Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.935485
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am always amazed at how this organization publishes new Learning Activity Books each year-- and always with a topic so relevant to grade school kids! Locally the Water Water Everywhere book (100th anniversary of the "Great Flood" brought poignant images and the story in language suitable for grade schoolers. As always they tied it into themes of success-- of sticking to it-- this time with pride in your community.

And they keep sending tens of thousands of these to schools with companion teacher's curriculum guides year after year. I always look forward to the new titles!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Home Based Arts is a company with a vision to preserve the history of Ohio through coloring books ! The books are an educational tool that tell stories the texts books won't. They are also educating adults! I love the concept and will continue to support the works of the authors, illustrators, and leaders behind HBA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

To say that this non profit's goal is necessary and rewarding is just the tip of the iceberg. Serving our children, mostly the needy is helping to build better adults who are more aware and confident of their role in the future. The books are interesting and inticing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try and help it get more money to continue their taasks.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 24, 2011

What HBA does for children is both practical and profound, specifically with their Children's Historical Publishing division. They put books in the hands of children. And what those books do for child... more

October 23, 2013

Children's Historical Publishing actually does what so many non-profits want to do...make a meaningful impact in people's lives. They make a tremendously positive impact upon the lives of children with their learning-activity books. Most importantly, they've placed more than 370,000 books into kids' hands through schools, parents, family members and friends, which speaks to how effective they are as an organization. CHPS truly is a great non-profit!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them get more funding and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2011

What HBA does for children is both practical and profound, specifically with their Children's Historical Publishing division. They put books in the hands of children. And what those books do for children is educate their minds and increase their capacity to learn. Kids become smarter, more confident and compassionate because they feel a sense of self-worth. HBA also places teaching guides for the books in the hands of school teachers. They provide activities and full lesson plans that often cover many underserved topics. In this way, HBA is supporting our whole educational system by taking care of kids at school and home.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing kids fully immersed in the books with smiles on their faces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them with more volunteers and donate more money to the organization.

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 26, 2011

My company foundation has helped fund Home Based Arts since 2006. Their expertise in creating activity books and learning guides continues to grow every year. Not only do they provide supplemental e... more

September 5, 2013

Home Based Arts is a wonderful organization that provides creative and innovative activity books for school children. Many af the books have nationwide appeal and the remainder are written to recognize local heroes and organizations. The books are professionally done and contain some thought provoking and relavent information for our school children. They often pick up where the school leave off and bring some valuable information to the schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their staff so more creative work could be accomplished.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2011

My company foundation has helped fund Home Based Arts since 2006. Their expertise in creating activity books and learning guides continues to grow every year. Not only do they provide supplemental educational programs and materials for our youth, but the subject matter is often local to our commuinity and diverse. Their expertise spans from the Underground Railroad to the Negro Baseball League to the Dayton Ballet and Charles Kettering. My company, along with many others, share a passion for education and finding new and exciting ways to get our students interested in history and the Dayton region. Home Based Arts shares this passion by providing the needed materials and creativity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The books are high quality both in the content and production.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would do all I could to help them grow and continue their operation.

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I have worked with Home Based Arts for at least five years, and have done so because they fill such an important and unique niche in the education of our children, particularly our under-served children. I think the educational products of Home Based Arts does make a change in the lives of these students, and our community is better for it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

broaden the advisory groups in an effort to obtain more and more secure funding to support the many projects still on the drafting table.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I have been associated with these learning lab books for more than 5 years. I have used them from grades 3 - 8. It is one very good tool to be used with other resources to help students enjoy reading about topics that may not seem as important to them just reading from a textbook. They provide a starting point for students to begin conversing and sharing their thoughts aloud in large and small groups. It allowed me to create questions that evoked the use of higher level thinking skills and motivated students to go want to know more about given topics. Parents can read the books to the non-readers and can encourage reading for fun and information to the beginning readers and the motivated readers!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I have sponsored the books created by Home Based Arts in our local school district. The teachers who used them were thrilled to have educational, fun books to teach local history.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

Home Based Arts is a wonderful concept benefiting the youth. There emphasis is on teaching kids an array of historical subjects through learning activity books. I think that this is a outstanding way to get kids excited about learning. The content of the books are of the highest degree. The writing, art, structure, are done in a masterfull way. I recently spoke with the executive director Joyce Kasprzak at second street market in Dayton Ohio. People like this with so much passion for the underprivleged youth really makes me want to do my part. This organization donates these books to classrooms who don't have the funds to purchase them. We need more non profits like this. Please check them out at www.homebasedarts.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

About 15 years ago a co-worker and friend, Toni Bell shared one of the Home Based Arts Books with me, supporting her husband William Bell. I found them to be an excellent way for me to teach my Son's about their community and the Dayton area as well as, share them with my Grandchildren who lived in Virginia. The collection reminded me of the Black History Books my Mother taught me from. Facts about positive people and history from where we live and about people we see every day. In this world of video games, cell phones and activities that don't require human interaction, it's very important to me to keep the children close. I hold them and read to them. I encourage them to color pictures and read to me. These books will always be a tradition in my Family as I encourage unity in learning and spending quality time with our children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers