Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I used to sing professionally at this church. I was there when the church burned, but the Soup Kitchen didn't miss a beat - they served their clients the very next day despite the disaster. They have continued that tradition for so many years, and I have watched many clients enter hungry and downtrodden, and leave with a smile and a full stomach. And now the added services they offer are inspirig. I read works from the writers workshop with pleasure. I have moved on to another church, and another state, but have continued to admired their work. A few years ago, I brought my youth choir to sing for the guests and we had a great time. Father Bill, the founder, always said the church never really wanted to be in the soup kitchen business, but the reality of the city proved otherwise. He and the staff have faithfully carried out a mission that they wish they didn't have to do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them lots of money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 13, 2012

more

October 13, 2012

It is an amazing thing when a community can occasionally live its vision authentically. This transformed church building--to be a welcoming place for all--shows what a transformed community can do: they knew that hospitality for the weekday feeding program meant more than keeping the customary look of a church for the Sunday spiritual meal the parish community continues to share at the Eucharist. The space, like the sharing of communion, is about being transformed for the sake of others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I moved into the Chelsea neighborhood about 10 years ago -- just two blocks north of the soup kitchen. Everyday the lines would form with the old, young, infirm, healthy, black, white, latino, men and women. It was sometimes hard to see them all. But as the great recession hit in 2009, all of a sudden I thought that I, too, might one day need to join them. It's an amazing service the soup kitchen provides to all, with a friendly, dedicated group of volunteers and staff. The neighborhood is a better place -- it has a heart and soul -- thanks to the Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

This soup kitchen feeds the hungry day in day out year after year--feeds them body and soul, including drumming circles and a writing workshop. It is a place where those who happen to need a square meal are treated with respect for their dignity and with authentic compassion.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

It was with great honor and humility that I served on the vestry and board of directors of Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen! What a great ministry this is to those in need in the City of New York. I have seen first hand the impact this has on so many people, on a daily basis! There are thousands of people who would have not eaten a full meal without the apostolate, vision, and commitment of the Church of the Holy Apostles!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

In the interest of full disclosure, I coordinated the volunteer program at Holy Apostles for five years in the mid-90's, but I still talk about my time there as one of the richest, most challenging, most hope-giving times of my life. Holy Apostles manages to feed a daunting number of people every day in a place of beauty and real hospitality. The volunteers were some of the best people I've ever encountered, the staff hard-working and dedicated, and the guests taught me about hope in the midst of hopelessness nearly every day. Whenever I encounter someone going to New York City, I always, always recommend that they visit--or, even better, volunteer at--Holy Apostles. It's one of the best examples of beauty, hospitality, and justice that I know.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help serve food to our 1,200 daily guests Volunteer