Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.935485
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 24, 2014

more

August 24, 2014

I think the work this group did on the Haki and the Rule of Law Book found a way to communicate with children about how Law works. From the notes from history like the Magna Carta to how we run our cities and classrooms according to the rule of law-- all to maintain order and justice is awesome.

As an ex parole officer I can only say how wonderful it would have been for the men I monitored to have had in their youth a better understanding of how Law came to be, how it helps us run as a society, and how the justice system works. Maybe I'd have had a few men better prepared to re-enter into society.

Thank you HBA for your wonderful work.
August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Home Based Arts in several capacities, including researching and helping write some of their learning activities books. I have heard nothing but compliments on how well the books have been received, by both the students and their teachers, and feel proud to have been a part of the process. At this time HBA has distributed over 400,000 books to children. Many of them deal with history, a passion of mine, and something I feel is important to pass on to future generations. I believe that HBA's books make learning easy and fun and proves that learning can be fun!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I have worked in the non profit world for decades, and was executive director of a major community center. We relied heavily on volunteers and collaboration with other non profits.
The education materials by Children's Historical Publishing for primary grade school children were a wonderful
addition to our day care and after school care centers.
Their generous contributions were gratefully received.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

HBA is doing great things! The compassion it has to educate and touch the hearts of young people is to be commended.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Home Based Arts is an amazing organization that truly cares about children. Through their creative learning activity books, HBA helps young people (in age and at heart) understand the world around them in a fun, meaningful, and memorable way!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 5, 2013

I've had the opportunity to work with HBA and I think the books are very informative and serve as a positive in teaching history to our children. HBA books could serve as a supplement in our educatio... more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to nominate HBA for being an excellent tool in changing the mind-set of our children! This form of education has an impact upon the young minds of today's world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2013

I've had the opportunity to work with HBA and I think the books are very informative and serve as a positive in teaching history to our children. HBA books could serve as a supplement in our educational system.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I would like to submit the strongest nomination possible for Home Based Arts USA (EIN 31-1434722).

HBA creates learning activity books on a variety of subjects, from “The Law” to the “Great Dayton Flood of 1913,” from “Money Talks” to “Aerospace,” from tolerance to friendships, the series
is constantly expanding beyond the current 15 books.
Together with the free books for grade school students comes the teacher guide to help facilitate the subject matter. Endorsed by teachers and schools statewide, HBA has already distributed in excess of 400,000 books.

The executive director, Joyce Reid Kasprzak, works tirelessly soliciting and selling potential sponsors on the value of these books, beloved by the children and treasured by teachers. HBA would be a most deserving winner and would be able to expand the lineup of these fabulous teaching books.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

I have helped this organization get feedback on one of the their books that was donated to schools across the state of OH. The appreciation and feedback from the Curriculum Directors and Teachers has been outstanding, and the students' comprehension of the subject matter was significantly improved as a result of this book. I am very impressed with the mission and accomplishments of Home Based Arts and hope that they can continue with their great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continually develop new books to support the teachers in under served districts across OH and beyond

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

This organization is committed to teaching children to read and become aware of historic people in a way they may understand. They donate books to schools and are very active in the community writing about topics such as The Tuskegee Airman, Paul L Dunbar and others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would they broaden their subject matter to a national level. The books are well done .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Home Based Arts continually produces books that are both entertaining and relevant to capture the minds and broaden the horizons of the children it serves. What a great organization!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers