Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2013

I completed my undergraduate internship with HFI, and not a day goes by that I don't think of the staff and clients I was lucky enough to work with, two years ago. HFI truly thinks about the best interest of each individual child that enters their services. I learned what it means to be compassionate. Thank you HFI, for a real, life changing experience. I would not be the person that I am today without Miss V and Mr. Bart.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I mentored a girl at Holy Family Institute for three years and during that time I saw how effectively the staff cared for those entrusted to them. They worked to help the children take responsibility for their actions while encouraging and loving them. Through the on campus school, the children were educated in an environment where their special circumstances and needs could be addressed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Their off-campus programs are excellent from what I know. However, their on-campus residential homes leave little to be desired. I "volunteered" 5 days a week at HFI as an AmeriCorps member and the way the agency worked with the on-campus youth was disturbing. It seemed that to make the kids happy, supervisors would just give the kids what they wanted--not what they needed but what they wanted. The staff working the units are often left to work alone or understaffed and overtime. There were many times that, as an AmeriCorps member, I was asked to do things that were against my contract and were unsafe (i.e. driving youth around, remaining on the unit alone with youth). I believe HFI has heart and wants to the best for the youth but I worked individually very, very close with 10-12 of the youth and what they needed and what HFI was giving them was not matching up. Maybe things have changed in the past year since I was there but I would not feel comfortable supporting HFI.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

I have been volunteering at Holy Family Insitute for almost 2 years. I have seen such a wonderful care for children who are committed to their care. They provide so many opportunities for the kids, both in entertainment and education. I personally am involved with providing a Bible Study once a week with the boys, and I have seen how caring the staff is on a regular basis when I come. The sports, activities, entertainment, and religious opportunities afforded the kids has impressed me. It seems a great destination for foster kids, and I would recommend it to others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Holy Family is dedicated to helping children and families deal with the difficult issues that arise from problematic family situations. They do so with a clear focus on making children feel safe, loved and important. As a volunteer it has been a privilege to work with Holy Family and be a part of making at least one young man feel loved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have been impressed by the leadership's practice of assessing the effectiveness of Holy Family Institute in the delivery of the multitude of services it provides. Holy Family in all its endeavors I have observed has remained true to its mission "to support and nurture families" both in its long-term track record working with families locally and now with the quality programming provided for international students. An example of Holy Family's standing at the ready to offer loving support where its needed is the Institute's assuming care for 12 Haitian Orphans after the earthquake struck. Holy Family recruited volunteers and additional staff to address the children's needs such as making certain that the children were able to retain their Creole language. Holy Family open its arms to the 12 children offering them a loving home that sought to meet special needs the Institute perceived existed. Judith Griggs

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I have been involved with Holy Family for nearly 15 years, and I have personally witnessed the difference it makes in children's lives who do not have much to look forward to given the lack of attention from their families for one reason or another. Each person is treated with dignity and respect, and there is an honest attempt to set boundaries to start to instill responsibility and accountability. Each of our own children and my wife have been involved in Holy Family through volunter work, and frankly they have received more than they have given.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I've been involved for many years with the organization and seen the good works first hand when the regulatory agencies can't fill a need due to funding, this group is often filling the void on a "shoestring" budget! At-risk youth and families in the community are given the support needed. The staff of the organization from the leadership to the teachers and counselors provide positive role models for their clients. This group demonstrates positive outcomes in their communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

During the last 8 years I have participated in Holy Family starting from a United Way day of Caring event to finally serving on committess and the Board . What started as a comiitment to our community has now become a lifetime committment to teh organization and the children it serves. Our world has become much more challenging for Children with a weak economy , family stress, and a world of other issues. It is only because of organizations like HFI that these kids have a hope in many cases for a normal life. As a father and comunity activist I feel it is a personal responsibility to help these children succeed.... and the rewards of helping others have only enriched my life . There is no price to put on the value of a child that has been rescued, helped and given hope. The reward is the happiness/ sense that we are making the world a better place and it comes back a thousand times over. Another great aspect has been the outpouring of help from our associates at Eaton and the teaming that has occured. Giving to our comunity via HFI and it 's tremendous staff is one of the best things I have ever done . Dave Tallman, VP Eaton Corp.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

Jesus said when you care for the least of by brothers you care for me. The inspirational work done by Holy Family Institute for the past 100 plus years serves as living testimony to the direction we have been given. I have see the lives of people changed by the love and expertise of the Holy Family staff. The flexabilty of the staff in helping children from Haiti, Visiting Chinese students,troubled youths and families in crisis demonstates the impact of a versitile and committed organization. I am humbles and proud to be associated with them..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers