HomeAid is an extraordinary organization. The amount of time and resources they pull together to improve not only homeless shelters, but our community needs to be recognized. Shelter House has benefited SEVERAL times from the work that HomeAid does. We are please to call them a strategic partner in ending homelessness. Non-profits could not afford the QUALITY renovations performed by HomeAid.
We Thank You!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Reston Interfaith (now Cornerstones) has been pleased to partner with HomeAid for years. As an affordable housing provider in Fairfax County, we own townhomes and condos, and operate a community homeless shelter. HomeAid teams from the member companies have been an important part of our work, providing assistance with rehabilitation/renovation projects that ensure the highest quality of the facilities we provide to families and individuals who are homeless, and allowing us to direct more of our resources to direct client support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

HOMEAID of Northern Virginia is the best! They found amazing skilled crafts people and companies who volunteered their time and talent to rehabbing one of our group homes a couple of years ago. They took what was an adequate but aging structure and transformed it into a show home with a beautiful garden too! It was like magic! I speak for everyone at Christian Relief Services in recommending HOMEAID Northern Virginia for the service they provide the homeless and working poor in our community. They are easy to work with and really care about helping to make our community a better place for everyone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

HomeAid has been a wonderful partner in building our Family Services Center. The willingness to address our needs and find ways to accommodate special conditions was tremendous. HomeAid builders and supporters were very willing to use their contacts and resources so that our project was very cost effective and of great quality. We could never have accomplished this without their expertise and community involvement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It works, no reason to fix it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

HOMEAID Northern Virginia has been a tremendous partner to the community of nonprofit organizations serving the homeless and most vulnerable in our community. For Northern Virginia Family Service specifically they have assisted us in rehabbing several transitional homes - providing a safe and beautiful home for single mom's working towards self-sufficiency. In 2012 HOMEAID Northern Virginia and partners expanded our 60 bed emergency family shelter to 92 beds! They helped us to create an environment of support and respect for children and families – their gifts to the community will impact hundreds of lives for years to come. Thank you HOMEAID Northern Virginia!!!!!!!

Andrea Zych, Director of Housing
Northern Virginia Family Service

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

This organization continuously provides services above and beyond the expectation! They provide wonderful events for clients and work to re-model area shelters! This organization is truly a wonderful place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have even more events for the homeless! They are so fun.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help to restore hope and renew lives by working at the Women Giving Back store, helping to sort clothing or to provide assistance to customers in finding clothing that fits and suits them. Offer women and children the opportunity to make a new start! Volunteer